We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Resort

White Sands Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Naples
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Sands Resort
Save
You added White Sands Resort to your Saves list
260 Third Street South, Naples, FL 34102 (Old Naples)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Naples
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

small quiet complex 3 short blocks from the gulf. Not fancy but clean and close to fifth avenue shops. We are going back again in 2010 and will keep going back as long as we can. Naples is beautiful and close to the other islands as well. Restaurants are excellent especially for outside lunches.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Before I went to White Sands I read all the reviews and I was afraid that it was going to be a big disappointment. Instead I found that my boyfriend and I had a great time and the accomodations were great. You could tell that the resort is in the process of minor upgrades and renovations because it is older. It was very clean and everyone was very friendly. It was close to everything a short lovely walk to the beach and very close to all the 5th avenue shopping and dining. We loved Chops Grill and would love to eat there every night! I would definitely go back and stay at White Sands again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

The plus side of this resort is the amazing location!!! It is two and a half blocks from Naples Beach, which is a beautiful beach, and two blocks from the very cool Fifth Avenue Shopping district (great shopping and dining). Naples blocks are very short, so the walk to both beach and night life is short and pleasant.
I need a dark place to sleep and there is absolutely no way to get that here - the windows are covered with either wooden venetian blinds or wooden louvered shutters. There are extremely bright lights outside every window that cannot be turned off, and the bedroom was lit up like noonday! (Blackout curtains needed, guys!)
In addition, the only A/C is window units in each room (old motel style) which do not fit the openings well and let all of the Southwest Florida humidity in constantly - very uncomfortable, not to mention noisy.
The rug in the bedroom was old short shag and dirty, but the rest of the rooms had tile floors that were very clean.
I do a lot of work online, and the Wi-Fi situation here is lamentable. The signal is weak and unpredictable. You cannot even get a signal inside the unit unless you stand or sit practically on the window ledge! You have to go outside to get even a weak signal. Not cool during the all-too-common Florida lightning storms (which is most likely when you would want to be inside working on your computer anyway!) It also makes for a most unpleasant mosquito session at night..... And there is no ethernet option at all.......
If you are the "roughing it" type you might really enjoy this place. It is small, which means not overcrowded (there are only 14 apartments), and it is in a lovely, quiet neighborhood in Old Naples. Unfortunately, the dampness and uncomfortable sleeping accomodations made it hard for me to enjoy the beauty after the third or fourth night of lost sleep.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT LAUDERDALE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

This resort was wonderful and the area was awesome in old naples lovely the resort is small and relaxing staff kind and other guests were very friendly had a great time love this place we look forward to returning in may of 2009 can't wait for bike rides to beach and to view the golden red sunsets!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, Fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

The resort is small, about 15 units- 2 floors, but has large grounds. It is located in an area of million dollar homes. Walk to everything (beach, shopping, dining)
Very quiet / safe area. The resort is was built many years ago, however, it was clean and well maintained.
Bikes are available for free, and it was a pleasant bike ride around Naples (Florida is flat). What my wife in I liked best was waking up, walking to Starbucks, then walking on beach.
The office did not have a person there every day, however, we did not need anything else. We enjoyed cooking on outdoor grills in courtyard, which was right outside the door. Parking was also plentiful.

  • Liked — Location- Close to best areas (5th Avenue and beach), Spa
  • Disliked — Smaller resort, older building
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Great little place with a fantastic location. Ed the caretaker was helpful and friendly. Although not 5 stars, it was clean and just perfect for an active family on Florida vacation. Not to mention very affordable.
Kids loved the very clean pools-and strolling to see the sunset by the beach is a once in a lifetime experience. But the location takes the cake, they must pay a fortune in property taxes, so you don`t find places like this much anymore because of the damned highrises they keep building all over. Didn`t see a roach!
Going back for sure!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

This is an older property situated in a gorgeous neighborhood. A block and a half from the beach, as well as walking distance to Fifth
Avenue and Third Street shopping/dining districts. The resort is surrounded by multimillion $ homes and well kept streets, a pleasure to walk there, safe too.

My unit consisted of LR, BR bathroom with dressing room between BR and bath, full kitchen including all appliances and dishes and utensils.

Washer/dryer are available free of charge to the guests.

A/C consists of 2 wall units, one in the LR, one in the BR.

There is plenty of outside guest seating: around the pool, on the sundecks, in the garden and one the breezeways in front of the units.
Offstreet parking is available.

Thgere is shuffleboard court as well as a hot tub. The latter did not
work when I was there. Beach chairs are available for guests to take with them to the beach.

I traveled in September, very last minute, got a good deal from the owner of the timeshare I rented. He also has a good hurricane policy,
in case a strom would arrive during my stay.

The resort itself is not five star, but I felt I received good value for the money and was located in a fabulous area.

  • Liked — location close to beach, shopping ding , great area for walks too
  • Disliked — somewhat noise room a/c units
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Resort

Address: 260 Third Street South, Naples, FL 34102
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Naples
#19 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.