We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Kayak Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Up a Creek Kayak Tours

Up a Creek Kayak Tours
Shell Island Road, Naples, FL 34103
+1 239-293-6232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 175 Activities in Naples
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Naturalist-Guided Kayak Tours in Naples, Marco Island, 10,000 Islands, and Rookery Bay Reserve. Explore mysterious mangrove tunnels, deserted barrier islands and pristine estuaries. All tours led by the owner, Susan. Susan is a Florida Master Naturalist Instructor, Certified Kayak Instructor and loves introducing people to this beautiful environment. Pre-registration required. We use comfortable, new, single sit-on top kayaks. Special group rates available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Glen Ellyn, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Kayak Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Susan & George are great tour guides. We took a leisurely 2 1/2 mile trip through the mangroves nears the Isles of Capri. The kayaks are comfortable and stable. Both Susan & George took turns giving information and telling stories about the area. The water was clear and we were able to see a lot of activity. Saw bald eagle, osprey, ibis and wood storks.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Do and See Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I took this tour on the final day of our three week stay in SW Florida in October 2012. It was a very memorable ending to our lovely holiday. It was a small group and a very peaceful tour of the mangrove estuary in the very romantically names Isles of Capri. We loved the chance to learn some kayak skills and to see the wildlife up close and with minimal disturbance by us. Susan and George were very knowledgable and enthusiastic. We learned so much and felt that this tour was just the right length and good value. When we returned to the UK, I sent Susan a photo of a creature we found on Sanibel beach and she was able to identify it for us by return. Great service!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Knowledge, Passion and Fun...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Susan and George have an obvious love for the opportunity to show off "their" Southwest Florida paradise.

From gently catching a mangrove crab for us to see up close to telling us interesting tidbits about the areas' plants, birds, fish and other creatures, they made this kayaking journey truly special. BTW, Susan returned the crab to the exact mangrove root that he came from!

The kayaking was comfortable, even for my 70-year-old mother. We were out on a relatively windy day and had no trouble negotiating the waterways.

If you have an interest in seeing a different side of Naples, this adventure is for you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanCone, Owner at Up a Creek Kayak Tours, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We really do want our guests to have a positive experience and it feels really good to know you did! Funny you noticed about the crab. You never know, he may have had business to attend to on that root: luring a female crab, defending his territory, shredding up those mangrove leaves....who knows?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
1 review
“Perfect Morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

A group of us went on the Rookery Bay trip with Susan & George and couldn't have had a better time. Susan is forever a teacher and shares so much information about our environment. Both George and Susan were very helpful to all kayakers requiring a little extra attention. A definate "must do" for any resident or visitor to Southwest Florida. I am excited to try their other trips.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanCone, Owner at Up a Creek Kayak Tours, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Mary, Thank You so much for kayaking with us and for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. Thank you also for posting your photo! I will have to pay you kayak model royalties! George and I feel so fortunate to have the opportunity to introduce nice folks like you to our beautiful coastal waters. We live in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A PADDLE TRIP THAT IS A MUST WHEN IN THE NAPLES MARCO ISLAND AREA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Susan and team have a marvelous offering of tours that provide a true look at natural and nautical Naples (there really is such a thing!) Susan is an expert guide, teacher and all round jolly good fun person. Everyone should and can experience estuary life. I certainly have, and its been transformative!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up a Creek Kayak Tours also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Up a Creek Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up a Creek Kayak Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.