We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN visit , LOVED the animals and feeding the giraffes!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens

Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens
1590 Goodlette-Frank Road, Naples, FL 34102
+1 239-262-5409
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #13 of 103 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Much more than a walk-thru zoo, this historic tropical garden and nationally accredited zoo features a full day of wildlife experiences to delight guests with the natural world to inspire the conservation of our planet's remaining wild areas and their wondrous inhabitants. Discover the wonders of South America featuring a Giant anteater, Cotton-top tamarins, and more. Get wildly close to the Malayan tigers at viewing windows. Hand-feed the herd of giraffe plus enjoy your favorite animals like lions, monkeys, and bears. Naples Zoo is one of only four zoos in the nation to feature the fierce YouTube-favorites: African honey badgers. Plus discover rarely seen species including Malagasy fosas and 2 of less than 20 striped hyenas in the nation. Ask those questions you've always wondered about at the Meet the Keeper Series. Be fascinated by rare creatures during premier wildlife shows. Cruise through islands of monkeys, lemurs, and apes. Watch our professional staff hand-feed American alligators while dispelling popular myths. Snap great photos and learn the facts behind the fiction at a venomous snake talk. It's wild fun from apes to zebras. Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens is a nonprofit organization cooperating in conservation programs both in and outside the wild for endangered species. The zoo is nationally accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums, the organization that sets the highest standards for wildlife care, education, and conservation. The garden also holds accreditation by The Morton Register of Arboreta and is a member of the American Public Gardens Association.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“FUN visit , LOVED the animals and feeding the giraffes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a must visit.....we fed the giraffes, and the Monkey Island tour was great!!! animals of course are beautiful and Loved the show at the main theater!! Beautiful visit!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    753
    520
    143
    34
    31
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They have a tiger here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Another day in beautiful Naples. Our first day was a bit cooler than we had expected so we decided to go to the zoo. Wow. The alligators, zebras, and gazelles were impressive, but the primate island and giraffes were amazing. My son fed the giraffes as I held him on my shoulders. They also had a show which included a sloth, skunk, snake, porcupine, and a small yet powerful cat.

I think the most impressive animal was the tiger.

We had a great time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place, plan ahead though!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I went with my family on a school day off on a miserably hot day. The first issue was the parking area was not close to the attraction and we had to cross a very congested intersection. Which when you have a large or small family for that matter it can be a bit daunting. We parked by a mall across the street from the Naples Zoo. It was a bit of a walk but what made it worse was the heat. For Naples Florida it did have some impressive displays. Good customer service, very accommodating as well. Customer service is a rare trait and a rare treat. It was nice to be appreciated and to hear the words, "Thank You", "Please" and "My Pleasure"! Perhaps due to the Fantastic more mature staff. Their younger staff should take some lessons on the fine art of treating those who provide for you with respect and gratitude.
The line into the attraction was very long but I do admit it moved fluidly.
Some of the display areas were empty and although we waited for quite some time for the Lions and other such animals to make their appearance they failed to do so. We were patient though and returned several times until the animals were released.

The souvenir shop was delightful and offered an interesting array of souvenir's. Here is my recommendation;
ONE, Do not go on a day when your children are off of school or any day for that matter when most families tend to take a local vacation i.e.; Saturday, Sunday. Best days would be during the weekday.
TWO, In choosing an "off" day the parking situation should not be as undesirable as ours was so do yourself a favor and get there early!
THIRD, Unless you have been in Siberia and are gluten for a taste of extreme heat, massive sweat and swarms of people then make your plans during the cooler winter months. Trust me when I advise this as it will make for a much more delightful family experience.

Otherwise with some careful planning you can look forward to some impressive educational Family Fun.
I highly recommend the Naples Zoo. It will definitively make for some eternal family memories as it did for our family!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice small zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not a big city zoo, but the animals seem well cared for and the venue is clean and fun. - Great place to take families for a morning or afternoon (when it's not too hot out).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

August is not the time to visit an outdoor zoo in Florida. Animals are smart & sleep during the day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naples Zoo at Caribbean Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.