We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Local Favor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capt. Marcos Seafood and More

Capt. Marcos Seafood and More
1716 Airport Road South, Naples, FL 34112 (Old Naples)
2392621555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 793 restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Naples
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Local Favor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I live in Naples all year round and we've been here for the last 8 years. We have eaten in many local seafood restaurants. When Capt Marco first opened in our neighborhood, we tried a couple of times, but we were not impressed by it. 2 nights ago we really want to have some fresh fish for dinner, but did not want to go to some seafood restaurants that you need to wait for hours for a table now in season, so we decided to give Capt Marco another try. We walked in and saw some fresh whole snappers and mahi fillets in the refrigerated display case, that gave us a great idea what we would want for dinner. We ordered a whole snapper - my husband enjoyed the grilled & blacked fillets and I finished the rest of fish ( head and the bone dipped in batter and deep fried). Truly yummy! We are so happy to have this friendly, homey and great seafood place now we can have our regular fish dinner nights!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptMarcosSeafood, Manager at Capt. Marcos Seafood and More, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you Diana and your husband for giving Capt.Marcos a second chance, we're glad that you guys enjoyed it , we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    83
    25
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We've never had Cuban food so we gave this place a try. We had the grouper soup and the blackened grouper sandwich. The soup was flavorful with big chunks of fish and delicate seasonings. The fish was well prepared and the blackened spices were just perfect. This place is cozy with a very accommodating and friendly staff. We got the impression that if you were to return on a regular basis, you would be welcomed like family. We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptMarcosSeafood, General Manager at Capt. Marcos Seafood and More, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you Sue for your visit at Capt.Macos Seafood in Naples, Fl We hope next time you're in town you'll come and say hello.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood/reasonable prices - a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

When I travel to Naples, I want fresh healthy seafood. This restaurant provides this at an excellent price. It also offers Cuban dishes that looked excellent. I had a large piece of grilled snapper with asparagus and baked potato and my friend had snapper with black beans and rice and fried bananas. Our entrees were less than $15 a piece. You couldn't come near this value on 5th Av or 3rd St. Will return and would recommend.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptMarcosSeafood, Manager at Capt. Marcos Seafood and More, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for visiting Capt.Marcos, we hope to see you again next time you come to Naples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We come to Marco's Seafood at least once a week. The fish is fresh and always tasty. The owner and staff are as friendly as they come. We highly recommend Marco's Seafood. If you want good food at a reasonable price this is the place for you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Skip this one...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place is more Cuban with seafood than the reverse. The one waitress was overwhelmed -- forgot to order my soup from the kitchen; had to be tracked down for the bill; didn't place order right etc etc. One lady came in and waited so long for a menu she got up and got it herself. After waiting to be noticed, she left.
There were only 3 other full tables at the time.

I ordered the Caesar salad no croutons with grilled fish. She told me it was flounder. It came fried and I couldn't tell what kind of fish it was; could only manage a few bites as oily and off tasting. Plus there were croutons. The dressing was basically a couple globs of mayo. It was inedible.

My husband ordered the fried kingfish special with mixed rice and black beans and plantains. The fish was dry dry dry. The best item was the sweet plantains.

We were so disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt. Marcos Seafood and More also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Capt. Marcos Seafood and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capt. Marcos Seafood and More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.