We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Inn on Naples Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cove Inn on Naples Bay to your Saves list
Cove Inn on Naples Bay
900 Broad Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102 (Old Naples)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Chester Springs, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our room was small but quite adequate. Lovely patios that overlook the harbor. The Inn is in walking distance of a few fabulous restaurants. Only complaint we had was that their internet service was very slow. Nice place to unwind. Room rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    140
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
63
240
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton Beach
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This hotel is partly privately owned condos, which accounted for individual decorating of rooms. Our room, which had been changed due to the previous "tenants" wanting an extra day, was an "upgrade". It was nice of them to offer, but it meant going from a King bed to a Queen! Not too happy about that. The very pink room was not my taste, but it was clean. The hotel is aging, but it's got a few more years left in it! Wifi did not reach to our room...needed to go into the lobby. The tiki bar was great, as was the pool area. The desk agents were varied...some friendly and helpful, some not so much. The coffee shop in the lobby attracted many locals for breakfast, so the lobby was crowded every morning. The pancakes were the draw...great. There are several good local restaurants, close enough to walk to. The best part of the whole experience was the view. From most rooms, you look over the marina into the bay. Lovely. Oh...and the price...very fair.

Room Tip: Specify the size bed you want. The second floor rooms seemed to have the better views. All faced t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jylland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The Cove inn is a very relaxing place with a large feeling of home, the staff are very friendly and the rooms are like a private home.
However the prices are in the high level in the season.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Having stayed on a number of occasions the experience only becomes greater.
Level of accomodation requires updating but all rooms have individual owners & vary in standard, accomodating staff and wonderful location.
Many long stayers in the season - not for everyone but certainly for us.

Room Tip: First Floor recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is our third stay at The Cove. Obviously, we like it. Not perfect, but close.

It is an older property. It looks typical of the all-concrete condo buildings built in the 1970s. But they manage to disguise that fact with lots of exposed wood balcony railings and wooden posts to give the whole building an overall "maritime" look.
The building and rooms are well maintained. If you are looking for fancy, this is not your place. No granite countertops. No king beds. No stainless steel appliances. But the cost is considerablyk less for a waterfront stay in Old Naples. It is the only hotel right ON Naples Bay.

The rooms are functional. Ours was a bay front efficiency. Good size fridge. Double sinks! HDTV (minus an HDTV signal). Internet (sort of). Air conditioning works great if a bit noisy. (they are thru-the-wall sleeve units.)

Staff is great. Same folks every year. They take care of the place and their guests. Discounts are available for advance bookings that extend for weeks/months.
Parking is ample and free.

The best feature though is the sheer proximity to historic Old Naples and everything it offers. Everything is within walking distance except for grocery stores. A twenty minute walk in any direction takes you somewhere interesting. The Naples Trolley comes to the front door. The Blue Pelican water shuttle comes right to the back door at the rear dock. Good restaurants at either end of the building.

The clientele skews senior, although we have observed all ages around the property and the pool. The Chickee Bar adds great atmosphere and although it is sometimes noisy, the noise never extends past 10 PM.

PROS
Clean
Value priced, especially for extended stays
Great staff, friendly old Florida vibe (think Key West, almost)
Walking distance from many of Naples best offerings
No pets ( yes, I count this as a definite 'pro')
Basic but efficient and functional rooms

WHAT WOULD MAKE IT BETTER

Internet access remains spotty. The closer you get to the lobby, the better the signal. Some rooms further away may have marginal or no service. Logging onto the network using a mobile device like an iPad often took 10-30 attempts before success.

Beds could use an upgrade (in room 203, possibly others)

HDTV flat panel TVS are very nice. They are much nicer if an actual HDTV signal is available. Our room (223) has a nice set but no HD programming available.

CONCLUSION
I would award a perfect score except for the relatively minor issues listed above. For the price, The Cove is great value, in an historic location, on the water, the only hotel on Naples Bay.
If you are looking for more upscale rooms in the general area, the Naples Bay Resort offers many options but many of their rooms offer little view and the resort is located on a very busy highway (hwy 41), and of course the cost is considerable higher.

Room Tip: Bring your walking shoes. There is much to see and do within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvanduzee, Front Office Manager at Cove Inn on Naples Bay, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I would like to respond to the televsions. The cable provider we currently use recently changed how they deliver the signal to their customers, unfortunately things have not gone very smooth. We have contracted with a new provider and hope to have a new system in place in the very near future, they will be able to provide HD programming that you mentioned. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Pros: Location, location, location. Cons: target audience is seniors staying a week or longer so those staying less are given Worst rooms in spite of promise of better room at time of booking, no compensation given, almost nothing has been updated since the 70's, mattresses are cheap and very hard, a new hotel has blocked much of the sunset view unless you're on 3rd/top floor and most rooms do not have sunset view, marina is very crowded and stinks of dead fish, pool is very small with no shade trees, shower is like a fire hose, cheap linens and shampoo/soap. Be warned!

Room Tip: Better rooms for long stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dvanduzee, Front Office Manager at Cove Inn on Naples Bay, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
We are always disappointed when a guest has a less than excellent stay. I would like to address a few of the items in your review. The property has been updated, the building was constructed in the early 1960's and still retains it original architecture and design. Additionally, we are a condominium hotel which means that all rooms are privately owned. Each owner has the ability to decorate to their own style and taste This feature is what sets us apart from chain "cookie cutter" hotels and is what many of our repeat guests enjoy. During this period in the Naples area in general we experience an influx of retirees and snowbirds. They support the economy during the winter months and help keep many people employed and our economy strong. Many of our guests have already booked for next season. While our pool area may lack shade trees, we do provide and ample amount of umbrellas for our guests to keep cool. As far as the linens, mattresses, and shampoo/soap, we purchase supplies from the same companies that many hotels use. These are subjective to the individual user. The views from our units have been described as breathtaking overlooking beautiful Naples Bay, however the building and most views face South,so sunset have never been our best feature. We have a working marina in front of the hotel so this does increase activity. The odors you may have encountered are just part of the natural environment of being on the water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed at The Cove over new year and returned after a brief visit to Miami and the Keys. In total we stayed there for about twenty nights which was much longer than expected or booked.

We really liked our first floor room overlooking the busy fishing harbour. No mosquittos at this time of year and we spent quite a lot of time on the balcony enjoying a glass of wine in the evenings as the sun set over the harbour, where there was always something to watch including the seventy-five pelicans who live there. A few dolphins dropped by to say hello too.

The room was quite large and comfortable with a king size bed, a dining table and chairs plus a large flat screen tv. The bathroom was very small but just about ok. A small kitchenette too with a coffee machine but no kettle for making tea.

All the rooms are individually owned and some are nicer and better equipped than others so do ask to see a few when you arrive.

Downstairs is the Olde Coffee Shoppe which is a must. Always packed, it serves up real American diner type breakfasts with a non-stop coffee pot at very reasonable prices. Our crazy but favourite waitress was Mary aged 82!. There is even a picture of her in a bikini on the placemats. All of Naples' rich and not so rich go there for their breakfast or brunch or so it seems including the cops. No bookings so be prepared to wait.

But back to The Cove - we loved it but maybe a bit dated or boho for those looking for luxury.

And from The Cove we could easily walk to 3rd Street or 5th Avenue to eat or have coffee - not that Americans seem to walk anywhere!


Highly recommended by two English snowbirds who would rather walk than drive !!!

Room Tip: aski to see a few! They are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cove Inn on Naples Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Inn on Naples Bay

Address: 900 Broad Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Naples
#12 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#20 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cove Inn on Naples Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Inn On Naples Bay Hotel Naples
Cove Hotel On Naples Bay
Cove Inn Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Inn on Naples Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.