We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never got to find out!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Liberty

Sweet Liberty
880 12th Avenue South, Crayton Cove, Naples, FL 34102 (Old Naples)
239-793-3525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 45 Attractions in Naples
Type: Tours, Cultural
Attraction details
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never got to find out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

My boyfriend and I called to book a shelling cruise while on vacation in Naples. The staff took our name and number, and said they would see us the next day. While we were getting ready in the morning, we received a voicemail about 15 minutes before we were going to leave, stating that our cruise had been canceled- no explanation, no further information, no apology. When we called to ask why, the man who answered explained that it was the only day he could get his mechanic in to look at his idling issue. (Considering we made our reservations the NIGHT before, you think he might have already known about this conflict.) My boyfriend simply stated that he understood, and that we were disappointed. He said that we still were very interested in booking a cruise with SweetLiberty, and was there any possibility of getting a discounted rate for another day this week, since we were canceled on such short notice. The man gave a curt, one-word reply, "No."
Very disappointing- we were planning on booking several of the different cruises offered by this company, but we will DEFINITELY be taking our business elsewhere. Hopefully somewhere much more polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggiered, Owner at Sweet Liberty, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
In response to carol B's review of Sweet Liberty

It is hard to understand her complaint about service , in her own words, she was never on the boat.
Her complaint of no one being there is absolutely correct. we had canceled all passengers with reservations, because of serious storms in the area.

we take the safety and comfort of our passengers seriously.

when we take a reservation we take a a name, phone number,and a credit card to hold the spots( we are a 40 passenger boat, and do not want to over book.)She had called 2 days earlier for a reservation, and when we asked for a credit card, she said she would call back, never did In fact that happened twice, still no card #, so consequently there was no confirmed reservation.

Maybe she thought she had, as her phone message; the night of the trip was that she had prepaid and was mad we did not call to cancel her, we know why; she never had a confirmed reservation.

Now it gets interesting , when she called the next day, to complain some more, my wife explained to her, she had no reservation, as she had never called back with a credit card# to reserve the spots. In that conversation she told my wife she was never asked for a credit card.

I do not understand why then in her first message she would say she had paid,when now she says she was never asked for one.

As far as rude, we try to be very patient with people .we are in the people business and have been for 24 years, we operate with about a 70% return customer base.you can not be rude and have this kind of repeat business.

To read her complaint makes me more sad than mad, that she did not at that time or another , get to experience the pleasure of a ride on SWEET LIBERTY catamaran,that so many others enjoy and come back to again and again

Thank you
Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    16
    3
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect sunset cruise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

My husband and I went on the Sweet Liberty during our anniversary trip to Naples. Sweet Liberty is easy to locate at the dock and has a very welcoming and friendly crew. You're allowed to bring your own food and beverages, which we definitely enjoyed. The boat was quite steady in the water, and we enjoyed moving around and taking lots of photos. There was a good amount of wildlife and lots of fantastic homes along the way to the Gulf. The sunset we saw was absolutely clear and spectacular.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We went on the 3 hour Shelling Trip to Key Island. It takes approx 1 hour to get there and then you spend 1 hour on Key Island and 1 hour back. The shells were abundant, we picked up lots of Sanddollars. The whole trip was excellent, the crew were friendly and informative. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We booked a sunset cruise with this company, all five of us thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were extremely professional, the ship was well equipped, and we saw a fantastic sunset. It was also reasonably priced and we would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

If you enjoy shelling, sailing and sight-seeing, the 3 hour shelling cruise on Sweet Liberty is just great! The sights are great on the way to Keewaydin Island, which is only accessible by boat. About an hour of shelling is spent there, with very little competition for the prize shells. Mitch and Kevin are great "hosts" on the cruise, and I would highly recommend this on your next visit to the Naples area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Liberty also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweet Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Liberty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.