We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mangrove Cafe

Mangrove Cafe
878 5th Ave S, Naples, FL 34102-6606 (Old Naples)
239-262-7076
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 831 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Naples
Sayville, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cold food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here three times. The food is just okay, but service is usually good. We both got different dishes served and both were cold. They were sent went back to heat and when returned the plates were so hot, it actually burned my finger. The waiter said it was hot, but...way too hot to serve to a person! Their early bird dinner is sparse and the wine just passable. I don't think we will be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    120
    42
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is difficult to beat Mangrove Cafe's dinner deal for 2. Your choice are the entire menu. Nice atmosphere, but can be a bit noisy. Outdoor dining is an option. Food is excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a wonderful dinner, dined outside - great people watching. Awesome snapper dinner, my husband and I got two great dinners and a bottle of wine with their special for a great value.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“ondayLovely food and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

You really need to be aware in N America - portions are huge, so sharing is order of the day for us Europeans. The food wastage is massive in USA (Which is an issue) However food & service brilliant on this 5th Ave restaurant + not a rip off. Go for the special (closed Mondays)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't believe the value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you are on a budget or simply like to have a nice meal which is keenly priced then look no further than the Mangrove Cafe.
Two meals and a bottle of very nice Lindemans Chardonnay for $39 in 5th Avenue South, Naples is nothing short of incredible.
My snapper was fabulous and my wife could only just get through the copious helping of paella.
Service was on the ball and the restaurant was packed out with keen punters eager to avail themselves of the package in the best street in Naples. How do they do it?
To put it all in context - THE TOTAL COST OF OUR NIGHT WAS LESS THAN THE BOTTLE OF WINE WE HAD AT DINNER THE PREVIOUS NIGHT IN A RESTAURANT NOT 50 YARDS AWAY.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangrove Cafe also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mangrove Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangrove Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.