We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not Greek it's Albanian food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pelagos Cafe

Pelagos Cafe
4951 Tamiami Trail North, Naples, FL 34103
239-263-2996
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 793 restaurants in Naples
Price range: $5 - $28
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's not Greek it's Albanian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

A bit to salty ,service is good since the owner and her little girl were serving us. It didn't taste Greek to me but it's mor like Albanian taste ,every dishes using sweet grapes and cheap can black olive and cheap pimento instead of kalamata but it's good for around here ,don't compare Greece and Astoria

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    35
    11
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
naples
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the best greek restaurant i have ever had the pleasure to enter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Pelagos is masterful. Why you say? FLAVOR. It has a small homespun feel, and it seems like the staff is mainly comprised of extended family members which adds to the authentic experience. Unlike the trendbot chefs that populate 5th avenues' generic, over-priced establishments, the chef at pelagos is a Greek national who truly has talent! My particular favorite is the chicken souvlaki, one of the best dishes i have ever had. I also agree with the other reviewer who said they have the best pita ever. And the Van-Goghesque art on the walls adds to the richness of the dining experience...Flavor: it's no joke, and pelagos delivers.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best pita ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Good local restaurant. Wonderful service and food. Everything we have ordered has been excellent.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Neighborhood Greek Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

This is not a world class restaurant but for a small family run Greek restaurant in a mall (an all too common occurrence in Florida) it has a lot to offer. We had the lemon soup, Spanikopida, Paella, rice pudding and all were excellent. Service was pleasant and efficient and the prices were quite reasonable. Unfortunately while we were dining a guest collapsed and had to be taken away by ambulance. The staff handled it with aplomb. We had to wait about 15 minutes for our table even with a reservation-- testimony to the popularity of the place, especially with the locals. Reservations are essential during the tourist season and on weekends any time. A nice get away for the chain restaurants that dominate Naples.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Some of the best Greek food I have had outside of Greece”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Great little restaurant in strip mall. Garlicky hummus, fantastic spanikopita, and salty saginaki were our starters. Lemon egg soup could have been lemonier for me, tasted more like a creamy chicken soup, but it was still yummy! Lamb chops and pallea were some of the favorites for dinner. I had a big Greek salad with salmon, yum. It was all so good that we didn't 't make it to dessert. Cute blue and white decor. Friendly staff. Beer and wine, no liquor.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelagos Cafe also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pelagos Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelagos Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.