We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney's Steakhouse

Stoney's Steakhouse
403 Bayfront Pl, Naples, FL 34102-6454
239-435-9353
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #332 of 793 restaurants in Naples
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Goodlette Road
Description: Stoney's Steakhouse has the finest steaks aged to perfection on the premises, signature specialty seafood dishes, and tableside service for salads and desserts. Stoney's Steakhouse is reminiscent of the Old West feel of a classic Chicago steakhouse.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice restaurant in Bayfront. Love te highback chairs with the pillows for the back, very relaxing. Nice wine list and actually some decent prices on a few of the better bottles. The food is good quality - not near the quality of the Grille Room but very nice otherwise.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    38
    18
    13
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I used to be a regular diner at Stoneys up until a couple of years ago when we had a bad dining experience and a very unfriendly manager. After two years I thought we would try it again - after all it was still in business, so it must have improved. You would think!
We were horrified to be met with grumpy staff who certainly had a chip on their shoulder. Looks like nothing has changed - a very unhappy atmosphere, average food (Capital Grille beats the pants off this place and is in a similar price range). Decor is reasonable and the wine list was good, but overpriced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Too snooty for the food quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Though the ambiance and decor is nice, we found the staff stuffy and a bit dense, especially on Xmas eve! (Or maybe that's why they had s chip on their shoulders?!). Can't quite but my finger on it, but there was something about the staff that was off.

The cheddar broccoli soup was so salty that it was long licking a salt jar! We sent it back, and they did replace it with another item, but there was no apology or feeling of remorse, as though we inconvenienced them by not being able to eat the salt jar.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went here on Sunday, December 2, because we were ravenously hungry and it was the closest option. Since there were no prices on the menus outside, we were sure the prices would be outrageous.

The cute little maitre d' escorted us to our table and tried to encourage us to sit side by side so we could hold hands. (We didn't.) We were brought pillows to put behind our backs, which was a nice touch that I hadn't seen anywhere else before. Our young waiter did a good job, although he had a very affected way of speaking that I guess he thought was appropriate to the somewhat stuffy atmosphere of Stoney's.

My husband ordered the NY Strip because it was the least expensive meat on the menu, and he was quite happy with it. He was disappointed in the accompanying mashed potatoes -- they were supposed to be mashed with cheddar, which he couldn't taste, and the presentation was not aesthetically pleasing-- they looked as if they had been scooped with an ice cream scoop.

I'm not a big beef eater, and they did have a fairly large seafood selection. I ordered the yellow tail snapper. It was overcooked and not very good, but I probably shouldn't have ordered fish in a steakhouse.

A nice surprise was the bill at the end -- I had a glass of wine and my husband had a beer. The total cost of dinner was $68+tip, which is relatively inexpensive for Naples. Our drinks were half price due to a happy hour that we were unaware of.

Overall, the experience was fine, but there are so many excellent restaurants in Naples that just average isn't good enough.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great bar - good food - wonderful people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We've eaten a few times at Stoney's and felt that we have neglected it by not writing about it. Seems that over the past 1-2 years they really have been taking steps to present really decent food with a reasonable price and the service is wonderful.

Usually we sit at the bar and the happy hour bar specials (5-630 in season, a half hour longer out of season) are a really great deal and that is reflected in the crowd that arrives at 5 sharp, even a bit early, to get one of the 10 or so spots around the bar. Tending bar, usually, is a the delightful and lovely Lisa who is a whirling dervish behind the bar.

There are some really great appetizer specials like a really nice shrimp cocktail for 5 bucks with good sized 10-20 I would guess, shrimp, sesame seared tuna, and of course, their quite popular french onion soup served complete with scissors to cut the thick layer of melted cheese. All the bar apps are half price and when combined with the other bar menu items, a person can get out pretty cheap with a decent steakhouse meal, including a nice slice of prime rib. House wines and well drinks are half-price.

Or, if you choose to sit in the dining room, it's a nice atmosphere, not too dark, not too bright. The main dinner menu carries over some of the items from the bar menu but then there are very nice beef selections and then some great dinner selections. I had the fresh snapper with red pepper puree and green beans, very well cooked, lightly blackened and the sauce is a good compliment without overpowering the fish. Ann had the prime rib, cut table table side from a large roast. It was nicely cooked with au jus accompanying. All meals come with a salad or soup, the vegetables of the evening and a starch.

There is a nice friendly atmosphere with a competent and well trained crew of waiters, waitresses, runners, busers, and sommelier to help with wine choices. The general manager is constantly on watch from the kitchen to the floor to the bar area and front door to ensure things are humming along nicely. There are some decent priced bottles on the list and lot of unexpected wines such as french white bordeaux including Pouilly Fuisse.

Give it a try, you will be surprised with a steak house that isn't as pretentious as the others but still offers great service and atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoney's Steakhouse also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stoney's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.