We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary

Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary
375 Sanctuary Road West, Naples, FL 34120
239-348-9151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 103 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife, Getting married, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 11,000-acre wetland preserve contains a diversity of wildlife, including birds, alligators, whitetail deer and Florida black bears.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love love love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My family loves nature walks and this is one of our favorite spots. This was our 3rd visit here and each time we find something new. We've seen owls, many other birds, gators, bugs - all things my boys love to see. Last visit we saw the cutest baby gators, we didnt realize how small they can be. The staff is wonderful and very knowledgeable, its great when we see them out on our walk to learn more about our surroundings. In the summers it can be quite hot but with the cape from the tree's its enjoyable in the early morning hours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    294
    76
    19
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Audubon, Corkscrew Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This preserve is a beautiful way to see what the interior of Florida was like before all the golf courses and malls were built. It is a well maintained boardwalk that takes you through a bald cypress forest that is habitat to many animals and bird species, and spotting them is a treat. This is not a zoo, however, so you are not guaranteed a minimum number of sightings. If you enjoy a natural setting, and appreciate a good walk, it is a welcome temporary escape from the usual Florida activities. Animals and birds are most active in the early morning and late afternoon/evening. During the summer months, these are also the times when it will suit most human visitors, due to midday heat. In the winter months, it's beautiful all day, and less rain!
The welcome center is state of the art, lots of interpretive information and helpful guides to answer your questions. Not to mention, an oasis of air conditioning, in case your walk takes place in the warmer months.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The sanctuary is a hidden jewel of nature. It preserves many features of natural Florida including wetlands, wood hammocks and the animal life dependent on these features. Although marked by highway signs, there is very little promotion of this hidden jewel.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is well laid out and very interesting if you are into viewing Birds, Snakes, and other types of small wildlife. It only a 15 to 20 minute drive out East on Immoaklee Road to Sanctuary Road.

You can have a guided tour or walk it at your own pace and enjoy all the more.
The cost is also reasonable. You won't be aorry.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice walk in the Everglades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Nicely maintained boardwalk. Good experience viewing numerous species of birds. Easy walk. Audobon society does a nice job. Good introduction to Florida wildlife.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary also viewed

Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Naples, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.