We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Naples - Mercato

McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Naples - Mercato
9114 Strada Pl, Naples, FL 34108-2930
239-591-2299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Naples - Mercato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #352 of 752 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $60 - $70
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Vanderbilt Beach Road
Transit: In front of Mercato at the northeast corner of Vanderbilt Beach Road & Tamiami Trail North.
Bonita Springs, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I had lunch at this restaurant today, and we were very disappointed. We arrived before 12 noon and were seated by a very pleasant hostess. It was downhill from there. Our server was otherwise engaged with a table of three ladies and paid no attention to anyone who was being seated in her section. We could hear her talking and laughing with her "table" and waited at least 15 minutes before my husband finally waved over another server. We asked if we could be served, and the server said "Oh they have her talking over there, so I'll take your order." "They" did not have her talking...the server was doing most of the talking about herself, her school, etc. I could not believe that in a restaurant of this calibre and with these prices, we could not even get someone to take a drink order! The food was barely OK. My husband had the broiled Atlantic cod, which he liked. I had a Kobe burger which I ordered medium rare. It came burnt with just a little pink on the inside. No ice water was offered and although there were bread plates, no bread was offered either. After paying almost $50 for this lunch experience, I coudn't wait to get out of there and write this review so other non-suspecting diners would avoid this place like the plague! What a shame! The dining space is attractive and the location in the Mercato is lovely. But this particular restaurant did not live up to the expectation we had for a restaurant with such a good reputation.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    57
    30
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Clive, Iowa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining for a Bargain Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've eaten at this restaurant on three occasions, and each time I've received a very good meal for a fair price. Unlike many restaurants in the Naples area, you can order an excellent fish, pasta, or meat dinner for a not exorbitant sum.

While not inexpensive (most entrees are in the $20.00-28.00 range), this is a good choice for those who seek an excellent meal but who are not on an expense account.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We didn't mind the 50 minute wait for just two because we didn't have a reservation. We were on vacation enjoying an evening out. It was odd that many tables were open, perhaps it was a staffing issue. The reason our dining experience was so baf that at no time during our wait was it noted they ran out of several fish options. It would have been nice if they updated their blackboard. Waiting 50 minutes to find out my top and only two fish options were sold out was so disappointing. It's Naples Florida in season, this should not happen. I was not able to select a salad as a side. The customer service was horrible. We will never go back. Good luck to those that decide to go to this location.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“winning formula”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

this chain just gets it, not ostentatious like some of the chain steak houses. Honest waiter making suggestions to go with and not dependent on the matches to other selections, including wines. He alsways asked questions about diners preference before recommending, different from other places which recommend based on the waiters preference.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
“Cold food Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Waited forever for the server to take our order. Our starter eas great then we waited over an hour for the entree which arrived cold. The food came back overcooked. We complained to the manager and she said the next time we came back the service would be better. We are not going back. Also, paid the bill by credit card and had to wait half an hour to get the card back after asking three times.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Naples - Mercato also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Naples - Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCormick & Schmick's Seafood - Naples - Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.