We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience, no, Great Food, yes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips

Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips
338 Tamiami Trl N, Naples, FL 34102-5803 (Old Naples)
239-643-4577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 803 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Neighborhood: Old Naples
FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ambience, no, Great Food, yes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you're looking for a candlelight or seaside setting, this isn't it. But if you just want a great seafood meal for a reasonable price with friendly service, you've hit the jackpot! My husband had their famous grouper sandwich and fries - and now we know why it's famous! I had the snapper special topped with capers & lemon sauce - yum, yum, yum! Their julienned vegetable medley was steamed just right (not soggy). He relished the key lime pie and I had the rich chocolate mousse. (They'll even put the mousse on top of a piece of pie if you want!) Wait staff very friendly & helpful. Would definitely come again. Especially enjoyed that we were supporting a mom & pop place and not a chain.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    70
    24
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will avoid next trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I had the fried grouper sandwich and the fish was stuck to the bottom bun. The fish tasted strong but i did not say anything. Don't know for sure it had anything to do with it but i had the runs for two days after this meal. We ate on the front porch in front of a business with a for rent sign in the window.... lets just say the atmosphere was less than memorable for the price paid

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Small Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Grouper and Chips is a great LOCAL restaurant, opened for lunch and dinner.
We've been eating here for 20 years and NEVER had average food. It has
always been fresh and tasty. Big plus is they are quick, friendly and CHEAP!!
I love to order out from them too. My favs are: the Salmon Special, or the Linguini
Special. They have great fried Grouper of course. Enjoy the very casual atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Quaint and delicious. We had the linguini with blackened mahi. Huge amount of food and tasted wonderful. Key lime pie was also excellent. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We're visiting family in the area and decided to try this place. I was torn between the Grouper and Chips (the house specialty) and the Fish Tacos, so we ordered both and shared. I really can't say which one was best they were both so delicious. And the key lime pie for dessert was outstanding. Overall it's a great place to eat, but it's very small so you might have to wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.