We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining Alfresco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cecile's French Corner

Cecile's French Corner
237 W 4th Ave Ste 1, Mount Dora, FL 32757
(352) 383-7100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 91 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Mount Dora, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dining Alfresco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

A small cafe style restaurant in a courtyard in downtown Mount Dora. Crepes where very good and portions where large . Service was moderate with one person serving all the tables.
Our only complaint was people where smoking at one of the tables and the smoke made for a less then perfect experience. Prices where reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    39
    16
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Taking a holiday in the USA plays havoc with the average UK digestion system and although I like the food it can be a little overpowering on occasions. The French Corner was a much needed respite. I had a quiche and salad which I could highly recommend, I enjoyed it so much that I thought I could treat my self to a mango mousse for dessert and it was to excellent. Good coffee and good service rounded off the visit. There is no doubt I will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The French onion soup is worth getting and the Brie with bread and fruit is a great way to start your meal. The service could have been a bit better (checking if our meal was alright or if the tea needed to be refilled). I wish our waiter would have told us about the specials before we ordered. As it was, we found out about the specials when another waiter to the table next to us. No complaints about the food. Nice outside dining.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We went here as the menu was appealing and the outdoor seating looked very pleasant. I had a sandwich and my parents had quiche (different types) all three lunches were fantastic and the mango and passion fruit cake was to die for. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Pros: Went to this eatery for the first time and was pleasantly surprised by the delicious smoked salmon quiche and chicken and broccoli crepe. 'Pierre' was a fun waiter and made great coffee (dry cappuccino)
Cons: The lady waiting on that day was unfriendly even when I took the trouble to go inside the restaurant and compliment her on the food! A smile would have been nice.
The outside eating are ( where we sat) could do with a thorough clean. The fan above our table was filthy, the glass tops to the wicker tables were extremely shabby and the tables underneath needed a complete brushing and dusting and please renew the chair cushions. I didn't even like sitting on them.
I would return again

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecile's French Corner also viewed

Mount Dora, Central Florida
Mount Dora, Central Florida
 
Mount Dora, Central Florida
Mount Dora, Central Florida
 

Been to Cecile's French Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecile's French Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.