We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch spot on 5th Ave. Naples, FL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Angolo 5th Ave

L'Angolo 5th Ave
800 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102
239.692.8480
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Angolo 5th Ave is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #169 of 803 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 8th St South
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Lunch spot on 5th Ave. Naples, FL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My Wife & I just had lunch at L'Angolo. We were able to get an umbrella table outside. I had a trio of eggplant,bean soup, and bruschetta. My wife had the Prosciutto di Parma sandwich. For only $13.00 each on 5th Ave, great deal! Their sign mentions "Authentic Italian Resturant". We returned from Italy last Fall for the fifth time. Trust me, saying "Authentic" may just be exaggerating somewhat. With that said, I would go back. Also, their wine selection, is very accomodating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    47
    23
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dania Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good homemade italian pasta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Italian family with 2 kids. Have tried tagliatelle al ragù, gnocchi, lasagna and linguine with sea fruits: everything was excellent, and the service too. We loved it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Gem of a Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were visiting Naples over the St. Patrick's Day weekend for our anniversary. We walked by L'Angolo's and inquired about a reservation and were able to reserve a table outside for dinner later in the day. We heard the pasta was homemade and thought we'd give it a try. Well, we had a wonderful dining experience. My husband grew up eating homemade pasta, so he knows it when he has it. We were seated on time and our server greeted us after a couple of minutes (Ian, I believe). He was attentive, but not overly in the way some wait staff hang so it becomes annoying. To start, hubby went for the pasta faglioli. Thumbs up on the soup. We enjoyed some nice wine by the glass with dinner--I tried the veal marsala special and hubby had the tagliatelle bolognese. My veal was tender and the marsala sauce was very good, not overpowering. Hubby just loved his pasta dish. The sauce was subtle and sinful. He raved about it later that evening just thinking of it. We split dessert and enjoyed tea and coffee, without feeling rushed to leave. We almost went back the next night, but really wanted to try another place in town by the water. We were disappointed the next night and said we should have gone back to L'Angolo's. Next time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Poor service, screwed up order, unbelievable management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a belated review for a dining experience in late November. I had booked the table through "Open Table" and have just realized they did not publish. I guess they only publish the good ones!

We waited 75 minutes for any food to arrive and when it did arrive, we were told the risotto was only half portions because the kitchen was busy. We were given an apology by the manager, I was given a complimentary glass of wine (not my wife) and were offered 10% off the bill. I refused the insult, paid in full, left the required tip ( it wasn't the waiters fault) and departed. Food was not that great anyway. I will never go back despite loving to eat on 5th street. This was the most amateurish response to an unhappy customer I have ever experienced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Most attractive restaurant in a great location. Service was professional and knowledgable. The food was also first class. Mind you, the choice of appetizers is quite limited so we elected for the caesar salads which were excellent. For entrees we had the cod fillet which our guests described as first class. We also had three different tagliolini dishes; t. pescatore, t. with shrimp and tomato, and t. with clams in white wine and garlic All were al dente superb. The clams were moist, tasty and plentiful, as was the seafood in the other two tagliolini dishes. For only $58 we enjoyed a really magnificent Antinori Napa chardonnay. On the downside, access to the woefully inadequate washroom left something to be desired. Also it was slightly irritating to be advised on our bill the dollar amount of an 18% and 20% tip. Whatever happened to the trusty old 15%. And in any event I personally find this type of presumptuous advice quite offensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Angolo 5th Ave also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to L'Angolo 5th Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Angolo 5th Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.