We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not off the charts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Naples Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Naples Bay Resort to your Saves list
Naples Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$229 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok but not off the charts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Expectations can always be an issue with reviews and I should admit that my expectations were extremely high coming to this property. I was told by co-workers that the place was amazing and therefore when it wasn't amazing I was very let down.

So here are the good points: The rooms are larger than average, there is a full kitchen that is well stocked (pots, plates, knives) and appointed (standard range, full size kitchen). The furnishings are better than average. Note, however, that the pillows are terrible.

The staff wasn't all that eager to help and most importantly I found the cleaning to be subpar. I was revolted when I woke up and found small bugs (important to note, it wasn't bed bugs) crawling all over my iPhone I had left on the kitchen counter. I then went into full inspector mode and found the room to significantly less clean than I would feel comfortable with. Although I want to make it clear that there were no bed bugs and, trust me, I throughly checked. The staff didn't seem that concerned with the bugs and I ended up going down to the Publix to buy cleaning supplies myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    183
    63
    30
    11
See reviews for
290
409
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We recently stayed at a 3 bedroom cottage at the Naples Bay Resort. My husband and I shared the master bedroom with a kingsize bed and my kids each had their own bedroom with queen size beds. Needless to say - they loved having their own space with their own flat screen TV. The unit had a living room, dining area and kitchen with all the amenities you would need. The lanai was very nice in that we could sit outside and not worry about bugs.

Our unit was conveniently located near the pools, tennis courts and spa. There was a nice size pool and lazy river for families and a lap pool and whirlpool just for adults. If you wanted to - you could rent cabanas to stay out of the sun. The Grill right next to the pool aera was very convenient and reasonable in price. I highly recommend the fish tacos.

The resort offers complimentary shuttles around the resort and to the beach. They have towels, beach chairs and umbrellas if you need them. We went to the 12th Avenue beach where the Naples Pier is located. The water was so calm with no waves - we did see dolphins swimming right off the shore. That was worth the trip to the beach.

Everyone at the resort was so nice and helpful - can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. I highly recommend this property and would stay again if I go back to Naples. I miss it already.

Room Tip: The cottages are units that are closest to the pools and the tennis courts. The Hotel rooms are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear jvnn
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience of all of our guests. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay at the resort and that your kids “loved” having their own space with flat screen TV’s etc.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Naples, Florida.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

my husband and I visited this resort to celebrate our first year anniversary and stayed for only a couple of nights. The room was big, clean and the view excellent! the pools and recreational area were located about a quarter mile away which seemed a little inconvenient but after actually walking it it was not more than 5 minutes away and there was always very polite shuttle drivers willing to take you and bring you back at a moment's notice. The staff in general was very nice including the assistant manager Jackie who went above and beyond to make us happy.
There is two things the resort needs to do to go from "very good" to "excellent" and not only meet their guest expectations but actually exceed them.

First, ROOM SERVICE has to be a priority when it comes to the future plans of the resort, it is the first time i experience a hotel without it and we really missed it, our romantic plans to stay in and enjoy a nice relaxing plan for the night went right out the window. plus it makes guest feel "spoiled" when they can ask for anything and a few minutes later... there it is! we asked and the staff said they are "working on it" so we will definitely be back once this feature is available.

and the Second thing I notice is during the time we spent by the pool at the club, the servers would only come around once or twice during lunch time and not any other time, if we wanted anything at a different time we would have to walk all the way over to the end of the club where the bar is located and get it ourselves which is the last thing you want to do when you are relaxed and laying by the pool or even IN the pool. from my experience with other resorts, the servers should be coming around at least every 15 or 20 minutes to make sure everyone's drinks are filled up and all the guests are happy, not only does this make your guests extra happy but it will provably help your sales figures.

all in all we had a great time and we cant wait to be back (when there is room service).

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view, they are a little more expensive but well worth the money, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Mrs. Fay,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort for your 1 year anniversary. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all our guests. You kind words about our wonderful staff and lovely location will be passed along.

We look forward to your return stay with in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My sister, her adult daughter and my two adult daughters travelled to Naples for our annual girls' spa trip. This was our tenth trip and first time to Naples Bay Resort. These trips began as a way of celebrating our daughters' birthdays - all within a month of each other. Upon arrival, the hotel surprised the girls with chocolate-dipped strawberries and champagne in their suite. A lovely surprise. I had mentioned the birthdays when making the reservations; it was a very nice touch.

The resort is beautiful - gorgeous grounds, plantings, pools great (adults only pool a very welcome amenity). The spa is lovely and the treatments very nice. We especially appreciated that Bonnie, spa manager, went out of her way to enable us to enjoy the spa after the posted
hours of operation.

Food in pool area was exceptional and the entire staff of the hotel was terrific - professional, friendly, and eager to please. The rooms were lovely. My sister and I shared a one bedroom
suite with "his and hers" bath that was a very nice arrangement. The girls shared a two bedroom, two bath suite which was also lovely. There is no room service, but each suite had a full , nicely equipped kitchen so we brought in simple breakfast food that was very convenient.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Naples Bay and rank it at the top of our favorites list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Mialbatross,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback about Naples Bay Resort. Your kind words about Bonnie, the rest of our wonderful staff and lovely location will be passed along. It’s the small details that create a memorable experience for our guests and our goal is to exceed every expectation. We are pleased that we have made the top of your favorite list by exceeding your expectations and we look forward to your return visit with us.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in the middle of September. Excellent location with well appointed rooms offering great views of the marina. Was a little disappointed to find the Club amenities 200 yards away but transport helped overcome inconvenience. Pools were excellent but appeared not to be cleaned during our stay - neither were the pool side areas swept. The real strength of this resort is the staff - reception, Club staff, valets and breakfast staff in Yacht Club were excellent. Resort lobby lacked atmosphere and facilities for a high end hotel but special mention for concierge, Marilyn, who was outstanding and rescued this area. Our room was a good size but in parts, furnishings were rather dated. Housekeeping was distinctly average for a high end/priced resort - no bathrobes on arrival, bins not emptied one day, shortage of coffee/milk supplies, no bath mat on at least one day, room keys only worked for two days at a time. Small things perhaps but suggested carelessness and things being run on a tight budget. Despite the lovely location and buildings, I felt the resort was a little overpriced (and this was the quiet season) and did not represent great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear GJW6
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort, your kind words about our wonderful staff and lovely location will be passed along. I apologize for the disappointments during your visit and assure you they will be addressed immediately. We understand the small details are what create a memorable experience for our guests and our goal is exceed every expectation. We certainly hope the next time you have the opportunity to visit Naples that you will provide us with the chance to do so.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

what a wonderful experience we had. the people and the hotel are all first class. the one bedroom suite room was perfect and the maid service is excellent. the lazy river pool and the small pool at the main hotel were wonderful. my wife enjoyed floating and reading her book on the lazy river pool and i enjoyed the quite of the small pool at the main hotel. all the facilities were first class. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear William S.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. We are pleased that you found our property first class and that your wife was able to relax by reading her book down the lazy river. We look forward to your return with us in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Amazing experience. Stay here!

This resort ruined us forever, we have never fallen in love with our accomodations before... This is a first. Clean, well appointed rooms. Friendly, helpful staff, everything was amazing. I hear the property is in bankruptcy, I never saw any sign of distress, you would never know. We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room close to front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy A, Manager at Naples Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Travelling-Monsons
That you for taking the time to share your recent feedback with us regarding your stay at the Naples Bay Resort. Our goal is to provide outstanding service along with a memorable experience for all of our guests. We are pleased that you have fallen in love with our lovely resort and we look forward to your return visit with us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naples Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naples Bay Resort

Address: 1500 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#3 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#3 Spa Hotel in Naples
#3 Family Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#11 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Naples Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of one of Florida’s most exclusive beach city destinations on the Southwest coast, this Tuscan styled tropical luxury resort is like no other.Nestled in a waterfront setting on Naples Bay, Florida at the gateway to energy and excitement of Naples’ famed Fifth Avenue South, white sand beaches and to the Florida Everglades, Naples Bay Resort is a hotel that features an amenity-rich environment that includes chic waterfront shopping, Euro-style spa, an expansive activity center with four crystal-blue resort pools, meandering lazy river, state-of-the-art fitness and tennis facilities, along with a complete Captain’s Lounge and 97 slip marina.Come experience why “Life is Different Here” at Naples Bay Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Naples Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naples Bay Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naples Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.