We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful Volunteers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Conservancy of Southwest Florida

Conservancy of Southwest Florida
1495 Smith Preserve Way, Naples, FL 34102
+1 239-262-0304
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 45 Attractions in Naples
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As part of its educational mission, the 2l-acre Conservancy Nature Center has recently completed a $20 million renovation which offers abundant learning opportunities, special activities such as camps for children, and other unique programming and events and is designated as Site #69 on the "Great Florida Birding Trail". In addition to the new entrance, Smith Preserve Way, just south of the Naples Zoo off Goodlette-Frank Road, new features include the Dalton Discovery Center, von Arx Wildlife Hospital nursery viewing area, Windfeldt Shorebird Pool, Shotwell Wavering Filter Marsh, Christopher B. SmithPreserve, Eaton Conservation Hall with Jeannie Meg Smith Theater, electric boat rides up the Gordon River from the Allyn Family Dock and Lagoon, and Ferguson Learning Lab. Kayak rentals and excursions are available for a fee. No visit is complete without a visit to the Bradley Nature Store to select from nature-inspired gifts, toys, jewelry, t-shirts, hats, art and cards. Other Conservancy Nature Center features include a live sea turtle display and touch tank. Electric boat ride schedule changes seasonally and are subject to weather and tide conditions. Open Mon. - Sat., 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM. $12.95 Adults; $8.95 Ages 3-12. Offsite Adventures are offered during season (generally December - April,) the Conservancy of Southwest Florida offers various nature tours: *Good Fortune II Pontoon Boat Cruise through Rookery Bay estuary. * Free Nature walks at Brigg's Boardwalk, Clam Pass and Tigertail beach.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Helpful Volunteers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The volunteers go above and beyond at the Conservancy of Southwest Florida. Very much enjoyed the exhibits. Nature trail is well marked.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarawilson718, Director of Marketing and Communications at Conservancy of Southwest Florida, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Conservancy of Southwest Florida Nature Center. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and also appreciate the fact that you acknowledged the imporatnce of of overall mission - protecting our water, land, wildlife and future. Our website contains information about our science, education, polcy and widlife initiatives, volunteering here, as well as all details of what is currebtly availble at the Nature Center for guests to enjoy.

Please come visit us again. Our Grand Reopening Weekend Festival is scheduled for April 20-21, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    27
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Conservancy is a must do in Naples!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you love the clean air, beautiful beaches, water and endangered wildlife & birds in Southwest Florida, say "thank you" to the folks at the Conservancy! Newly renovated buildings offer exhibits and hands on experiences that adults and children both will love. There is also an hourly boat trip that leaves from their dock, very interesting! Near the Naples Zoo, so easy to combine both experiences.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Into another world.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Drive over the new bridge off Goodlette Rd into a world far away from the hustle and bustle of Naples and you are in the real Florida. With some of the renovations completed, it is definitely worth a visit to the new and exciting Dalton Discovery Center and the filter marshes to see the birdlife. Enjoy the boat rides too.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarawilson718, Director of Marketing and Communications at Conservancy of Southwest Florida, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your expereince at the Conservancy of Southwest Florida Nature Center. We hope you will visit again as we contiue to open different experiences leading up to the Grand Reopening Festival April 20-21, 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't go unless you are a member. crazy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We tried to visit this conservancy on the 19th of October they would not let us in as we were not members. We are only here for a couple of weeks!! It has been closed to non members for 2 years. Heard it was good but don't waste your time. The carpark was empty when we were there. I thought conservancy would take money from anyone for their good cause. Go to Corkscrew swamp instead.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarawilson718, Director of Marketing at Conservancy of Southwest Florida, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment with the Conservancy of Southwest Florida Nature Center. At the time of your visit we were closed to the public as many major renovations were still underway. For example, the von Arx Wildlife Hospital was not yet ready to have visitors view the nursery and glitches still existed with some of our other exhibits. We did not want visitors to have a less than ideal experience since we were not fully functional. Members visited in October for "sneak previews" so they could provide feedback on what we needed to fix before we opened to the public. We plan to open phase one to the public in early November and hope you will come visit us when you come back to the area. The plan is to celebrate our grand reopening of all visitor experiences in April 2013. After completing $20 million of renovations, this Nature Center will be a true showcase for environmental education. Please contact me if you would like to visit on your next trip to the area. Our website will always contain the latest opening information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great free boat tour of back water inlets.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

These are nice people trying to do what they can to help the environment. They save birds, animals, anything hurt, and do a better job than the humane society. This tells you something. Now for a family, go take the boat right, it is free and really wonderful. A 40 minute guided ride around inlets on solar boats...nice...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbarawilson718, Director oif Marketing at Conservancy of Southwest Florida, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for the kind words about the Conservancy of Southwest Florida Nature Center. We are undergoing $20 million in renovations and will offer a full 21-acre experience. We plan to open to the public in early November and encourage everybody to view all the latest information on our website. Admission is free for Conservancy members year-round. The Conservancy Nature Center showcases the unique southwest Florida environment, the work we do to protect it and to inspire others to take action. The Nature Center is just one facet of how we utilize the combined synergies of environmental education, policy, science and wildlife rehabilitation to protect our water, land and wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conservancy of Southwest Florida also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Conservancy of Southwest Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conservancy of Southwest Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.