We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naples Depot Museum

Naples Depot Museum
1051 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102
+1 239-262-6525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 45 Attractions in Naples
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Long hidden on the fringe of Florida's Gulf coast and overlooked by developers until well into the 1880s, Naples' catalyst for settlement finally arrived forty years later when two rival railroads rolled into town within ten days of each other. Set in Naples' restored Seaboard Air Line Railway passenger station, the Naples Depot Museum welcomes visitors back to the railroading boom days of the Roaring Twenties and explains how generations of Southwest Floridians used technology and transportation to conquer a vast and seemingly impenetrable frontier.Seminole dugout canoes, a mule wagon, antique swamp buggy, restored rail cars and exciting interactive exhibits tell the story of how trade and travel transformed Naples from a napping village of 300 souls into today's glittering Gulf coast resort. The Naples Depot Museum is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is conveniently located in downtown Naples.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

They have a Christmas train show that the kids just love. All year long they hve something going on there. More shows and activities during he winter months,

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best value in Naples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great little museum. Not just railway history but everything you need to know about the history of Naples. Definitely worth an hour of your time. Railroad cars are great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Naples train depot museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My mother and I stopped by here specifically as we both like trains. As a matter of fact she grew up in a train station. Anyways, we found most of the exhibits informative and the memorabilia was quite extensive. We really liked the video of the train pulling into the station. That was a great effect. Half way through the reading gets a little tiring and since non of the exhibits are interactive it would be quite boring for kids. The lounge car outside is pretty neat to see. Our only real complaint is the man at the front was not very helpful and seemed quite disinterested in being there. Maybe he was a volunteer. I did ask him some questions which he answered but only barely. Why not put some retired guy in here who loves trains. I think he would cherish such an opportunity.

There is a train that circles the property for kids but it only runs on certain days and is not associated with the depot.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The train museum is so much more than that. It's a great way to learn about the history of Naples. Train rides for kids too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Museum was fine but some of the other reviews noted the train rides and trains for the kids to see. We came on a Monday and the rides and trains are not parts of the museum but separately owned behind the museum and are only available 10-2 Thursday through Saturday .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naples Depot Museum also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Naples Depot Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naples Depot Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.