We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Beach Poor Parking Situation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lowdermilk Beach

Lowdermilk Beach
9th Avenue, 257 Banyan Blvd Naples, Florida 34102, Naples, FL 34102
239.213.3029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 45 Attractions in Naples
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Nice Beach Poor Parking Situation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The weekends are almost immpossible to find a parking spot. During the week is much better but the Parking meters are very difficult to figure out. This is a place where you have to keep circling the parking lot sometimes for over a half an hour until someone pulls out. Once you have a parking spot this is a very nice beach plenty of white sand and people.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    154
    12
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“There are better beaches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've spent a lot of days at Lowdermilk because a relative in Naples loves it and won't go anywhere else. That's proof that opinions surely differ: I find Lowdermilk crowded and have spent more time driving in circles waiting for a parking spot to open up than I care to remember. The pavillion is spacious and cool but the food a the concession is limited and bad -- how is it possible to serve a bad hot dog -- mine wasn't even warmed through. And, when you try to eat, the dozens of Muscovy ducks that roam the pavillion and surrounding area will try to take your food. I've seen them walk up to an unsuspecting guest and take a sandwich right out of his hand. With miles of great beaches, why settle? For my money, Clam Pass (at the end of Pine Ridge Road) or Delnor Wiggins (a bit farther up) would be the way to go.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Location to start and end a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I travel from North Naples to Lowdermilk to take long beach walks. It is a wonderful facility with bathrooms usually open by 7 or 8 a.m.,snack shop, nice deck area if you need to stay out of the sun, picnic areas and of course a beautiful beach. We generally walk south to at least the Naples Pier (about 2 miles) and then walk back on the sidewalk past all the beautiful homes. The Pier too has restrooms (always important) and a snack shop to pick up more water for the hottest days.
The last several years we have taken a picnic brunch with us on Thanksgiving. We go for a walk first and then come back to the deck area, set up a table cloth and enjoy hot tea and scones and fruit. Beautiful way to spend time in nature and relax on this special day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunset beach view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This beach is very nice, clean, and family friendly. There were plenty of people there just waiting for the sun set. Gulf beaches are not my favorite but this area is clean and safe. They have clean restrooms and handicap ramps so that wheel chairs can also see the sunset. You have to pay for parking but the rate is reasonable. It's not as crowded as the pier.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Better than many Caribbean beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

beautiful white sand; never too crowded; you can always find a parking meter within a block's walk. Just be sure to bring lots of quarters to feed the meter.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lowdermilk Beach also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lowdermilk Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lowdermilk Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.