We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comical experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Escargot 41

Escargot 41
4339 Tamiami Trl N, Naples, FL 34103-3106 (Park Shore)
239-793-5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 753 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Park Shore
kelowna
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Comical experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Booked this restaurant 1 month in advance after reading rave reviews in fodors and on tripadvisor. The restaurant was empty though and it kind of seemed spooky in a dark strip mall as it were. Maybe would have been different if we were dining amongst others. More suited to much older clientele in my opinion...which is the target demographic I guess for Naples. Food was adequate but overpriced I think.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    35
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing Christmas Eve visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I read the reviews for Escargot 41 before we left for our trip to Naples, and was very impressed with the glowing comments from other TripAdvisor travelers. I made a reservation for 4, and were seated promptly. We ordered appetizers, and wine. Two of us ordered from the full menu and the other two only wanted soup and salad. The restaurant was very busy, but we were basically ignored for our whole stay. I don't know whether the 'regulars' were getting all the attention, or the people who were spending vast amounts of money deserved to be noticed more than we were, but our food took way to long to arrive, was cold, only average, in fact a truly disappointing and very expensive experience. Our bill came to over $150. and was certainly not worth it. I would not recommend this restaurant and certainly wish that we had gone elsewhere. Truly very disappointed and upset.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“As our daughter would say, "Epic!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were looking for a nice restaurant for a Christmas eve dinner. After checking the reviews, we zeroed in on Escargot 41 and boy, did we make a great choice!

First of all, all of the staff from the owners to the server were absolutely great to work with. Very friendly as well as helpful when it came to menu selections. Even though this is a pretty small restaurant, were were amazed by the breadth of the menu. Seven or eight choices for escargot, a very nice selection of entrees (local seafood, veal, chicken, etc.) all expertly prepared (the chief and co-owner was trained in the Escoffier school in France) and the sauces were superb. Very nice wine selection with several good values as well as one, somewhat over the top $3,500 bottle (we passed on that one). Two of us had the scallops and shrimp entree, one of our daughters had duck, and the final selection was veal scallopini. Our only mistake is that we failed to order one of their soufflés for desert!

A meal at Escargot 41 is truly a memorable experience so expect to pay accordingly. Would we go back? In a heartbeat!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely French Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just a little place in a strip mall, but service is elegant, decor is lovely, and food is excellent. Husband-Chef, wife server and front desk. A charming couple.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a treat we save for special occasions. Escargot 41 is tucked away in a corner of a strip mall but once you find it you are in for a treat! There only about 12 tables in this intimate french restaurant. Both service and food are wonderful. Escargot are served several ways, all great, and the steak with anchovies is to die for. Naturally they have a very nice wine list too. Don't let the location throw you off, Escargot 41 is a keeper.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Escargot 41 also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Escargot 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escargot 41, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.