We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Inn to your Saves list
Lakeside Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. Alexander St., Mount Dora, FL 32757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Beverly Hills, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peace and Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was my third year staying at the Lakeside Inn in Mt Dora for the fall Craft Fest the end of October. The hotel staff (especially Sabrina Law) were exceptional and make our stays wonderful. So very knowledgeable and helpfull and make us feel like family the entire time that your there. The Inn is located in the perfect spot for walking throughout the town to all the shops, restaurants and wine shops. What a wonderful and relaxing view of the lake on the Inns grounds. Thank you again for the funny times that you wonderfull memories that you have made for us. Char Kimpel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    175
    79
    88
    113
See reviews for
115
275
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Old quaint hotel in a great setting in the downtown historical section across from a pretty lake. The furnishing were a tad sparse in the room. The room was good sized with a large walk-in closet and large bathroom. That said, it needed another nightstand at least. The furnishings were "antiquey", but not necessarily antiques. The one nightstand and the one small wicker corner shelf in the bathroom needed some repair. The room was clean and the bed fairly comfortable. If the room was better appointed it would have been a better than pleasant stay. It could been a "tell your friends and neighbors" stay.
We stayed during one of their busiest weekends of the year...the October Craft Show. Because of this, breakfast and lunch were buffets in their restaurants. This was too bad as I had been looking forward to their breakfast menu.
Their staff were all fantastic...in particular, the night maintenance man Tommy, and a very sweet UCF sophomore in the Beauclerc dining room (I'm sorry that I forgot her name, but she is a Hospitality major with fair skin and brown hair). Everyone greeted you and was friendly.
I give the room a three, but the staff deserve a five. But the room was too much to overcome to rate it an average of four...three it is

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I had a three day stay at the Lakeside Inn. It was a quint hotel. Staff was very good in our eyes. The grounds and lake view was beautiful.
We had a great time at the Inn's lounge, especially on Irish night. The bartender, Janet was great and funny, as were the young men assisting the lounge area too. We would return to Lakeside in the future.
Only problems were the flying bugs as you enter your hallway to go to our rooms. Need to spray the area. The street contruction was also a pain but that of course was no fault of the Inn. What was great was there was no parking fees anywhere.
Our room had that historic feeling. It was clean and comfortable to sleep.
We recommend the Lakeside Inn to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently visited this hotel with another couple and stayed 3 nights. This is our second trip and their 8th. The resort is charming and beautiful. It is the most relaxing escape we have ever experienced. The renovations are coming along very well. We stayed in the Gables part of the hotel and our room was great! The staff are incredibly accommodating and friendly. The only issue we had was with the restaurant staff. The hotel was sold out and the restaurant was understaffed and they seemed to lack experience. I am in the travel industry and I understand that a sold out situation is difficult to handle, but the staff was overwhelmed. Other than that, I highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to our next yearly visit. By the way, Sabrina...you were right about the room 7118...LOL

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lakeside Inn is an ancient hotel, founded in the the 1880s. It is situated right on a lake and has amazing views. I love the history and the feel of the place. You can sit on the porch in one of the 15 rocking chairs with a drink from the bar watching the egrets on the lawn and enjoying the sunset over the lake. Our room was on the end of the building with huge bay windows with lake views. The relaxed ambience recalls earlier days when you spent time talking to people instead of texting them. You would not call this a 5 star chain hotel and don't go there if you want modern. Yes there are things that need seeing to, but so would you if you were over 120 years old! The hotel is in the process of extensive renovation and I was able to see the new rooms, which are splendid and beautifully kitted out. The new owners were on site the entire time during our 2 day stay and they and their work crews never stopped.
There are four major buildings, including the oldest section which has a restaurant, bar and large hall with a baby grand piano. There is also a large pool, which is not heated but very clean and inviting. (By the way, they also do weddings) Being in the middle of the town means you park your car and then walk to the charming little shops. It is very easy to spend 2 days, but three is better. The staff is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them. All in all a wonderful getaway for me and my sister visiting from California. She loved it, too.

Room Tip: Get a room at the lake end of the buildings or one with a balcony. It is fun to stay in Calvin Cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, FL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Historic should not be an excuse for lack of cleanliness or maintenance. The room was run down, and the had a musty smell of dampness. There was a portable LG a/c unit in the room next to the bed connected to a silver exhaust duct that goes to the window, that is patched to keep it from falling out. Neither the room nor the hotel is really handicap accessible, We had to collapse the wheelchair to get it through the handicap door from the ramp that is built in the rear of the building because the second door was stuck closed. Most of the area requires lifting the wheelchair over the ramps that are no where flush with the pavement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is known as the oldest operational hotel in Florida. Calvin Coolidge stayed at this hotel in 1930. We stayed in the suite that he and his wife stayed in. The grounds are beautiful as well as the buildings and the view of the lake. Keep in mind that this is a really old hotel. The building that we stayed in had a strong "old" odor. It needs some updating and I understand that the new owners have been doing some updates. The carpet and tub needs replacing in the building and room we were in. The main house lobby is beautiful. The staff here were outstanding and went above and beyond to help us in any way they could. The breakfast in their restaurant was very good. The breakfast potatoes were outstanding. The hotel location is great for walking around town or just enjoying the lake and pool. There is a nice boat tour that boards in front of the hotel's pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 100 N. Alexander St., Mount Dora, FL 32757
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Hotwire so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.