We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Black Forest Mill Restaurant

Black Forest Mill Restaurant
2366 Immokalee Rd, GreenTree Shopping Plaza, Naples, FL 34112
+1 239-592-4784
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 753 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: German, Seafood, European
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I'm a big fan of small "mom & pop" restaurants. The fact that the owners are from Germany only doubled the disapointment in my experience here. The food was bland! I ordered the schnitzel and received a cutlet that was far too thick and was PANKO breaded! The German potato salad was cold slices of cooked potato with only white vinegar as a dressing. That had more flavor than the onion soup. Sure the portions were big but bland and uninspired not coming close to what I expected for a typically German meal at all. Also the wife of the owner/cook hovered over the table after every serving not getting the hint that her presence was no longer required (no server was on duty).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Great German Food In Naples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This small restaurant in a Naples shopping mall has great German Food, cooked by the chef and owner from Germany. The Black Forest Mill has an extensive menu considering the size. The tables are relatively close but the noise level is low with so few people. The service is excellent with appetizers of very good cole-slaw and a spinach sent to the table.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good as their former NY restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We were happy to hear that the owners of one of our favorite German restaurants in New York state have opened a restaurant in Naples. The food is delicious, authentic and abundant. Our party enjoyed the sauerbraten, the schnitzel , and a great pork shank. These along with potato pancakes, German potato salad, red cabbage, carrots, cole slaw and creamed spinach provided for a real feast. We were too full for dessert however, we did bring home pieces of home made apple cake.

We will certainly go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in North Naples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Two friends and I came across this little "hidden gem" 2/19/14 in Greentree Center on Immokalee Rd in Naples, FL. The restaurant is a quaint little place and the food (authentic German cuisine) was so delicious. The service was very efficient and we were treated like family. Other diners around us seemed equally impressed. As we were leaving and walking to the car a lady in the parking lot asked us how the food was, as she had seen the place many times and wondered about it. We, of course raved about it. I would highly recommend this restaurant and we will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We went to the Black Forest Mill last night and found it delightful. Dale, one of the owners, was playing the role of a waitress as one had not arrived for work yet. She was delightful and efficient. Arthur came out of the kitchen to ensure all was going well with us. The service is well beyond what we have experienced in many Naples restaurants. It is apparent that Dale and Arthur truly care about the quality of service and food served at Black Forest Mill. Everything we had was super fresh and absolutely delicious. We have not had German food this good since we left New York. We liked that the meal included soup or salad, entrée, starch, a veggie and even dessert. Not only was the food excellent, the price was right. They only serve beer and wine so if you're into martinis don't expect to find on there. Having said that, if we were into martinis, we'd give them up for the food we had. The restaurant is relatively new in the Greentree Plaza, it's small and I would encourage everyone to make reservations. By the time we were 1/2 way through our meal, the place was packed and it was only 6:00PM. We have already made plans with friends to go back in a week. Try it, you'll not like it, you will love it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Forest Mill Restaurant also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Black Forest Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Forest Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.