We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Away Close to Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Edgewater Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Edgewater Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Gulf Shore Boulevard North, Naples, FL 34102 (Moorings)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 58 hotels in Naples
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Get Away Close to Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed one night in the Edgewater Beach Hotel for my girlfriends birthday. We booked a suite and were given a fantastic room, right in the middle of the tower second to top floor overlooking the beach. WOW, I have worked in hotels for years, stayed in quite a few, and can assure you that the service, beauty, and quality of the Edgewater is not to be underestimated. We were checked in by Erica, who was friendly, informative, and professional; I really cannot sing her praises enough. The bartender by the beach (forgive me for forgetting his name) was fantastic, remembering my name between the first and second day AND what I ordered from the bar. The room was impeccable, from a wrap-around 180 balcony to views of the gulf and the city, we easily had a get together of about 12 people and the large room and balcony was still very comfortable. With great distance to Mercato this is the ideal hotel for those wishing to go out and have fun, but come back to a QUIET and peaceful hotel.

Again, HUGE kudos to Erica at the front desk, impeccable service and unparalleled professionalism.

Room Tip: book at least a tower beachfront, and then when you arrive PAY THE FEE for an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    27
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
43
45
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I live in Miami and chose this Hotel/ Resort because of our previous past experience approx two years ago when we stayed at the Edge Water. We stayed in the courtyard on the first floor which is very convenient and gives you immediate access to pool and beach. I recommend these rooms especially for older guests.

The management has changed and is no longer a Waldorf chain. The staff was still very accommodating and answered all our questions. The breakfast is very pricy and a buffet is no longer available. It was good but not special. I did not take advantage of the daily cookies or the gym but did go ocean kayaking which I enjoyed tremendously.

I would have given the hotel a five star but we had a roach in our room the day of check out. I realize this is South Florida but it's unfortunate and unpleasant to see these critters. yuk!! We would definitely go back it's a very nice property.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Edgewater Beach Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay and I'm so pleased that overall your stay was enjoyable. I do apologize for the inconvenience experienced with the pest in the suite and will be sure to look into and address this issue. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fiance and I booked a two night stay, Pricing wasn't terrible, hotel was beautiful! Staff extremely accommodating. Unfortunately, first night was found ants, and a spider in our room (yuck) but they were quick to get someone to our room to move us to an available room. Little pricey with the food and drinks but what do you expect. Were from Ft Laud so it was a nice change of scenery, the beach, and atmosphere was great! Starfish and sand dollars everywhere! great great weekend, we will be back most definitely!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Edgewater Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of the Edgewater Beach Hotel. I apologize for the initial inconvenience experienced with pests in your suite but am pleased to read that the staff responded swiftly and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our family of three spent six nights at the Edgewater Beach Hotel. We thought the hotel was well maintained. The staff was very friendly and eager to assist their guests. The guests were treated to fresh fruit, fresh juice and champaign upon arrival. We were lucky to have an ocean view room on the Penthouse floor. The view of the gulf was spectacular. Our room also overlooked the pool area. Our room was very large. The family room and kitchen had beautiful hardwood floors, the kitchen was great for small meals. It had everything but a stove. The bedroom and bathroom were very large and we had plenty of room for a roll away bed. Fresh baked cookies every afternoon. Complementary bottled water in the lobby, gym, pool area, and rooms. I used the hotel gym daily, which was well equipped and open 24 hours. The location of the hotel was perfect. Close to a lot of nearby attractions, including grocery stores, restaurants and shops on 5th Avenue. The hotel provided a daily tram to 5th Avenue. The pool area provided chairs at the pool with large umbrellas for shade. They also offered free lounges on the beach. The umbrellas at the beach cost about $25. We rented a kayak for 2 for $35 an hour. The entire staff was there to please and make our visit to Naples enjoyable. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The tower, ocean view rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Edgewater Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for such a positive review of the Edgewater! I am so pleased that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed many of the complimentary amenities we have recently added such as the complimentary arrival toast, fresh baked cookies each afternoon, in room bottled water. It is so nice to read that you enjoyed the spacious suites and received excellent service from so many areas of the hotel. We thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us; our team will thoroughly enjoy reading your comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a quiet 4 days at the Edgewater Resort in June 2014... There were 5 of us so the room was convenient since it was a two bedroom suite with a large refrigerator. We ordered food the first night but the prices were a bit high for the type of food served, a few grilled cheese, hot dog and salad were a wapping $80 so we used the refrigerator to the fullest and bought all breakfast and lunch items to eat in the room for the remainder of the stay. The bar was nice, the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating to us. The kids loved both of the pools and the access to the ocean was perfect.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Edgewater Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and it's so nice to read that you had a relaxing vacation. As the only all suite hotel on the beach in Naples, our spacious rooms are perfect for a family getaway and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Though the hotel is very nice, there are certain things that they could improve to obtain more guests. For example, though the beach is beautiful, only the people that pay much extra for the 'cabanas' have a clear view of the water. Everyone else is placed behind the bulky cabanas. Sadly, they literally put all the cabanas in one straight line , meaning everyone else is sat behind them. I am a frequent traveler to beach destinations in the US and Caribbean and I have never seen that. Usually, Hotels like the Ritzs, Marriott, and Hilton place the cabanas in the back so that everyone can have a clear view of the ocean and enjoy their stay. In fact, umbrellas are usually included as part of your room rate. Here at the edgewater, you pay $20 per umbrella each day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Edgewater Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and we appreciate the feedback on how we can create a better beach experience. With regards to the beach cabanas, I will certainly review your comments with our beach staff and will correct these items so that future guests do not experience what you have. Guest feedback, positive or negative, is important to the continued success of our resort and we appreciate you taking the time to share yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. lauderdale
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Though the hotel is very nice, it is quite a rip off. Specially when it came to going to the beach. Chairs are free but everything else is charged. PLUS, when sitting in regular chairs, you have to be behind all the cabanas so you can hardly see the beach (which is the whole point of coming). On top of everything, the cabanas are the most expensive, so you'd have to pay much extra. I even have a picture of the whole front line of cabanas they set up, forcing people to pay extra.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Edgewater Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced with the beach setup. I can certainly understand your disappointment and will certainly speak with our beach staff on how we can better create an environment for all of our guests to enjoy. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edgewater Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Hotel

Address: 1901 Gulf Shore Boulevard North, Naples, FL 34102
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > Moorings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Naples
#7 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#16 Romantic Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on seven miles of pristine beach in Naples, Florida, Edgewater Beach Hotel is this upscale city's only all-suite beachfront hotel. Stylish one and two-bedroom suites include a kitchen, living/dining area, separate bedroom and bath and private balcony. This intimate, boutique style haven is the ideal setting for a family or couple's beach vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Edgewater Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Naples
Edgewater Beach Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.