We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Blast From The Past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naples
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Inn
Save Saved
You added Lighthouse Inn to your Saves list
9140 Gulf Shore Dr., Naples, FL 34108 (North Naples)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Naples B&B and Inns
Coral Gables, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Blast From The Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Lighthouse Inn, Naples is a blast of the past. They still use air wall units, actual keys with old time diamond shape key chains, they give you soap, yes the old style little bars of soap.
It was agreat experience, nothing fancy, very plain, very clean, good beds, ok pool. They even have a BBQ that you can use. The indoor kitchen is clean, the oven is clean, the Firgirator clean, bathroom clean.
The property manager is very pleasant, parking is very good.
My wife and I were very pleased and would recommend to any friend.

Room Tip: I asked for the a room with kitchen and Refrigirator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had never stayed at this hotel before but it was higghly recommneded by my family. What a delight to find a clean, well kept property so close to the beach at such a good rate. Everything is close by and pool on hte property is well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We read the reviews before we stayed here and knew it was going to be old fashioned so that didn't bother us but as for it being clean...there was hair in the fridge, the bed sheets on the one bed had sand on them and the glass table looked like it had food stuck to it from the 1960s, but it was the cheapest lodging in Naples so I suppose you get what you pay for...very disappointed

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We picked this place from our discount voucher booklet based on location (very near the beach) and on price. We had read phrases like "old Florida style" and "hidden gem" and feared they might be euphemisms for something less than perfect. One look told us we we wrong. For us, this motel was excellent and the highlight of our holiday -we extended an intended 2-night stay to 3.
Some reviewers have called the place dated, but we would say it is utterly charming. Only steps from the wonderful Vanderbilt Beach, and with Buzz's Lighthouse Restaurant attached, it was a delight to stay here. The other guests during our stay were exceptionally friendly - something about the atmosphere perhaps.
If there has to be a criticism, the towels, though plentiful, were near the end of their useful life.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the excellent swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We don’t recommend this place. Since it was peak season we reserved a month ahead. We received a detailed receipt as confirmation, but when we arrived, we received a free downgrade (no kitchen). When we complained we were told to see the owner. The owner said it was a clerical error and if we didn’t like it we could go elsewhere and, by the way, since it is noon, there will be a late departure fee of $35. Memorable. To be fair the property manager allowed us to use the BBQ at no extra charge, so we did not have to throw away all the food we had brought expecting the kitchen we had been promised. The property is quite old, but kept in good condition, the interior of the units are clean and neat.
Beach access is just across a busy street, the beach being very nice. While the sunset is blocked by huge upscale condo apartments, once on the beach the sunsets are really great. There are restaurants nearby and a supermarket a mile away.
If you should choose to stay here, we advise -caveat emptor- buyer beware.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a little gem of motel stuck in it own time warp, location was perfect right on the beach, no problem parking, room was dated but was clean and had all that was needed.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Overall a pleasent experience looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Everything was and is wonderful, it is across the street from the Gulf. And those comments about sand...heck it is florida.....sand is everywhere, and the housekeep does a great job at trying to clean up all the sand. It is older, and a little dated but you know what! WE ONLY PAID 85 PER NIGHT , I would say to others you want fancy 2011 decore go to the 1st place we checked about $185 A NIGHT! HELL NO, I AINT PAYIN FOR A ROOM THAT I PLAN ON ONLY SLEEPIN IN . WHEN MY EYES ARE CLOSED I DONT SEE THE DATED DECORE.
If your on a budget and have kids this is the place to stay. Mom and Dad can walk the kids to the beach in 3 minutes, when Mom and Dad get back they can grab a beer at the Buzz Lighthouse Resturant. Go up to vanderbilt and 41 to the Publix and get your breakfast grocerys and save even a little more money, eat at least one meal in you little apartment, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Inn

Address: 9140 Gulf Shore Dr., Naples, FL 34108
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Naples > North Naples
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Hotel Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.