We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Everglades is rich with wildlife and most of it can be seen on the tour.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double R's Fishing and Tour Co

Double R's Fishing and Tour Co
25000 Tamiami Trail East, Port of the Islands, Naples, FL 34114-9602
239-642-9779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 123 activities in Naples
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The 2.5 hour manatee viewing eco tour is the only local eco tour that starts in the heart of the Everglades, and takes only minutes to get to the 10,000 Islands and the Gulf of Mexico. The tour is located at the home of South Florida's largest herd of manatees. Viewing the eco system of the Everglades in the comfort of a covered boat is a true Everglades experience. You are likely to see manatees, alligators, dolphins, and turtles, as well as many species of rare and endangered tropical birds. Some of the tropical birds species are the Ibis, Egret, Great Blue Heron, Osprey, Pelican, and the American Bald Eagle. The tour is fully narrated by knowledgeable local Captains and their boats are stable, comfortable and USCG approved. You'll learn interesting facts on the manatee, alligator, dolphin, and tropical bird species, along with information on the Everglades.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Everglades is rich with wildlife and most of it can be seen on the tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We saw all the wild life we hoped to see plus some bonus sightings of wild life. Captain Jason shared a lifetime of knowlege of the Everglades along with interesting personal experiences. he spotted many things only a trained eye could spot. We left feeling very fulfilled.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    18
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never too old to learn to fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Friends from Pittsburgh came to Naples and invited my husband and i go on a fishing trip. It was the first time my husband and i had ever gone fishing. The Captain was extreemly patient with both of us, We saw a bobcat swim from one island to another, and his knowledge of the wild life and fish made for great day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellence in Naples!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you're ready for a great fishing experience, this is the place. They know their stuff and they know how to find the fish. I would recommend this tour business to anyone seeking a unique Florida experience.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Fishing Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I took my nephews, 13 and 11, on a half day fishing trip with Captain Jim. Both he and his wife, Virginia, who accompanied us, were wonderful teachers and very patient with the kids.We caught a lot of fish, of great variety, including several big redfish and even a tarpon. Our group unanimously decided that it was by far the best fishing trip we'd ever been on in the area, and I've been on many. I highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great day on the water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We went out fishing with Captain Jim of Double R's as part of the Ladies, Let's Go Fishing seminar weekend in the Everglades.Our group ranged from beginner to advanced levels. From the first we were made to feel at ease and comfortable. Everyone received patient attention, care and coaching. These folks are genuine; a joy to go fishing with. They really are professional, yet fun, and understand making clients happy. Everyone caught fish. In fact we caught fish until our arms ached! The rookies caught the monsters-- go figure! They felt such pride in their accomplishments, and the captain and his mate were a big part of that positive experience. We went out early and came in late. There was no 'rush back to the dock' with these guys. They really were invested in us having a good time, and were willing to go the extra mile to do just that--you could see it on their faces. The Captain consistently put us on fish, and the fish just kept coming over the transom. We caught just about everything that the Everglades fishery had to offer: sharks, tarpon, ladyfish, snapper, trout, sheepshead, black drum, pompano, snook, redfish-- even a monster stingray! On the way out to the secret fishing hole ;-), the captain even gave us a nature tour, pointing out wildlife, including manatees, ospreys and a rare heron. We came as clients and left as friends. Definitely a great value for your charter dollar. Do give this captain the opportunity to show you an excellent fishing experience. Captain Jim (and his ace mate) are definitely worth your time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double R's Fishing and Tour Co also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Double R's Fishing and Tour Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double R's Fishing and Tour Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Double R's Fishing and Tour Co to your Saves list