We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome boat trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double R's Fishing and Tour Co

Double R's Fishing and Tour Co
25000 Tamiami Trail East, Port of the Islands, Naples, FL 34114-9602
239-642-9779
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 175 Activities in Naples
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 2.5 hour manatee viewing eco tour is the only local eco tour that starts in the heart of the Everglades, and takes only minutes to get to the 10,000 Islands and the Gulf of Mexico. The tour is located at the home of South Florida's largest herd of manatees. Viewing the eco system of the Everglades in the comfort of a covered boat is a true Everglades experience. You are likely to see manatees, alligators, dolphins, and turtles, as well as many species of rare and endangered tropical birds. Some of the tropical birds species are the Ibis, Egret, Great Blue Heron, Osprey, Pelican, and the American Bald Eagle. The tour is fully narrated by knowledgeable local Captains and their boats are stable, comfortable and USCG approved. You'll learn interesting facts on the manatee, alligator, dolphin, and tropical bird species, along with information on the Everglades.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome boat trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We really had a good time on our three hour Eco Tour. Great crew with great knowledge of animals and the everglades. We could hear their caring for this beautiful place on earth in every word. We saw Manatees, many birds and dolphins. Learned a lot and loved the trip. Do it, it's worth every cent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    20
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Boston Peeps”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and brother and sister-in law had a great time with Double R"s fishing in the Everglades,we saw a Bold Eagle,Gators and lots more wild life, and also caught a few good fish.Jason was our Captain and showed us a lot of new and old fishing tricks and also made us laugh and have a great time. We will let every one who goes to that area know how great of a time they will have.This trip was a definite must see, and next time we are in the Everglades we will do it all over again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everglades City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Offshore fishing trip!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband, my 7 yr old son, and my-self had a awesome offshore fishing trip with Capt. Jimmy on the Double R's charter company. All the staff were very friendly, and helpful! The captain was wonderful with helping my little guy catch fish, and baiting his hooks. It's hard to find a charter company that is great with kids; however this one was fabulous! We caught 10 different kinds of fish, permit, redfish, Black drum, red grouper, just to name a few. We limited out on black drum, and was one short of limiting out on red fish. My husband caught a 200lb jew fish. My son caught the most fish! Our family gets the chance to fish all over the world on different charter companies; however, I would have to say this was one of the best fishing trips we have ever had in the world. It's a must see if you are visitng in our area!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Double R's Fishing and Tour Co. ref Aug14-16 trip EXCEEDED expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We are a group of reasonably experienced fishermen, mainly in the Chesapeake Bay. We had the good fortune to book an Everglade trip with Double R’s Tours (Gary Eichler) and Captain Jim Schmidt in mid-August. Like most anglers, we had been on numerous trips that had the old theme – “You should have been here last week”. Well, this was a trip that EXCEEDED all of our expectations.
Double R’s was very flexible and accommodating on our schedule. Due to plane flight, ground travel, and hotel check-in etc. , we fished the mangroves late afternoon/early evening on our first day. Thanks to the experience and instructions of Captain Jim we caught numerous fish especially the mangrove snapper and pinfish. The first day was highlighted with the catch of a 6 foot Bull shark which took over ½ hour to get in and was caught on a live-lined pinfish.
The next day, an all day trip, was incredible as Captain Jim took us to one of his “Honey spots”. We started catching fish within minutes of anchoring and didn’t stop until after we cleaned the fish. The day’s catch included 3 Goliath Groupers (largest weighed 300lb; the other two in the 70-80 lb range), one Snook, 3 Tarpon hookups, several Redfish, numerous Mackerel, couple Black Tip sharks, and several Bonnet Head Sharks, Ladyfish, Pompano, Jacks, and numerous pinfish.
Our day ended when after cleaning the fish at the dock and an encounter with Sally (a gator) , a 5 foot tarpon hit one our rods and tail-walked on the water about 50 feet from the boat. Unfortunately, it wrapped the line around a piling and broke the line, but was a very fitting end to a great day.
Unfortunately, on our last day we could only fish for a brief period due to our travel itinerary but did manage to catch one more species and several snappers.
We appreciated the personable Captain Jim’s knowledge of the area (fishing spots and types, birds,etc) , instructions, and stories. Also one of our members is handicapped and needed extra help. Capt. Jim kept his eye out and made sure that he received an equal opportunity for all the fish - in fact he was the top mangrove fisherman.
All toll, we hooked up with 18 different species; saw numerous birds – blue/green herons, eagles, oprey, Roseate spoonbills as well as manatees, rolling and jumping tarpon, sea turtles. Three of us caught the largest fish of our lives - FANTASTIC!!
Again many thanks for a fishing trip of a life time in one of most beautiful fishing regions in the world.

Ed, Tom, Don, Wayne

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great time with Captain Jim!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Two friends and I bought a groupon to do some shark fishing with Double R's. We had a great time, caught about 10-12 sharks of a couple different species. Also caught about 10 other species of fish. Captain Jim was a great. Knew the waters and the fish like the back of his hand. We were all really impressed. We did the 4.5 hour offshore charter. The Captain had some beverages for us and filleted our catch for us! We are all three novice fishermen and Captain Jim helped us learn as well as taking great care of us. We will be back soon!! Thanks!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeIke, Owner at Double R's Fishing and Tour Co, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We are so happy that we were able to help to create a memory for you and your two boys. Your patience and understanding was paramount in making this trip the positive experience that it was. All of us at Double R's pride ourselves on customer satisfaction and work hard to overcome any obstacles that may arise during the process. Look forward to seeing you again and thanks for the kind words. Gary and Ellen Eichler and Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double R's Fishing and Tour Co also viewed

 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Double R's Fishing and Tour Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double R's Fishing and Tour Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.