We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An alternative to, and a cut above, the typical Naples restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria D'anna Cafe

Maria D'anna Cafe
300 Tamiami Trail N/41N, Trinity Plaza-Corner of 3rd Ave North, Naples, FL 34102
+1 239-263-6892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 753 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Polish-American Restaurant /Hours Open : 11.30 Am-8.00 Pm Monday-Saturday/ Price range : $9.00 - $26.00/Signature Dishes:Cabbage Rolls, Beef Goulash,Pierogi.
Gainesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An alternative to, and a cut above, the typical Naples restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a simple, but very attractive cafe, where the soothing shades of yellow and blue found on the walls and in the paintings are repeated in the flowers and stemware on the tables. We were warmly welcomed by the owners who took some time to speak with us and provided excellent service throughout the meal. The food is a good alternative to the other options that are available in Naples, and while Polish food may not be quite as familiar as, say Italian or French food, it is a kind of comfort food - a meal that your grandmother might have made for you. Here, it is extremely well prepared and nicely presented. We also enjoyed the Polish beer and the unexpected courses of pate before the meal and cookies afterwards.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old-style, delicious & light food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had the stuffed cabbage roles and the pierogis. Both were delicious, and came with a large variety of lightly-cooked fresh vegetables that could have been a meal in themselves. For desert a sampler plate of their fresh cookies, some of which were gluten-free, all of which were tasty. The place itself is rather small and outfitted more like a bakery or deli -- so, yes, it is not a "fine dining" atmosphere, as others have noted. I'm always a bit surprised when people visit an ethnic restaurant, order the alternative plates (e.g, pork chop) and then complain it is not what they are used to. This is a Polish restaurant, people--order the Polish food!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I'm disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I made a reservation for dinner on this past Saturday. I was encouraged by the reviews posted on Trip Advisor. I now wonder whether those reviewers visited the same restaurant I did. We were not greeted upon entering the restaurant. We had to approach a man working behind a counter. He pointed us in the direction of a table for five with a "reserved" sign on it (we were four). We sat down and waited. The folks at the table for two beside ours left and new people were seated. They received menus and bread. We continued to wait. After a time I got up and approached the man at the counter and asked him if we could please have menus and maybe some bread since the folks sitting next to us had been given same. He made some excuse about a problem he was having with his credit card machine. I sat back down and eventually we got our menus. Bread came later. A lady came with pate after a time...this may have been a peace offering...not sure as nothing was said. Our food service was timely. One dinner out of four was good. The beef goulash was dry. The accompanying side was odd...some kind of grain. It was not tasty. We were presented with one each of a tiny kolachke as a special dessert gift. I would not consider returning to Maria D'anna. The proprietors were far from warm and friendly and not in the least accomodating considering the poor job of greeting and seating us. The young man who waited on use was charming..the only good thing about our meal. I cannot figure out the glowing reviews posted on this site.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Kentucky
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

4 of us had dinner here recently. I think it was one of the worst overall meals I have ever set down to. I had the pork chop (which their version is a slice of tenderloin with no bone). Totally not a pork chop. One of our group had the stuffed cabbage roll. And, one had the fish. It all was mostly inedible. The appetizer of bacon wrapped dates was pretty good. The service was no smiles and one of us had to send back her meal and order another as it was awful. I cannot recommend anything about this sad sad place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfort Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was a very quaint and lovely restaurant. White table clothes and fine china and wonderful comfort food. The major focus is on Eastern European food along with several seafood items to round out the menu. The portion were definitely ample and satisfying. The owner was very friendly and helpful. So if you looking for homemade rye bread, pirogues and stuff cabbage this the place to go. .

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria D'anna Cafe also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maria D'anna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria D'anna Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.