We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic French food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Boet-French Home Cooking

Chez Boet-French Home Cooking
755 12th Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102 (Formerly Bamboo Cafe) (Old Naples)
239-643-6177
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Boet-French Home Cooking is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #88 of 753 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Naples
Cross street: 8th Street South
Transit: We are located in the historic village of Crayton Cove, steps from the City Dock in downtown Naples, Florida.
Description: Established in 2003, Chez Boet, formerly Bamboo Cafe, is a chic neighborhood bistro serving country French cuisine and owned and operated by Lisa & Philippe Boet. The menu reflects the Boets’ experiences in France spending long weekends in the French countryside with family and friends, cooking traditional, home-style dishes with what came from the family farm and garden.Under the direction of Lisa Boet, Chez Boet's culinary team prepares dishes including Pate Maison, French Onion Soup, Bouillabaisse, Roasted Orange Duck, Boeuf Bourguignon, along with fresh local seafood and authentic Moroccan tagines, served with locally grown, seasonal produce.Cheese and Chocolate Fondue is also on the menu. Chez Boet has a full bar with cocktails prepared by Philippe Boet, varied wine list, and covered terrace for outdoor dining. Private parking in rear. Healthy children’s menu and pet-friendly terrace. Proud founder of Naples Originals, the finest independent restaurants. Chez Boet has been named the City of Naples first certified green restaurant.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Authentic French food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great meal in a lovely restaurant. Excellent salmon cooked perfectly. Attentive service.
Chocolate fondue....simply amazing. Wine was recommended and we loved it.
Cool music playing felt like we were in Europe. Lively crowd. So far our favorite ! Will defiantly be back soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    34
    16
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Tried this relatively new French restaurant last night. It lived up to its billing as authentically French in cuisine and ambiance. Food was very good as was the service. Friends we were dining with compared it favorably with their local French restaurant in NYC. We will return.
Curiously, though, we had no interaction with owners though a gentleman who appeared to be the owner circulated to every other table around us. Not a big deal but seemed out of character based on other reviews.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisamkboet, Owner at Chez Boet-French Home Cooking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank your for taking the time to write to us about your recent experience at Chez Boet. We are very happy that you enjoyed our food and service and appreciated our authentic French ambiance which we try so hard to recreate in Naples! I apologize that neither of us made a visit to your table to say "hello." On a busy Saturday night we try our best, but don't always make it to each table. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of speaking with you on a future visit. Merci beaucoup.
Lisa & Philippe Boet
proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
606 reviews 606 reviews
427 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is an attractive restaurant in a pleasant location down by the cove. The service was prompt, knowledgable and professional. The owners are there to welcome guests, which is always a nice touch. The restaurant was full, but did lack the 'buzz' of some of the restaurants on 5th, at least it did when we dined there. For appetizers we had a salad and the pate maison. Both were excellent. For our entrees we had the bouillabaisse and the lamb tagine. Again, both were excellent. Lots of shellfish in the bouillabaisse and the tagine was beautifully flavorful with plenty of tender succulent lamb. For desert, the special of the day was poire belle helene.....a long time since we last had that.The wine list is relatively limited, but nontheless contains an interesting selection in the $30 to $50 range. We had a really good Sancerre for $52. All in all a very good evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

After waiting one l hour for our reservation, we were disappointed with the food and the service. The restaurant seemed very understaffed for the evening (Valentine's). Our appetizers were good, but my wife's lamb entree was very fatty and difficult to chew. We expressed the disappointment to Sebastian but nothing was discussed about it again... The potatoes were a bonus and helped fill the disappointment of the lamb. As local Neopolitians it will be some time before we go bad.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisamkboet, Owner at Chez Boet-French Home Cooking, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Langle:
Thank you for providing us with feedback concerning your dinner with us on the Valentine’s Day holiday. I realize a few of our second seating reservations did have to wait. Please accept my apology for this inconvenience. Unfortunately the “restaurant gods” were not happy and this year the weather on Valentine’s Day was abominable!The torrential rain and cold temperatures made it necessary to rearrange all of our reservations who had booked on the outdoor terrace and accommodate all of our guests inside. As February 14th is one of our busiest nights all year, it was a challenge to seat everyone in our usual prompt manner. Please know we are very careful of how we book our tables, allowing a minimum of 2 hours for our guests to dine so that they never feel rushed. These were exceptional circumstances on an exceptional night.
In regards to your wife’s rack of lamb entree, I apologize it was not up to her expectations. I did not learn of your concern at the time or I would have quickly responded by offering her another entree selection. Please know that our chefs hand-trim our lamb racks, but we are careful to leave enough fat in order to enhance the lamb’s flavor during the roasting process. A little lamb fat is delicious and a necessary component of this dish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“If you want proper food and service, don't miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have not had particularly good food this trip (the occasional
exception) but Chez Boet was a revelation. The restaurant was not
busy latish in Sunday, and we were able to sit side by side on a
banquette and watch the action. A glass of champagne made a good
start and we followed with onion soup ( as good as anywhere in France), and delicious chicken livers. We both had the steak frites' which were cooked as ordered with proper french frites and a nicely dressed green salad. The anchovy butter was a tasty addition. We fell for desserts, a tarte Tatin, and a Napoleon which completed a superb meal. The owner Lisa chatted with us when we had finished and we thoroughly enjoyed sharing experiences of France.
The wine by the glass was also a very good measure, and a fair quality at a reasonable price. This restaurant knocks a lot of Naples "better" restaurants into touch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Boet-French Home Cooking also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Chez Boet-French Home Cooking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Boet-French Home Cooking, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.