We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HISTORIC INN WORTH A STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Inn to your Saves list
Lakeside Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. Alexander St., Mount Dora, FL 32757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“HISTORIC INN WORTH A STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed two nights at the Lakeside Inn. This was a “living social” offer. $197.00 for two nights (Sunday thru Thursday) in a “Florida” room. Included was breakfast for two each day and one bottle of wine upon arrival. I found out later at checkout that the offer did not include tax of $13.50 per night. Free parking.

The “Florida” room was as expected. In a very old building, in a room with old fixtures. The floors creak! Think “grandma’s” 1905 house, but with TV and air conditioning. The main inn is 130 years old and interesting. We enjoyed our breakfast each morning on the veranda. There are 87 rooms in a total of 4 buildings. There is a lakefront dock. Plenty of chairs to relax in at lakefront. There is a 2 hour pontoon tour of the lake three times a day. We didn’t partake but were told about $30.00 per person. There is a seaplane too at $50.00 per person for a short flight over the lake. Again, didn’t partake.

The staff are great. Especially Hermanda. If you love elegant, modern, wifi connected rooms, don’t go here. This is for those who love a little bit of history and enjoy or want to experience what used to be. The room was comfortable and clean, nothing more. We couldn’t connect with wifi except in the main hotel building. The included breakfast was wonderful. However, included or not, the prices are reasonable. You receive a voucher for each day at check in. You can eat in the restaurant dining area or in the bar area or on the veranda. We chose the veranda. We were seated and given the standard menu. In the menu you will see a “blocked” area. There is NO charge as long as you order one of the listed items within the square. They have eggs, bacon, home fries and a biscuit or pancakes (three huge) or biscuits and gravy or two or three other choices. Now if you order anything outside the “box” you get a flat $16.00 credit for the voucher on your total bill and pay the remaining. We stayed within the box ordering one of the items listed. Tablecloths and cloth napkins served pretty much as it must have been 130 years ago. The waiter we had both days was excellent. You don’t leave hungry. After breakfast you get the bill with the total amount crossed out with 0 due. (tip not included). We left 20% of the total.

There is a large pool and the area is nicely landscaped. Huge old oaks. A beautiful city park within a short walk (¼ mile) with a public boat launch and a large lakefront boardwalk worth walking.
.
The hotel required a credit card as well as the voucher. We made reservations and presented the “social living” voucher upon check-in. Staff will give you the wine voucher and breakfast vouchers at check in. We exchanged the wine voucher for a bottle of wine at the bar inside the hotel next to the check in desk. She even opened it and gave us two glasses. We enjoyed the wine at lakefront, watching a beautiful sunset.

They put the final bill under your room door which made it really convenient for check out. Just leave the key in the room and go.

We choose a Sunday-Monday stay as there is a huge indoor/outdoor flea market on the weekends. It is really nice and we had fun. Picked up some flowers for our room on Sunday. Also there is a huge indoor antique mall right next to the flea market. About three or four miles from the hotel on the main road US441. Open on the weekends only.

The Lakeside Inn is right downtown Mt. Dora, has a bar and restaurant with reasonable prices and within a short walking distance of a dozen other restaurants. Many with outdoor seating. Lots of shops to explore as well.

Was it worth it? We say yes. It was a nice experience. Now the Hampton Inn is cheaper and rated much higher on trip advisor and has all the modern conveniences, but it is not a 130 year old hotel (oldest in Florida) or lakefront or downtown. If you are a baby boomer you will be pleased. If you are Generation x there is a 50-50 chance you will enjoy. If a Millennial you probably won’t be happy with the Lakeside Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    175
    79
    88
    113
See reviews for
115
275
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This old hotel was perfect. The romatic setting is near the lake and is within walking distance of dozens of restaurants and shops. We enjoyed every minute of our stay in this cute little town and in this neat old hotel. Expect a very clean but old setting.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We Three Sisters decided to Meet in Florida at the Lakeside Inn in Mt. Dora and enjoy each other's company since we have not been together for over 6 years. Since I am the Middle Sister my Opinion counts the most or maybe it is due to the fact I live in Tavares, Florida so close to our destination. We arrived on a very busy Sunday, second day of the Art and Craft event which has made Mt. Dora a very famous place. My older Sister made all the arrangements from England where she lives with her Husband. We had two rooms reserved and they were ready on time of arrival. A sweet gentleman named Tom not "Sir" as we called him helped us with our heavy suitcases and water (some snacks too sorry Tom). No elevators no problem only two floors. We enjoyed every moment of our stay due to the courtesy of all the employees, restaurant waiters and waitresses, and workers around the grounds. The food was excellent in the lounge/restaurant with the fireplace on in the lobby and lounge. Entertainment nightly. But, the view every night of the sunset on the front porch rockers, by the water on the dock, or by the pool facing the Lake, made this stay magical for we three Sisters. Now, when I go to Mt. Dora to shop or eat, I will look over toward the Lakeside Inn and think to myself, wow, how lucky to have a younger Sister and an older Sister and to have our wonderful memories with me right in the Middle of it all.

Room Tip: Just ask about each room and what is provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just wanted to make a special comment, we went to the Beauclaire restaurant on Sunday during the spring festival, it was very busy the chef Curtis made a special Benedict eggs delicious!!
Thank you Again
Nathalie

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

The staff is wonderful. The lobby, bar and restaurant are good, but the rooms are a dump!! Lakeside Inn promotes itself as a quaint, historic inn. Believe me the rooms aren't quaint, they are just old. They said many of their rooms are renovated. I had a "renovated room" and I don't think fresh paint and new-ish indoor plumbing is a renovation. And I have to wonder where they got the room furniture, K-Mart, Walmart, garage sale, or cast offs from someone's front yard? The bathroom has a modern toilet and a "new" pedestal sink but the bathtub was old and stained with old, rusted 70's fixtures which marginally work and a broken stopper so there was no way to fill the tub. I went in for a glass of wine at the bar on a Thursday night and found that it had closed at 8:00 p.m. And the advertised complimentary wi-fi in my room was frustratingly slow. It was just about as fast as dial-up internet from the 1980's. My room was $179 per night. I left mid-stay and I won't be back!!! It's pathetic.......

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

From my days as a callow college student coming to FL during break, through Disney trips with my young daughters, I have detested Florida...the disregard for history, the profit-driven "attractions", the madness of Miami traffic. Then, on the invitation of a friend, driven mostly by a desire to escape this most recent endlessly frigid winter, I flew to Tampa (ugh) and was transported to the Lakeside Inn and Mt Dora. A return to what Florida must have been: veranda with rocking chairs, a sweep of lawn and gardens down to the lake (with alligators!), strolls to the adjacent small town of Mr Dora with blocks of restored buildings of infinite designs from the early 20th century, enough restaurants to keep life interesting, dinners at the Inn where live music seemed to happen every night.

The historic Inn is being restored by owners who pursue this mission, and who have created a community which draws in both tourists and townspeople to events scheduled throughout the year. I just missed an art festival that took place in town and at the Inn. Five days in the serenity and warmth of the Lakeside Inn sent me back with courage to face the rest of the ice sheet here in the Northeast. I, who belittle Snow Birds, am plotting my return next winter.

Room Tip: Don't miss the sunset over Lake Dora.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed at The Lakeside Inn in Mt. Dora, Florida. It is the oldest inn in the state of Florida, and President Cleveland and his wife stayed there after he retired from office. The hotel is quaint and charming, very clean, beautiful view of Lake Dora and a delightful place to stay. Excellent dining room as well. I highly recommend the scenic cruise on the lake with the guided tour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 100 N. Alexander St., Mount Dora, FL 32757
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Hotwire so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.