We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Nice But....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cecile's French Corner

Cecile's French Corner
237 W 4th Ave Ste 1, Mount Dora, FL 32757
(352) 383-7100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 92 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Nice But....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It was a nice pleasant place hidden down a side street in Mount Dora. We never would have found it unless someone told us about it. I had a quiche and my wife had a sandwich (vegetarian). The portions were a bit on the small side but tasty. My wife had to ask for mayonnaise since there wasn't any on the sandwich. Otherwise it was a pleasant experience. I suppose I might return but it was a bit pricey. Funny thing though you have to go across the street for the rest rooms.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    39
    16
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“DEEEELICIOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Their food is fresh, and the service is fun.... Dog friendly..We love to take our Boxer wherever we go. He was given a bowl of water as soon as we sat down. This makes a dining experience soooo relaxing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good discovery - an excellent restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Found by chance on visiting Mt. Dora.

The choice and quality of the food was excellent as was the service.

Be warned - if choosing a cheese platter - it is huge - comes with a salad and fresh fruit.

Such good value

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bon Appetit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Loved eating outside. I had the chicken and mushroom with cream sauce crepe which was delicious. A cup of the brie and mushroom soup, also good and of course the banana, walnut and chocolate crepe. YUMO!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So bad, we just had to laugh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

It was a rather cool day, so we choose to sit inside. The waiter, an elderly man that looked pale and his demeanor was bored, came over to us. We greeted him in French, and he muttered that the only French he knew was in high school about "a hundred years ago". (I believe him.). I won't labor on and on, but it went downhill from then on. The service was terrible (waited over an hour before we were served a simple salad and crepe), he was incredibly rude, seemed to be utterly disgusted that we were bothering him. The other waitress was the only one actually hustling about doing her work, but seemed also to be mad and disgusted. And we can't forget listening to all the arguing the was coming from the kitchen. The food was okay, but certainly not worth the agony.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cecile's French Corner also viewed

Mount Dora, Central Florida
Mount Dora, Central Florida
 
Mount Dora, Central Florida
Mount Dora, Central Florida
 

Been to Cecile's French Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cecile's French Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.