We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naples Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Naples Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Naples Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$229 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Naples
1 review
“Always a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Once again, we are more than impressed with the hotel and most importantly the staff. From Toms greeting upon arrival, toTricia at the front desk to Marilyn, who can arrange dinner reservations anywhere around, to Bobbi and everybody else by the pool, the service and relaxation was top notch! Everybody there goes above and beyond and so so with a smile and personality. Thanks again everybody for a perfect vacation....looking forward to seeing all of you next year!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear LG-Chicago,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. I will make sure to pass along that Tom, Tricia, Marilyn, Bobbi, Pool Staff and Service Personnel that each and everyone of them provided you with exceptional service during your entire stay at our lovely resort. We are pleased that your vacation was perfect and we look forward to your return visit with us next year!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    183
    63
    30
    11
See reviews for
287
405
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Firstly I would say we have stayed in Naples Bay before and will probably stay again but I would say our experience this time was definitely not as good as the last.

We arrived at the hotel at 3:15pm but were fully aware the 'official' check-in time was 4pm. We were asked to hold on while the Receptionist checked with housekeeping. We then expected the Receptionist to update us on our room availability however she failed to do so and continued to serve other clients until I went back to the desk at 4pm to enquire. Not exactly the best start to our stay.

When we got into the room at just after 4pm we found no bath robes. Not a big concern however you are charged for these if they are removed from the room. This was reported to Reception and on our return that evening we found two robes dumped in a heap on the kitchen worktop (where they would normally be kept??!!) We then discovered neither had belts and, even if they had, the belt loops were all torn. This was reported to housekeeping the next day and both were replaced, The next day again we found that one had been removed from the room, quite why I don't know but again, we had to ask for this to be replaced.

I then requested that we have a kettle in the room (the coffee maker stank of coffee - naturally - but not what I wanted when using to boil water for tea.) Reception told me they would check if there were 'any spare kettles.' Now, this is a 4/5 star hotel, surely to provide a kettle was not too much to ask? A kettle was left but not an electric kettle, one that my grandmother would use to boil water on the hob. Lo and behold it also disappeared the following day after it had been supplied. To be honest it was completely useless so I didn't bother ask for a replacement.

And, although we did not make any sort of mess, it was evident the room was not hoovered for the entire duration of our 7 night stay.

By far our biggest complaint was surrounding the presence of 'bugs' in the room. I fully appreciate this is a hazard of being so close to the water however my gripe is more with how it was dealt with. This was reported to Reception as soon as we noticed it, probably on day 2 or 3 of our stay. It transpired that nothing was done as we had to speak to Reception again, this being I think on our 4th or 5th night. I contacted the desk at 7:25pm to be told 'someone will be up right away.' As we had a dinner reservation we left the room at 8pm and spoke directly with Reception who told me the person who would deal with it was 'busy' so why tell me he would be up right away? However, when we returned later that evening, the smell that greeted us was simply unbearable, clearly a very strong pesticide had been used in the room without the room being aired. Apart from the fact this resulted in a very disturbed nights sleep, the inhalation of these fumes I'm quite sure could have been quite harmful.

To compound matters, we discovered after we had left Naples that the hotel had charged us twice for our stay. We had prepaid the booking in full and two days after we left found the charge on our credit card. This, despite being handed an invoice on checkout stating clearly that there was no money due (we actually got a $50 credit after complaining about the bugs, that would be a $ for every bite!!) At the time of writing this review, the refund has still to go back to our credit card.

Also, as an aside, although not part of the hotel, the service in the Bonefish Grill on site has to be the worst we have experienced on vacation in a long time. A server who didn't listen to what was ordered and brought the wrong meals at the wrong times - shambles.

To be honest we were probably quite glad to leave and have put this down as just been a very unfortunate sequence of events. We do still like the hotel and it does have a lot going for it and, would most likely stay again despite what has happened.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Let me begin by saying this was our first visit to the hotel, but won't be our last!
Hotel- Lovely ambiance! The resort has a touch of European charm to it, like a seaside village with yachts docked along the marina outside of the rooms. Grounds are impeccable with shops dotting the first floor surrounding the marina area. The lobby is simple but inviting. We walked along the canal side and found a very quiet pool and hot tub with perhaps, 6 people! Nice!
Room- We had booked a Marina King Room and upon entering found a personalized, handwritten note welcoming us! Next to the note was a complimentary beach tote with skin products inside, a very nice touch! The room itself was fine but the balcony was maybe 4 ft. x 6 ft and was next to the neighbor's balcony. Close enough to shake hands...not great. Called the front desk and Roxanne offered to show us another room. Wow! This was a well-apponted suite with a full kitchen, living room, and king bedroom. This balcony was larger and had a view of the canal side. We decided this was our place to be...many thanks to Roxanne!
Service- This is where the resort shines. Everyone we encountered, from the valet (Tom?) to the Front Desk (Roxanne) to housekeeping...each person was friendly and helpful. Early one morning my husband went out wandering the resort looking for a cup of coffee. A maintenance worker asked if he could help him! He escorted hubby to the restaurant and got a sever to wait on him. Now that's service!
Food- We tried to dine at Bonefish but the restaurant was beyond crowded. We could barely walk through the premises. So we never got to try anything on site.

We did walk a block down to the Cottages and Club area. The pool area seemed lovely but very crowded with families so we ventured back to our complex which was a bit more relaxing.

One minor observation...When sitting on our 2nd floor balcony at night the resort's canal lights are blinding. Not sure if they're LED or not but I almost needed sunglasses at 9PM. But it wasn't enough to make us move!

All in all we had a delightful stay at Naples Bay Resort. Thank you to all the wonderful staff who made us feel special!

Room Tip: Canal side can be a bit noisy with traffic, but still fine! Suites are incredible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Ginjoe,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. We are pleased that our staff (Roxanne, Tom, Housekeeping and Engineering) made you feel special while you stayed at our lovely resort. We look forward to your return visit with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rockaway, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I loved this place. I was looking for something beautiful and I found it at Naples Bay Resort. The room was so comfortable with a gorgeous view of the canal. It felt like we were in a different country. The decor was well done and the grounds were clean. The pools were amazing and if you get a poolside cabana - then you feel even more like royalty. There was an easy walk to the pool from our room. So worth the price - and the downtown area is so close by - convenient to everything. I had a late afternoon flight - so the best part was after checkout - we still hung out by the pool - used the spa to shower and change and the headed off to the airport - and that didn't cost us a thing! Great restaurant on the premises - The Bonefish Grill - as well as sweet spots in town. Awesome service. I would absolutely go back.

Room Tip: Request a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Dee R
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. It’s the small details that create a memorable experience for our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room, our beautiful club with the 4 amazing pools; our spa and that we made you feel like you were royalty. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Service was great and everyone was very nice. Our room was incredible with a full size kitchen, 2 bathrooms, 1 bedroom w/ king bed, living room and finally a washer & dryer! Plus we had a balcony with a gorgeous view of the marina. Great restaurants on-site as well as some shops.

Room Tip: Reserve early and you receive a discount. Check out the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Md1317
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed the gorgeous marina view at our lovely resort. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to Naples, Florida.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I liked this hotel but I did not like having to drive to the pool. The property is beautiful and the restaurant was good for the breakfast buffet but for the cost, I would have liked to walk out of my room and go to the pool and not have to drive or shuttle bus or walk a 1/2 mile to get there. The location is convenient to Tin City and and 5th Ave, which is a plus. The spa services were expensive but adequate. This hotel tries to be the Ritz Carlton but they have a long way to go.

Room Tip: Try to get as close to the pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Justin H
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. We are pleased that you found our property beautiful and that you felt the location was convenient to Tin City and 5th Avenue.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have a home in Naples but often enjoy an overnight stay in a hotel near Fifth Ave. We have stayed at many hotels in Naples and Marco Island including the Ritz Carlton and Marco Marriott. We decided to try Naples Bay Resort and were very pleased. The suites are large and include a kitchen, living and dining room. The marina views are fantastic. The hotel is clean and the staff was extremely friendly. It is within walking distance to Fifth or you can grab the water taxi at the marina which stops at all the hot spots in Naples. I would definitely recommend and plan to visit again!! Thanks for a great evening!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Michelle E
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. Thank you for making our home your home away from home! We look forward to seeing you again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naples Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naples Bay Resort

Address: 1500 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#3 Spa Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#3 Family Hotel in Naples
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#12 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Naples Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of Florida’s most exclusive beach city destinations on the Southwest coast, this Tuscan styled tropical luxury resort is like no other.Nestled in a waterfront setting on Naples Bay, Florida at the gateway to energy and excitement of Naples’ famed Fifth Avenue South, white sand beaches and to the Florida Everglades, Naples Bay Resort is a hotel that features an amenity-rich environment that includes chic waterfront shopping, Euro-style spa, an expansive activity center with four crystal-blue resort pools, meandering lazy river, state-of-the-art fitness and tennis facilities, along with a complete Captain’s Lounge and 97 slip marina.Come experience why “Life is Different Here” at Naples Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Naples Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naples Bay Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naples Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.