We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting to the Beach is 1/2 the Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clam Pass Recreation Area

Clam Pass Recreation Area
Seagate Dr., Naples, Naples, FL (Pelican Bay)
239/353-0404
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 45 Attractions in Naples
Type: Beaches, Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Estero, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Getting to the Beach is 1/2 the Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Be ready to take a boardwalk to the beach that runs through a mangrove forest. It has a tidal bay area where you'll see marine life and wildlife, featuring many species of birds The beach itself is soft and easy on the feet with a beautiful view of the Gulf of Mexico.This is a perfect place to experience nature and spend a relaxing day without a lot of distractions.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    92
    24
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Nice white sandy beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

This is a conveniently located beach with nice soft, white sand. None of the crushed shells that can hurt your feet. Soft as a baby's bottom.

Parking is $8 for the entire day, with in-and-out priveleges. There was a machine that only took credit card and you put the receipt on the dash. Patrols were plentiful, so make sure to pay.

The golf cart shuttle is a must if you have a handful, as the beach is a good 10-15 minute walk on a nice wooden path through the mangroves.

We waited 15 minutes for a cart, as they always stop at the hotel first to pick up guests, since the shuttle is owned an operated by the Waldorf Astoria hotel. If hotel guests fill up the cart, you are out of luck. Ugh!

The beach has bathrooms, outdoor showers, a very nice cafe that serves hot dogs, BBQ sandwich, drinks, etc. The beach is wide, clean, and the hotel rents chairs and umbrellas, but might as well bring your own. The water wasn't too clear, but felt refreshing and clean.

I hope you enjoy, we did!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Although this was the only beach we saw on the gulf side, it was the best beach we saw while in Florida. Beautiful sand, warm water, lots of sea shells, not too crowded. Lots of birds, and warning signs showing turtle nests. Long walk from the parking lot though, and had to wait 20 minutes for the tram to take us in, and another 20 to take us back out. $8 for parking seems high, but I guess they have to pay for the tram somehow. The machine wouldn't accept my credit card, and there was nobody working there, so we just didn't pay.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Gorgeous beach and lovevly sunset. We spent an afternoon just strolling along the beach, and then watched the sunset. Friendly, family oriented crowd

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing, Awesome Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We visited this beach on July 27th, and we absolutely adored it for a number of reasons.
We went early in the morning - around 8 a.m. - and basically had the entire beach to ourselves for nearly two hours. It has soft white sand, unlike many of the Naples beaches that are covered in sharp seashells. But, the nice part is that there are still tons of shells near the shoreline for collecting if you're into that. The water is crystal clear - we had goggles and we swam looking for shells. We found tons of conch shells with live creatures in them - we threw them back because it's illegal to take live shells, but unfortunately we saw a lot of people taking them anyway. If you swim about 200 meters out into the ocean there is a large sandbar area where the water only comes up to your waist and there are hundreds and hundreds of live sandollars (so many that we felt like we kept stepping on them, which I'm sure we were.) We also saw a sting ray and more fish that we could believe. It was truly beautiful.

In the morning the trees create shade which makes it really comfortable. The facilities were great - the snack bar area offers great food and seating and the bathrooms were clean,albeit a bit small. The facilities are run by the Waldorf Astoria but can be used by anyone on the beach. They also rent out cabanas, beach chairs, umbrellas, kayaks for the ocean and nearby mangrove forest and stand-up paddle boards. Around noon, the beach really started to fill up and it sort of had a party vibe - lots of people with coolers drinking beer on the beach. It never felt overcrowded though.

A couple of other things:
1. Parking is $8 for the entire day which is pretty comparable to other beaches in the area - we went in the morning and then returned for the sunset without having to pay more
2. The boardwalk is lovely, and makes for a lovely walk, but if you're carrying anything, take the tram, otherwise the walk seems long. Yes you might have to wait a few minutes for the tram, but it is worth it.
3. In the evenings , the gnats - down there they call them "no-see-ums" are truly awful. They are everywhere and they swarm you. Some people don't react to their bites, but I have dozens upon dozens of tiny red welts from their bites, almost a full week later. Someone told me bug spray doesn't phase them, but I would recommend it in mass quantities if you're going back for the sunset.

We highly, highly recommend a visit to this beach if you're in the Naples or Southwest Florida area. Of all of the beaches we visited in the area, this one was by far our favorite.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clam Pass Recreation Area also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Clam Pass Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clam Pass Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.