We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fishing Experience Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capt. Joe Cassaro

Capt. Joe Cassaro
525 Newport Drive, Naples, FL 34114
239-269-0695
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fishing charters in the calm inshore waters of the beautiful Florida everglades and 10,000 islands. Fish the back bays, Flats and scenic rivers in the largest mangrove forest in the world. Whether taking out the family fishing or coming out to fish like a pro and hunt down Floridas most prized sportfish. I Have been fishing Southwest Florida for almost 30 years and still have an enormous passion and enthusiam for fishing.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Fishing Experience Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have no experience fishing whatsoever. We contacted Joe from an ad in the San Marco Island magazine. He was engaging and friendly and was very confident we would catch fish and have a great experience with him. We caught many fish immediately. Joe was patient and let us do all the work! The highlight of the day was my 14 year old catching a 200 pound seven foot long bull shark in the flat water of the everglades. Joe released the shark after we took pictures. He cleaned the other fish we caught and sent us to a local restaurant where we ate them that night! He was very respectful of the laws and threw back each fish that was too small. He indulged our interest in the local wildlife so our sightings of alligators and manatees was a bonus. Overall a great day that has given us memories of a lifetime.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe c, Owner at Capt. Joe Cassaro, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you so much for coming out with me it was all my pleasure watching the boys light up at catching their fish and watching you all develop into such fine anglers. great job and thank you for having me join you for the fresh fish dinner that night. hope you all make it out again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First fishing trip in the area. Had a wonderful time fishing with Captain Joe, two thirteen year old boys and one 50+ year Old boy (with mom along for the ride.) The boys caught many - red fish, black drum, snook, others, in a half day trip. Many great photos and memories !!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe c, Owner at Capt. Joe Cassaro, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
thank you for coming out with me i had a great time introducing you all to the wonders of everglades fishing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Fished with Joe a couple of days the first week of July and were very happy with the result. Ended up getting beat up by the weather on day 1 but were able to boat some fish as well as bull shark as well. We ground through repeated rain squalls and looked like drowned rats by the time were done. On the day 2 the weather was more cooperative and I boated my personal best redfish. My girlfriend also boated the biggest fish of her life and we ended up with a mixture of redfish, snapper, snook, and a large black drum. Joe was patient with us and gave us allot of great tips and did not waste allot of time in spots that were not producing. We stayed on the move and it paid off and we walked away extremely pleased.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe c, Owner at Capt. Joe Cassaro, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Tom your success was due to your great angling abilities and your persistance and patience. It was a couple of rough days and a tough bite but you still managed some great fish. Awesome job. Thank you again for choosing to come out with me
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

After speaking with Joe on several occasions, I was expecting a great day on the water. It didn't happen. Showed up the first of two day to hear about the "big" fish he caught the day or so before so I was excited. When I got on his boat the first thing I noticed was it wasn't very clean. I've taken alot of charters in my time and when I see that it usually isn't a good sign. Caught a small snook about 5 minutes from the dock and the rest of the half day was down hill from there. We went out in the gulf do one of his spots to catch some bait. Three throws later after he ripped his net, tossed it on the engine, and then preceded to throw a complete fit for the next 10 minutes we went back inside to fish. This from a guy he told me he was in the bait business for four years, so he should have know how to throw a net. He did have shrimp, which for some reason he left in a bag inside a compartment. When I asked why, he said they would die if he put them in his livewell. Really....when I asked him if he ever tried just trowing some ice in to cool down the water he just mumbled. I brought my own reels and let him set the drag. He basically had the drag so clamped down you could not strip out line. I've been fishing in and around Sarasota for the past 15yrs. I know how to fish. By setting the drag so tight only one of three things can happen. You can blow out your reel/drag system if you get hit by a nice fish... you can have the rod jerked out of your hand and carried away... or if your lucky catch a fish.

Fast forward to the next day when I came back with my wife. More of the same.. dirty boat long ride to shell island where he dropped us off for about a half hour at our request. He went back out to try and get bait....same result...nothing. I could go on and on. Joe says he's been fishing in the area for 20 years. When I asked him how long he has been guiding when I spoke to him on the phone,he told me 8 years. When I asked him on the boat he then told me it has actually been 18 months. My wife caught two snapper and she was thrilled. I caught 3 small snook in two days. Not thrilled. The one thing that I really didn't appreciate was Joe deciding it was ok for him to fish as well. Your a guide Joe... so guide. If you feel like you can't just pay attention and guide and you want to fish...YOU ASK SPORT

My advice to anyone considering a charter with this guy....don't

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe c, Owner at Capt. Joe Cassaro, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
First of all you saw me on a TV show catching fish not an ad. And yes my guest caught big fish before you and many big fish after you because they were actually there to catch fish. I did everything I can so you can fish how YOU wanted to by throwing the net in 25 knot winds and four foot seas to try and satisfy you. after telling you bait was not around and in the process ruined my $300 net. I always set people up for success with the proper gear and proper bait. I caught at least 30 fish in those 2 days with you and still you refused to fish as I advised and show by example of repeatedly bringing in fish. If you are looking to fish and catch fish LISTEN and LEARN after all thats why you pay a guide. I really wish you decided not to take the second day trip after ypur first trip, instead you gave me a generous tip. I will fish to make sure there are fish the area and I caught plenty you just did everything to sabatage your trip for some reason and watch me bring in fish after fish is simply ridiculous. I WILL NOT ask YOU for permission to fish on MY BOAT. You are a guest on my boat and were lucky enough to get a spot on my boat because I am extremely busy with my many repeat customers. I have been guiding 10yr.s 8 part time and almost 2 full time and am extremely busy throughout the year for good reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“9 ft bull shark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very quick to put us on different areas and different fish, none of that waiting around on one hole to pan out. Caught large red fish, black drum, Jack fish and a couple of sharks one being about 9ft long and about 200lbs

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe c, Owner at Capt. Joe Cassaro, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for deciding to choose to come out fishing with on your last day of vacation. I dont think Ive ever had anyone catch a fish that meant that much to them. it was a great feeling to be the man to make that happen and share such an awesome experience with you all. thank you for that opportunity and inviting me to share a dinner with you of your fresh catch that night. hope you all make it back here soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt. Joe Cassaro also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Capt. Joe Cassaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capt. Joe Cassaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.