We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, well worth playing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LaPlaya Golf Course

LaPlaya Golf Course
333 Palm River Boulevard, Naples, FL 34108
+1 239-254-5001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 125 Outdoor Activities in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Private / Resort Golf Course features an 18-hole, par 72, 6,907-yard championship layout with driving range, practice area and beautiful views of the course from the clubhouse veranda.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb, well worth playing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have been staying at the resort long-term and playing the La Playa course for a number of years now. We would have liked to keep it a secret but unfortunately for us our conscience now has the better of us and we feel it unfair of us continue to do so. The course is magnificent and well cared for, from tees to greens. Whilst suitable for every level of player, dependent upon the tee played it can also be VERY challenging! In the Pro Shop Scott, Dick and Laurel will look after your every need. Bill the Starter is a most lovely man. Be sure to have before/stay after for a spot of lunch. Fabulous food, great staff. Anne and Debbie are fantastic, and for visitors from the UK, Alan (General Manager) and Jackie (Dining Room) with their accents (Scottish and Yorkshire) will most certainly make you feel at home. Recommended but Shhh!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan F, General Manager at LaPlaya Golf Course, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Mr. JEG & Mrs. TAG,
On behalf of the team at LaPlaya Golf Club, thank you for your recent visit and review of your Decmeber 2013 Golf & Beach Club experience.
We are delighted to learn about your observations on the property, both on and off the golf course, and it was our pleasure to host you for the period you were both here.
The entire LaPlaya Golf & Resort team, will be ready and looking forward to your return visit in December 2014.
Until then, it will still be your secret hideaway.
'I'll see the Warrington!'
Kindest regards,
Alan F.
GM Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    13
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I fancied a week in Florida playing golf. I booked the flight and hotel with BA. I can honestly say that my week at the LaPlaya Hotel and Golf club was one of the best holidays I have ever had. The room was perfect and I fell asleep everynight listening to the waves..
Concerning the golf then they have a new General Manager at the LaPlaya golf and he is clearly making a big impact there already. He is clearly and already very well respected by his team and this shows in the way that they look after thier guests. I had planned to play several of the courses but ended up just playing the LaPlaya. Tough but lovely course. Practice facilities are A1. Just everything was perfect. I am planning on going back in April. Thank you Gail the Concierge, Gillen on the front desk, everyone in the pro shop, Alan the GM, Vanessa, Maria room manager. Dom, Windsor UK

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan F, General Manager at LaPlaya Golf Course, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Dom,
On behalf of the team at LaPlaya Golf Club, thank you for your recent visit and review of your January 2014 golf experience.
We are delighted to learn about your observations on the property, both on and off the golf course, and it was our pleasure to host your weeks holiday.
The entire LaPlaya Golf & Resort team, will be ready and looking forward to your return visit in April.
Until then, and a warm welcome back,
Kindest regards,
Alan F.
GM Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome course and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was met by friendly staff and starter. The practice facility was top notch with new callaways. The course was in great shape. Distance markers were easy to find, greens were receptive, but still rolled true. The refreshment cart was available and rest stations were clean. The course design was challenging, but not to hard to reward for good play. You have to love winter golf in Naples Florida. Wow what a treat.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan F, General Manager at LaPlaya Golf Course, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear James,
On behalf of the team at LaPlaya Golf Club, thank you for your recent visit and review of your January 2014 golf experience.
We are delighted to learn about your observations about the property, on and off the golf course.
The entire LaPlaya golf team, will be ready and looking forward to your return visit soon.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards,
Alan F.
GM Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great course! Definately challanging. Fast greens. Lots of water. The staff is exceptional and really friendly.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan F, General Manager at LaPlaya Golf Course, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Tim,
On behalf of the team at LaPlaya Golf Club, thank you for your recent visit and review of your December 2013 golf experience.
We are delighted to learn about your observations about the property, on and off the golf course.
The entire LaPlaya golf team, will be ready and looking forward to your return visit soon.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards,
Alan F.
GM Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great course with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

LaPlaya Golf Course is challenging with narrow fairways and lots of water, but it is fun to play and the staff is friendly and welcoming.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan F, General Manager at LaPlaya Golf Course, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Connie,
On behalf of the team at LaPlaya Golf Club, thank you for your recent visit and review of your December 2013 golf experience.
We are delighted to learn about your observations about the property and the fun you had playing the course.
The entire LaPlaya golf team, will be ready and looking forward to your return visit soon.
I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards,
Alan F.
GM Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaPlaya Golf Course also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to LaPlaya Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaPlaya Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.