We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophia's Ristorante Italiano

Sophia's Ristorante Italiano
3545 Pine Ridge Rd, Naples, FL 34109-3830
239-597-0744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sophia's Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 803 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: WAS THE OLD ROMAN OVEN MARKET PLACE
Nutley, New Jersey
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our annual visit to Sophia's was with a group of 8 people. The food was as great as always, but they seem to have a problem serving large groups as service was extremely slow. For that reason only, I had to give it a 4 instead of a 5. They still have the best veal in the Naples area, and excellent bread is another plus. The bolognese sauce is the richest and most delicious I have had in recent memory. Try a great cannoli to top off your meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    66
    39
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paul and Diane S.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Awesome food. Very authentic. Walking in the Italian atmosphere is great. Pasta is made on the premises. The owner, Jay, is usually there to greet you. The warm bread is just perfect. I have always loved the lasagna, the chicken parm is the best. My wife loves the chicken marsala. Portions are large, enough for the next day. We have never had to wait for a table because we are usually there in the off season.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

In Season you MUST have a reservation. This place is just incredible..the veal chop and veal parm is our favorite!! What a meal..that's all I can say. You must try it for yourself. The service is wonderful and now for dessert...Bananas Foster OMG you must save room for this. It's a order for 2 but they will divide it up to 4. Not many places would I rate it excellent but this is one of those places..YOU MUST GO THERE TO SEE FOR YOURSELF!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Will try again on a less hectic night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Ate dinner here on Valentines Day (night), never a good night to go out unless you are 25 and under. We had reservations but still waited maybe 20 minutes for a table. And there were people seated outside (under an awning away from the cold downpour that night). Since this was our first visit, we accepted the first table offered. A table for 2 in an ocean of tables for 6 or more on both sides. Ugh! You know the type seated to our right, one bottle of wine for 6 people and still enough to make them loud and obnoxious. Or maybe they were loud and obnoxious before they arrived. Ya think? And these were not youngsters, well maybe for Naples, they all could have been under 65, if only barely.

The place was LOUD! Loud? The runway at O hare is loud, this seemed louder. Forget conversation. The waiter took our order in "sign".

Oh, the soup and salads were good, as were our veal and chicken entrees. Service was OK, the waitstaff looked a bit harried, from the crowd and noise. No doubt. We skipped dessert to stop by an outpatient clinic to make sure our eardrums were not damaged.

Would like to return on a weekday night. Will wait for a table in the back or side. Stay away from a middle table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Huge portions and very tasty !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

During each visit to Naples, twice per year on long vacation for the last 3 years , went at least twice for dinner at Sophia's . To bad it took us a while to find this place which is somewhat out of the way and not in a typical location for such a good quality place.We love their eggplant parmig. and the special veal chop is huge as a portion but also great in flavour .Just make sure you go there when hungry because the portions of everything we tried were big .But as my wife managed to finish her plates of food on almost every visit, this means for me that the taste is good and quality great as she is allergic to certain preservatives so serves a good "taster" for quality produce used ! This is not an Italian restaurant where you eat for small prices but we rather pay a bit more for a great tasting meal which is authentic and Italian tasting for us, this even when we can compare the food here with what we eat during our yearly visits to Naples and Sorrento in Italy . As we go mostly out of the snow bird season and during weekday evenings we never had a long wait for a table and only once hada very noisy group seated next to us but that is not the manager or owners fault , rather the lack of comon sense and courtesy shown by certain guests who forget they do not dine alone and are eating out !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sophia's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophia's Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.