We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Superior Service - Accommodating and Friendly Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mel's Diner

Mel's Diner
12035 Collier Blvd., Naples, FL 34116
(239) 455-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #293 of 793 restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Good Food and Superior Service - Accommodating and Friendly Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the standard venue for our Sunday morning choir - and most of the group have memorized the menu. Our regular server, Jen, is outstanding! We usually come with a group of nearly 20 in season, and take up a good portion of the back area of the restaurant. The food is good, with ample portions, but it is not easy for the kitchen to get out 20 meals together, and sometimes the wait is too long. That is really the only downside.

During the week, they have some very good specials like lobster and stuffed peppers, that are well-priced and generously portioned - and it's not as crowded.

I think what makes Mel's in Golden Gate stand out from the rest is the friendly and accommodating service. Everyone from the manager to the bus staff really care about making the customer happy. There is no substitute for that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    16
    12
    5
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Horrible service, so so food, with an Albanian touch. It's valentine's day..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe that people like places like this. Screeming and yelling the order, who order who, wrong items in our meals, and the worst it's the CAN vegetables in our plate. I wounder why people love to pay for can vegetables and not the best quality items that read frozen fish. As you can see in my 80 plus reviews Im very objective and never rate a service poor since I work in the service industry., But! It's unacceptable that when looking to talk to a manager/owner about the screaming and about my cold fish "fresh" and can veggies he comes to me with excuses and lies (we chop the veggies very small) WHAT! Ah today's y valentines day so we are very busy here and everybody has been working all day long. Sr let me tell you that I also work all day, go out at night, pay for my "dinner' not to here yelling from my server of who order what, get can veggies and fish for 12 dollars and excuses for bad poor horrible service. I will never go back.
People there is more than 400 restaurant in naples where you can eat fresh food for under 20. Per person.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Be Afraid, Be Very Afraid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in while vacationing in Florida. Didn't expect any atmosphere because after all its a diner. Ordered a salad, and prime rib. After a half hour or so the kitchen realized it had run out of prime rib. OK that can happen. Reordered lobster tails. The salad was cut up iceburg lettuce, one cucumber slice and three tiny grape tomatos! Not very inspiring that's for sure. Some rolls (?) came out with butter and they were both cold. Lobster tails came and the kitchen had put some brown flavoring on them. That was unexpected and not appreciated. The mashed potatos and gravy were the high point of the meal. The meal was sooooo cheap we should have known it was going to be sooooo bad. After all, you get what you pay for. Avoid this restaurant at all costs.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdoinham, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mel's Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Mel's Diner is a step back in time with music from the 50's and 60's and they have a menu that doesn't quit. Such good food and homemade on the spot.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast...great key lime pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

On our first visit we had a great breakfast (expecially the home fries) served by an especially pleasant waitress. On our second visit we had some of the best key lime pie we have ever had.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel's Diner also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mel's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mel's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.