We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fresh Fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips

Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips
338 Tamiami Trl N, Naples, FL 34102-5803 (Old Naples)
239-643-4577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 831 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Neighborhood: Old Naples
North America
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Of course, the main thing to get is the grouper and chips. Very fresh and tasty, with a crisp, light coating - very good fries and I think homemade tartar sauce. The grouper sandwiches we saw going by looked excellent too.

Be aware, this place is extremely tiny - the biggest table sat three. Basically a gem but a hole-in-the wall, we drove by it a couple of times before finding it in a strip mall. I would recommend going off-hours as we were there at 2 pm for a late lunch and though not crazy, almost all tables were full. Grouper and Chips is family-run and has a very homey, casual atmosphere; however maybe a bit too laid back as the two sisters running the place thought that each other were getting us menus so we sat menu-less for about 10 minutes until my husband got up and said something. However, being in the business since a baby, one sister talked about the seafood on the menu quite knowledgeably, explaining the different kinds of grouper and what they had in that day.

Don't forget to order the Key Lime Pie - light and tart, the best of all the pies we tested (too extensively :o)) all over Florida.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    80
    26
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Average at Best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food is okay, but they are small, and they should not attempt parties over 7 as they took nearly 45 minutes on 3 entrees, and one of them was a salad and one was a sandwich! They offered me nothing other than an apology. There is no ambience unless you like small, hole in the wall, and loud. If the food and service were great, and served in a timely fashion it would be okay.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Grouper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is one of the best places in Naples to get grouper. Super crispy outside with great flaky fish inside. Don't forget a piece of Key Lime Pie if they have it. This is a must visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Grouper!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

During a weekend trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary in Naples, Florida, we found this wonderful gem!! Jodie and April were totally sweet! We ordered fried grouper and blackened grouper...the batter on the fried grouper is perfect! Light and crispy! The blackened seasoning is just right. We had decadent chocolate mousse for dessert. The ambiance is pure beach... We will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackemtripper
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“If there's a better place than this then please let me know!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Simply unbeatable. 2 pc grouper dinner, 2 x blackened grouper sandwich. Tongues thought they'd died and gone to heaven.

It's not cheap and the only criticism is that they are a little light on the fries. I could have done with a few more but that's a minor thing.

No fuss and no frills just great simple food done impeccably. Tremendous! Nothing else to say.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.