We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel / Residence Vibe - but no room service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naples Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Naples Bay Resort to your Saves list
Naples Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
FL Residents Save 20%
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Central, NJ
Level Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Hotel / Residence Vibe - but no room service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Naples Bay Resort is located close to the 5th Avenue Shopping and Dining district. While the location is close to shopping and dining, it is a bit of a walk, so you may chose to make the short drive. It has two geographic sites. A resort site which seems to have a residential / condo component to it and includes a full resort pool, etc., and a more traditional hotel which includes studio and 1 Bedroom units surrounding a marina area. This review is for the hotel portion.

As with other reviewers, we have only good things to say about the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The check in process was fast, the valet was quick and friendly. It was a little walk from the check in desk to the room which was located at the far end of the 2nd hotel building. A small portion of the walk was outdoors, but the grounds are nicely landscaped and the walk not unpleasant. There is the option of valet of self parking both included in the resort fee and located close to the check in desk.

The room was a one bedroom unit with a full kitchen and 2 baths. Very nicely appointed with neutral yet attractive furnishings, and quality tile and bath fixtures. There was a nice balcony with doors from the living room and the bedroom, which had great views of the marina. The rooms have plenty of outlets, closet space, ceiling fans, and are well lit. TVs in the room appeared to be smaller 32 inch flat screens, but were sufficient and good quality. There was a Bose system in the living room as well. Kitchen was clean and modern with all needed utensils. Bath was modern with full glass shower and separate tub. Bath was nicely laid out to offer essentially a two bath layout that could be opened into one large bath and included a closet with a washer/dryer in it. No real hallway noise and only slight noise from an adjoining room. The Marina was also relatively quiet and scenic.

Breakfast is available in the yacht club located in the second building near the small hotel pool. The larger resort hotel is across the street and can be walked to or visited via the hotel shuttle. There is a Bonefish Grill and an Asian Fusion restaurant in the hotel section, but no room service. Odd, because the room phones have a button for room service, and the room guide has a section for in-room dining (but no menu behind it - just a list of available wines).

I would not let the lack of room service deter me from staying here. The rooms, grounds and staff are all superb and well worth the stay.

There are some nice boutiques and a two restaurants on the first floor level facing the Marina

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room expect a bit of a walk. But the quieter rooms are close the breakfast ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Joylama
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort and a detailed description of our property (both inside and out) and the surrounding area. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. We look forward to your return visit with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    233
    78
    36
    13
See reviews for
370
510
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Once again, we are more than impressed with the hotel and most importantly the staff. From Toms greeting upon arrival, toTricia at the front desk to Marilyn, who can arrange dinner reservations anywhere around, to Bobbi and everybody else by the pool, the service and relaxation was top notch! Everybody there goes above and beyond and so so with a smile and personality. Thanks again everybody for a perfect vacation....looking forward to seeing all of you next year!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear LG-Chicago,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. I will make sure to pass along that Tom, Tricia, Marilyn, Bobbi, Pool Staff and Service Personnel that each and everyone of them provided you with exceptional service during your entire stay at our lovely resort. We are pleased that your vacation was perfect and we look forward to your return visit with us next year!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Firstly I would say we have stayed in Naples Bay before and will probably stay again but I would say our experience this time was definitely not as good as the last.

We arrived at the hotel at 3:15pm but were fully aware the 'official' check-in time was 4pm. We were asked to hold on while the Receptionist checked with housekeeping. We then expected the Receptionist to update us on our room availability however she failed to do so and continued to serve other clients until I went back to the desk at 4pm to enquire. Not exactly the best start to our stay.

When we got into the room at just after 4pm we found no bath robes. Not a big concern however you are charged for these if they are removed from the room. This was reported to Reception and on our return that evening we found two robes dumped in a heap on the kitchen worktop (where they would normally be kept??!!) We then discovered neither had belts and, even if they had, the belt loops were all torn. This was reported to housekeeping the next day and both were replaced, The next day again we found that one had been removed from the room, quite why I don't know but again, we had to ask for this to be replaced.

I then requested that we have a kettle in the room (the coffee maker stank of coffee - naturally - but not what I wanted when using to boil water for tea.) Reception told me they would check if there were 'any spare kettles.' Now, this is a 4/5 star hotel, surely to provide a kettle was not too much to ask? A kettle was left but not an electric kettle, one that my grandmother would use to boil water on the hob. Lo and behold it also disappeared the following day after it had been supplied. To be honest it was completely useless so I didn't bother ask for a replacement.

And, although we did not make any sort of mess, it was evident the room was not hoovered for the entire duration of our 7 night stay.

By far our biggest complaint was surrounding the presence of 'bugs' in the room. I fully appreciate this is a hazard of being so close to the water however my gripe is more with how it was dealt with. This was reported to Reception as soon as we noticed it, probably on day 2 or 3 of our stay. It transpired that nothing was done as we had to speak to Reception again, this being I think on our 4th or 5th night. I contacted the desk at 7:25pm to be told 'someone will be up right away.' As we had a dinner reservation we left the room at 8pm and spoke directly with Reception who told me the person who would deal with it was 'busy' so why tell me he would be up right away? However, when we returned later that evening, the smell that greeted us was simply unbearable, clearly a very strong pesticide had been used in the room without the room being aired. Apart from the fact this resulted in a very disturbed nights sleep, the inhalation of these fumes I'm quite sure could have been quite harmful.

To compound matters, we discovered after we had left Naples that the hotel had charged us twice for our stay. We had prepaid the booking in full and two days after we left found the charge on our credit card. This, despite being handed an invoice on checkout stating clearly that there was no money due (we actually got a $50 credit after complaining about the bugs, that would be a $ for every bite!!) At the time of writing this review, the refund has still to go back to our credit card.

Also, as an aside, although not part of the hotel, the service in the Bonefish Grill on site has to be the worst we have experienced on vacation in a long time. A server who didn't listen to what was ordered and brought the wrong meals at the wrong times - shambles.

To be honest we were probably quite glad to leave and have put this down as just been a very unfortunate sequence of events. We do still like the hotel and it does have a lot going for it and, would most likely stay again despite what has happened.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Let me begin by saying this was our first visit to the hotel, but won't be our last!
Hotel- Lovely ambiance! The resort has a touch of European charm to it, like a seaside village with yachts docked along the marina outside of the rooms. Grounds are impeccable with shops dotting the first floor surrounding the marina area. The lobby is simple but inviting. We walked along the canal side and found a very quiet pool and hot tub with perhaps, 6 people! Nice!
Room- We had booked a Marina King Room and upon entering found a personalized, handwritten note welcoming us! Next to the note was a complimentary beach tote with skin products inside, a very nice touch! The room itself was fine but the balcony was maybe 4 ft. x 6 ft and was next to the neighbor's balcony. Close enough to shake hands...not great. Called the front desk and Roxanne offered to show us another room. Wow! This was a well-apponted suite with a full kitchen, living room, and king bedroom. This balcony was larger and had a view of the canal side. We decided this was our place to be...many thanks to Roxanne!
Service- This is where the resort shines. Everyone we encountered, from the valet (Tom?) to the Front Desk (Roxanne) to housekeeping...each person was friendly and helpful. Early one morning my husband went out wandering the resort looking for a cup of coffee. A maintenance worker asked if he could help him! He escorted hubby to the restaurant and got a sever to wait on him. Now that's service!
Food- We tried to dine at Bonefish but the restaurant was beyond crowded. We could barely walk through the premises. So we never got to try anything on site.

We did walk a block down to the Cottages and Club area. The pool area seemed lovely but very crowded with families so we ventured back to our complex which was a bit more relaxing.

One minor observation...When sitting on our 2nd floor balcony at night the resort's canal lights are blinding. Not sure if they're LED or not but I almost needed sunglasses at 9PM. But it wasn't enough to make us move!

All in all we had a delightful stay at Naples Bay Resort. Thank you to all the wonderful staff who made us feel special!

Room Tip: Canal side can be a bit noisy with traffic, but still fine! Suites are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Ginjoe,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. We are pleased that our staff (Roxanne, Tom, Housekeeping and Engineering) made you feel special while you stayed at our lovely resort. We look forward to your return visit with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rockaway, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I loved this place. I was looking for something beautiful and I found it at Naples Bay Resort. The room was so comfortable with a gorgeous view of the canal. It felt like we were in a different country. The decor was well done and the grounds were clean. The pools were amazing and if you get a poolside cabana - then you feel even more like royalty. There was an easy walk to the pool from our room. So worth the price - and the downtown area is so close by - convenient to everything. I had a late afternoon flight - so the best part was after checkout - we still hung out by the pool - used the spa to shower and change and the headed off to the airport - and that didn't cost us a thing! Great restaurant on the premises - The Bonefish Grill - as well as sweet spots in town. Awesome service. I would absolutely go back.

Room Tip: Request a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Dee R
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. It’s the small details that create a memorable experience for our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, our beautiful club with the 4 amazing pools; our spa and that we made you feel like you were royalty. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Service was great and everyone was very nice. Our room was incredible with a full size kitchen, 2 bathrooms, 1 bedroom w/ king bed, living room and finally a washer & dryer! Plus we had a balcony with a gorgeous view of the marina. Great restaurants on-site as well as some shops.

Room Tip: Reserve early and you receive a discount. Check out the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Md1317
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed the gorgeous marina view at our lovely resort. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Naples, Florida.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
185 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I liked this hotel but I did not like having to drive to the pool. The property is beautiful and the restaurant was good for the breakfast buffet but for the cost, I would have liked to walk out of my room and go to the pool and not have to drive or shuttle bus or walk a 1/2 mile to get there. The location is convenient to Tin City and and 5th Ave, which is a plus. The spa services were expensive but adequate. This hotel tries to be the Ritz Carlton but they have a long way to go.

Room Tip: Try to get as close to the pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Justin H
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. We are pleased that you found our property beautiful and that you felt the location was convenient to Tin City and 5th Avenue.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naples
Old Naples
Bellasera Hotel
Bellasera Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
Moorings
Edgewater Beach Hotel
Edgewater Beach Hotel
#27 of 58 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Naples
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Naples
Inn on Fifth
#3 of 58 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Inn at Pelican Bay
#4 of 58 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naples Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naples Bay Resort

Address: 1500 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Naples
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#6 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#7 Business Hotel in Naples
#8 Family Hotel in Naples
#8 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Naples Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of Florida's most exclusive beach city destinations on the Southwest coast, this AAA FOUR DIAMOND Tuscany-styled tropical luxury resort is like no other.Nestled in a waterfront setting on Naples Bay, Florida at the gateway to energy and excitement of Naples' famed Fifth Avenue South, white sand beaches and to the Florida Everglades, Naples Bay Resort is a hotel that features an amenity-rich environment that includes chic waterfront shopping, Euro-style spa, an expansive activity center with four crystal-blue resort pools, meandering lazy river, state-of-the-art fitness and tennis facilities, along with a complete Captain's Lounge and 97 slip marina.Come experience why "Life is Different Here" at Naples Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Naples Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naples Bay Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naples Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.