We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food in a relaxed, inviting environment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Huntsman

The Huntsman
Station Road, Dinas Powys CF64 4DE , Wales
029 2051 4900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Dinas Powys
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a relaxed, inviting environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

A superb night out. The food was fantastic, the atmosphere was relaxing and comfortable and the service was excellent. I can't fault it and we'll certainly be returning! On an aside, Bay Cabs, who took us there and back from my Mother's house in Penarth, are the most reliable and friendly service I've come across.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food poor hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here with 10 friends for our annual Christmas meal. The food was excellent nice setting, however we were told to keep the noise down, we were enjoying ourselves and it a sham this nearly spoilt the evening. After our meal we left immediately and had a good time in the star pub next door. Wont be going back..

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding relaxed homely dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The food and service were amazing and for a special occasion this is the restaurant I will choose again and again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A FANTASTIC DINING experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Thankyou Peter and Hilary for an unforgetable dining experience we enjoyed at The Huntsman in October with your phenominal hospitality and atmosphere that made us feel at home with friends.
Booking was easy because you pick up calls personally on your mobile outside open hours.

I had delicious baked salmon, fillet steak with bearnaise sauce and chocolate moose and Christine also tried the soup and creme brulee. All your food was excellent and of the highest quality as was presentation and service. We would recommend The Huntsman to a couple or a group wanting a totally enjoyable dining experience in a relaxed, friendly, uncomplicated atmosphere with friendly attentive hosts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Always food to die for! Amazing food complimented by amazing wine & the service is second to none! Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Huntsman also viewed

Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
Dinas Powys, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to The Huntsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Huntsman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.