We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Blackened Grouper in Naples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips

Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips
338 Tamiami Trl N, Naples, FL 34102-5803 (Old Naples)
239-643-4577
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 753 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Neighborhood: Old Naples
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Blackened Grouper in Naples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have been coming to Naples for twenty years and never miss. GC Grouper and Chips. Friendly staff, great food, reasonably priced. A true Naples gem. Don't miss this one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    80
    26
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Shrimp were terrific”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The fried shrimp basket was the best fried shrimp I have had in along time. The place was small and the staff was very friendly. We also had the,grouper basket, conch fritters and hush puppies which were also terrific. I would have given the place 5 stars but the waitress forgot my mussles appetizer and didn't remember until she brought our main course. They were having a problem with their fountain soda machine so maybe she was more focused on that at the time but she really didn't check on us at all.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This tiny place has lots of character. We've eaten here several times and the food is good every time. My wife had the blackened shrimp linguine and loved it. I had fried grouper with hush puppies and it was also very tasty! This is not a fancy place, so don't go if you want atmosphere. Also, expect to wait a little if you go a peak dinner hours.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Canoe
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Considering the price - excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

A local told us about this place, and what a find! The location and decor are nothing special, the beer and wine come in plastic cups, it usually crowded and there is a waiting line (I doubt they take reservations), the outdoor seating is practically in the parking lot, but the food is really very good and reasonably priced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, fresh fish prepared perfectly- a wonderful meal overall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We visited the beautiful Naples beaches and decided to stop for a bite to eat on our way home. We previously read good reviews about this little "hole-in-the wall" restaurant, but it surpassed everything we read. From the minute we sat down at 4:30 PM (just missed the luncheon portions) until the time we walked out the door, we were made to feel welcome and completely at home. My husband had the fried Grouper & Chips and I had the special of the day- Yellow Tail Snapper topped with three blackened shrimp. It was easily one of the best fish dishes I've ever eaten. Prepared perfectly and served with an ample portion of white rice and a large medley of steamed and julienned vegetables, the fish was succulent and melt-in-your-mouth tender. It was prepared with a very light batter and the unbelievably tasty lemon sauce was served on the side at my request. The veggies were cooked to perfection. The service was excellent and the servers were very friendly. Seafood being our favorite, we've eaten at many seafood restaurants. My husband rated the fried Grouper & Chips the BEST he has ever had. House wine is a little pricey at $5.95 for a small glass. Although the meal prices are not inexpensive, they are fair for the quality of food. This place rivals some of the finest and very expensive eating places in Naples. The restaurant is conveniently located on Tamiami Trail (Rt 41) North of 5th Avenue on the East side of the road. Previous ratings had it mapped incorrectly!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Coast Grouper & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.