We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Giovanni Italian Ristorante

Giovanni Italian Ristorante
5975 Pine Rdg Rd EXT, Naples, FL 34119-3955
239 353-9440
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Giovanni Italian Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #282 of 803 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Napa Blvd. & Vineyards Blvd.
Description: We are open for lunch Mob-Fri 11pm-3:30pm & Dinner Mon-Sat 4pm-10pm, Sun 4pm-9pm. Offering Take-out (including our Large, Medium, Small Pizza's), and Catering.We also offer 2 Happy Hour Options for our customers: If your into the bar scene our Bar Happy Hour Served Daily 4pm-7pm (50% off all house wine by the glass, all bottled & draft beers, well drinks, pearl vodka, Russian standard vodka, our entire martini, Bellini's, classic cocktails list's & Over 9 Bar appetizers under $5). Get there the bar gets crowded!If you Have Passion for great wine at a great price then You'll Love our "Happiest Wine Hour" Daily from 4pm-6:30pm (50% Off Our Entire Wine List in our Main Dinning Room with the purchase of 2 entrees and applies to only wine bottles)Our family arrived in America fromCarini, Sicily and Pr. Avellino, Naples, Italyover forty years ago. They were in search ofa better life for themselves and for future generations. Deep rooted in our family traditions are a welcoming nature, delicious food and a strong family structure. These are the traditions that we based the foundation of our restaurant upon.Giovanni's opened in 1999 and our family's passion for food and love of Italy keeps us dedicated to serving the freshest and most authentic Italian cuisine in all of Naples. -The Conigliaro Family
Naples
1 review
“Rip Off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I just wanted to have a drink, soup, and share a pizza. We were not allowed to order a regular size pizza unless we sat outside or in the bar. We were already seated in the restaurant. The only pizza we could order were personal pizzas which were $11.00 each. We ended up staying seated where we were and ordering 2 small pizzas. The pizzas consisted of 4 very small pieces. The bill was over $60 for 2 small pizzas, soup, and one drink! The pizza was good but I didn't know we practiced communism in the US!! I will never go back there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    12
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, exceptional service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

A very good family style Italian restaurant. Chicken parm was good, garlic rolls and salid a plus. Great service and unique desserts .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Both lasagna and manacotti were melt in your mouth good. Garlic rolls were hot and chewy on the outside, just like we like them. Staff pleasant and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“As a long time local customer, here's the scoop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

So my wife and I live within a chip shot of Giovanni Italian Ristorante. We sit down and pick up all the time. Mostly picking up recently because of the seasonal crowds at every Naples restaurant this time of year. I wouldn't say the food is great, but it is very consistent which I find to be a huge plus in the food service industry. The lasagna is a solid dish, as is the chicken parm. The bread rolls are a delightful sin, it's easy to pig out on those little guys. The dinner salads are par for the course. The pizza is actually pretty good, but for some bizarre reason they won't allow you to order pizza while sitting down. It has to be take-out. Weird. Moravela´s Pizza, which is a few miles away, has better pizza, while Sophia's Ristorante Italiano has a more upscale (and homemade) array of dishes. I prefer both to Giovannis, personally.

The real issue I have with the restaurant, and it is getting to the point where it is becoming a deal breaker for me, is that the employees can often display rude and bordering on obnoxious behavior. I've gotten attitude from the bartenders, the waiters (not often though), the hostess and - in particular - the employees that take orders over the phone. We order here at least 2 times per month. Management really needs to remind their employees about the customer relationship. Put together some pleasant visits and I'd raise my rating to 4 stars. If it keeps up, I won't be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Our party of 6 was seated at the reservation time. If you don't want to wait, make a reservation. The waiter was very accomodating and knowledgeable. This is not a cheap restaurant but it's worth every penny. Very extensive menu and the wine list is adequate. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni Italian Ristorante also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Giovanni Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giovanni Italian Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.