We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, but poor value and no service / facilities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Escalante

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Escalante to your Saves list
The Escalante
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   290 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102 (Old Naples)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Naples
LONDON, ENGLAND
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Convenient location, but poor value and no service / facilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have been to Naples several times but have always struggled to find a good hotel. So much of Naples is based around vacation home rental and self-catering that the hotel market seems neglected, almost overlooked.
I saw the Escalante online and reserved, via an agency, mostly on the basis of reviews and pictures, and the location, just off Fifth, where the action is.
The reality on getting there was pretty mixed. The location is great, and the approach is along a scenic lane. The property does have leafy gardens and a rustic pool, but there is an air of neglect about the place, almost desolation. Rooms and cottages are scattered around, with no real focus to the place; and the restaurant – Dish – was closed for the duration. The pool was there, with a couple of guests sitting around it chatting, but no staff in view the two times we visited. It looked like it had been unused for some time.
They served no breakfast so we went out for it, and every other meal. Our room was a standard king, which was a little small, very dark inside with hardly any natural light and no view. Furniture and bathroom were just about OK but certainly nothing wonderful. Free internet was fine.
For the price paid I expected a little more than we got, so I wouldn’t recommend the Escalante. It’s a pity because the location could be made into an excellent boutique hotel, but when we stayed it was a rather soulless and desolate experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    27
    8
    13
    19
See reviews for
4
67
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston Mass
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel and staff are great... The location is superb... Just relax and enjoy the peacefulness...If you looking for action go somewhere else... No body here will mind

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Escalante Hotel was the ideal setting for our sisters' getaway. Our suite and adjacent room made visiting easy--no elevators or corridors. Beds and linens are luxurious. The staff is warm and helpful. The walk to the Gulf is short and the beach is divine. We loved lingering over coffee and croissants near the pool in the morning. There is no loud bar or restaurant which was fine with us. The food and entertainment attractions of Naples are nearby.

Room Tip: Room that opens out to garden and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Lanai Suite was well furnished and lovely. We could open the door to our courtyard area and there was the sound of a waterfall from the hot tub. There was a private parking area for cars. Downtown Naples was just around the corner so it was convenient to walk to many restaurants, shopping, and tennis. The beach was a short walk away also. The continental breakfast was well done and service was exceptional.
There seemed to be attention to improving the physical appearance of the "hotel" although it looked fine to us. The wireless connection was rather poor but they said they were working on making some changes to improve it. There are only 10 suites/rooms so the staff knows who you are by the end of the first day.
This was a pleasant and enjoyable place to get away.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bloomfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We just returned from a long weekend in Naples. This was our first experience at this hotel and we absolutely loved it. If you are looking for resort type amenities this is not the place for you. It is small and quaint and very nice clean rooms. The staff is very friendly and the location is better than any hotel in Naples. Located only 1 block from the beach and a very easy walk to Old Naples. I highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a quiet place in an ideal location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This was once our favorite place in Naples. Now they advertise a resturant that is not there. They charge you for the stall bagels that some mornings you have to heat up yourself. There are holes in the rugs in the bathroom. The housekeepers work somewhere else so they arrive about 3 in the afternoon. All the services are gone. The hot tub is cold. We will not be back and we love Naples

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna K, Public Relations Manager at The Escalante, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting The Escalante and thank you for taking
the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of
our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we are under new ownership
as of January, 1st 2013. Providing our guests with
the highest hospitality service is our mission. A multitude of
amenities are included in our resort fee which is listed on our
website under Rates and Reservation pages. WiFi is available
for our guests convenience around the hotel property and in each hotel
room. We also offer a fully operational Spa and heated pool.
Spa services are available and our new Asian inspired-with a French
flair restaurant, Veranda E is now open for dinner-we do serve wine,
beer and champagne. In the morning we serve Continental Breakfast.
We hope to see you again in the near future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Wonderful small boutique hotel with the best location in Naples.We could walk to everything. Great weekend getaway. The hotel staff were very pleasant!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Escalante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escalante

Address: 290 Fifth Avenue South, Naples, FL 34102
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Old Naples
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#10 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Escalante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Escalante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escalante Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Escalante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.