We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step into the gentle past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeside Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lakeside Inn to your Saves list
Lakeside Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 N. Alexander St., Mount Dora, FL 32757   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Step into the gentle past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you appreciate old world Florida you will enjoy your stay at the Historic Lakeside Inn, Mount Dora, Florida. The Inn is comprised of several buildings maintained true to the 1833 construction period. Walk through downtown Mount Dora during the day and sit in a rocking chair or on the dock enjoying the sunset. A very peaceful, quaint experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    161
    64
    79
    106
See reviews for
110
245
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This beautiful old inn sits on Lake Dora. Sunsets are amazing sitting in one of their rocking chairs on the rambling front porch with a glass of wine. You can dine on the porch as well. Theres a variety of accomodations including grand apartments located in two separate buildings on the lake as well. A built in pool by the lake. Seaplane rides are available at the dock in front of the Inn! We arranged for a hot air balloon ride and were picked up at the Inn and transported to the balloon staging site. Lakeside Inn has a great bar menu and live jazz in addition to the Beauclaire Room for fine dining and an upgraded menu. The Inn is in the heart of Mt. Dora which is a quaint, charming old town with great restaurants and antique stores and galleries and entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I travel to the Lakeside Inn as often as we can. Just spent four nights there the past weekend. This historic hotel, now celebrating 130 years, is in a charming lakeside setting (truth in advertising), within walking distance of everything in downtown Mt. Dora. That includes restaurants, art galleries, boutiques, etc. The new owner is refurbishing the rooms and buildings, while keeping true to the spirit of the inn. It is so relaxing to sit in the rocking chairs on the front veranda of the main building and gaze out over the sloping lawn down to the lake. You can also have breakfast on the veranda. If you eat in the main dining room, try to sit by the windows, where you can enjoy watching the birds in the lovely gardens. The Tremain Room has entertainment on weekends. We really enjoyed the piano player and the jazz trio. The staff is wonderful and they all make you feel like the most treasured guests. And I just have to mention the terrific appetizers. The night we arrived we had the Lobster Strudel--flaky pastry wrapped around a filling of lobster, gorgonzola and pears topped with a balsamic reduction sauce--and Brie en Croute with strawberry sauce (see picture below). Also enjoyed the rest of the meals, just had to give these items special mention. There's always something going on around the Inn. It was hard to drag ourselves away, but we did manage it to take advantage of two really accomplished local theatres, the Ice House in Mt. Dora and the Bay Street Players in Eustis. If you're not into the McMotel experience, we highly recommend the Lakeside Inn, which harkens back to an earlier, more graceful era. (My rating on the sleep quality may be based on the fact that I ALWAYS have sleep issues. That's why we were happy to have the suite, so I could be reading in the other room when I couldn't sleep. My husband seemed to sleep well.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My mom, sister and I just had a wonderful weekend stay at the Lakeside Inn. I have spent several weekends here over the years. This was their 130th celebration. Yes, the Inn is old, and yes in need of some maintenence but then all old buildings do. This is an historical Inn and am so pleased there are people in this world dedicated to preserve them. The owners are taking one room at a time and doing the needed repairs and I am without a doubt positive they will do a beautiful job. But that didn't hinder our time there. Everyone was so nice. We had breakfast,(Eggs Benedict) lunch(wonderful salad with grilled shrimp) and dinner(goat cheese and fig jam quesadillas and lobster rolls made of phyllo, cheese and chunks of lobster) on the front porch enjoying the sunset that evening. We did go into town and enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Goblin Market. Another must when in town is the Sonnentag Theater at the Ice House.Their plays are fabulous!! We saw The Secret Garden. A treat for only $20.00. Mt. Dora is a fun place to relax, take a stroll through the specialty shops and have a wonderful meal at one of the many eating spots.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Checked in 4/11 got woken up at 4 am with a bunch of mosquitos in the room. Room also had a weird smell. My stay included a $50 meal credit but dining room was closed-had to eat in the tavern. I was never told the dining room would be closed during my stay. I would never stay here again or recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricLakesideInn, Front Office Manager at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
It was indeed unfortunate that a number of lake shore insects, commonly know as blind mosquitoes, did enter the room. These particular insects are occassionally experienced in the warmer months and are about the size of a regular mosquito. They are attracted to light, however they do not bite. We had not had any previous problems of them entering this particular room, nor have we had any problems since. The only way we could determine that they may have entered was through a small gap between the wood framing of the double hung bathroom window. The attraction may have been a light left on in the bathroom. We apologized profusely and upgraded the guest to another room and checked with her throughout the remainder of her stay to ensure she was comfortable and there were no additional issues.

The Beauclaire was closed for a private dinner function one evening. Many of those attending the function were also guests of the Inn. Those guests that were not attending were offered the choice of dining in Tremain's Tavern or dining outdoors on the Verandah. Both locations offer lake views and the the same menu selections served in the main dining room (The Beauclaire). Tremain's Tavern was selected and our pianist, server and manager worked to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable evening... and were told by the guest that those efforts had been successful.

We certainly acknowledge that issues did arise during this visit, which we attempted to rectify in an expedient and positive manner. It was our understanding upon her departure that we had successfully turned things around, so we are naturally disappointed to read that so little about her stay here at the Inn was enjoyable.

Lakeside Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I wish I could use words like "quaint" or "old world charm" however that would be misleading! Let me start with the good, the staff was friendly and helpful. Now for the bad news, it is old but not charming, more like dilapitated. The whole place smells musty and the carpet on the floor in the hallway covers what I can only describe as spongy warped flooring. The door to our room had door knobs but they were not usable, you have to use a dead bolt key to open and close the door. The room itself was a bad attempt at B&B country charm. We had a king suite, the room was large but the carpet was stained, the bathroom was tired and falling apart, ceiling had the plaster falling off, the floor by the toilet was nasty, and the shower was a drip not a spray. The bed was okay, but the musty smell ws so bad I got up in the middle of the night and put a little perfume under my nose! Breakfast was included in our room price ($157 with all taxes & resort fees) in the dining room, it too was in need of lots of TLC! Ceiling crumbling and water stained, the staff again was friendly but the food was mediocre at best. I so wanted to love this place but the bottom line for the Lakeside Inn: Shabby, dilapitated and just not worth any price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricLakesideInn, Front Office Manager at Lakeside Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We appreciate the candid comments and are well aware that there are still many issues that need to be addressed. Anyone that reads reviews about the Inn will hopefully understand and appreciate that since the change in ownership a little over two years ago, there has been extensive work to restore the five buildings, 87 guest rooms and suites, 6,000 square feet of function space, five acres of landscaped grounds, the pool, lake front, docks...etc.. A tremendous amount has been accomplished, but not everything is yet done. This room pictured simply has not yet been renovated... but will be soon. Work on the corridor leading to this room is already underway. The issue with the floor has to do with a plumbing access panel, beneath the carpeting, that runs the length of the hallway. Structurally it is fine, however years ago someone simply did a poor carpentry job. We hope to improve this condition. While we respect the fact that the pictures posted were selected to help make a particular point, it would have been nice had some of the newly renovated areas been pictured as well.

We certainly do regret whenever there is disappointment and truly do appreciate the patience and support so many guests have shown as we work to restore this last remaining Victorian Era hotel, built here in the Lakes and Hills Region of Central Florida - nearly 45 years before such notable hotels as The Breakers and the Don CeSar. Years of neglect have undoubtedly taken a toll, but we are very confident in our progress to restore and revitalize this landmark property. The Inn is celebrating its 130th Anniversary this year and is now the oldest continuously operated hotel in the State of Florida. We invite everyone to come see and experience this unique and historic property. We will continue to work to ensure that each and every detail is improved upon.


Lakeside Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Was a fab location lots of wildlife fantastic little place and will definately be staying there again in the future even the kids loved it rooms was basic in the gables but its only somewhere to sleep price was reasonable and breakfast for 2 was included

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Address: 100 N. Alexander St., Mount Dora, FL 32757
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lakeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Mount Dora
Lakeside Mount Dora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.