We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous facility, Fantastic hosts, food you could die for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Dora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Grandview Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
442 East 3rd Ave., Mount Dora, FL 32757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
irvine, ca
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous facility, Fantastic hosts, food you could die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have known Patti for 30 years and she has asked me repeatedly to come visit them when I get to Orlando. I usually end up in the Ft. Lauderdale area so I decided to fly to Orlando and leave from Ft. Lauderdale. Like all of the reviews, the Grandview Bed and Breakfast is rated Number 1 and there is no doubt as to why. Patti is the perfect host and Gordie is a superb chef. Having stayed in a couple of B&B, I have never experienced the breakfasts that Gordie prepared. Unbelievable! The facilities are beautiful and the other guests I met during this weekend are the nicest people. The afternoon includes various fruit, cheese and vegetables. I will definitely be back. The only negative thing is I'll never be satisfied with another B&B again!!!!!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
189
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The owners of The Grandview B&B should teach other Bed & Breakfast owners how it's done properly. We enjoyed three nights and it just wasn't long enough. Honestly, I cannot say anything that has not already been said. Just go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAPLES, FLORIDA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not to be missed. If you are traveling to Mt Dora, FL, you SHOULD stay here! The location of the B&B is perfect in reference to the local of the town and lake. Park your car and walk, everywhere.

The breakfasts are full, delicious and creative - wonderful presentation! Lunch will not be necessary.

The accomodations are very comfortable and SPOTLESSLY clean. The pool is a wonderful way to spend your afternoon before preparing for their 5:00 social hour on the wrap around porch. A wonderful way to meet the other guests.

When we return to Mt Dora, we surely will only stay here.

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast on a pristine property in Mount Dora, FL. The Hosts were excellent as was the abundant breakfast and advice on where to go and what to do in Mt. Dora. The inn is well located and allows a leasure walk to the town center. Mount Dora is a friendly compact community with lots of shops and restaurants. We enjoyed our three day stay.

Room Tip: There is no fittness center so the rating should read N/A. All rooms are large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We love to visit Mt Dora for a quick weekend getaway and the Grandview is our favorite B&B. Patty and Gordie took care of our every need. We love cycling and they allowed us to keep our nice bikes in their garage and even helped with maps of the local cycling routes. The pool is a super relaxing alternative to exploring the town. Breakfast each morning was fresh and tasty. Patty handled our dinner reservations at the Goblin Market which was fantastic. The Grandview is the complete package -- we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently vacationed in Mt. Dora at the Grandview B & B, which is owned by Patty and Gordie, an engaging couple who are perfect as innkeepers! Our room was comfortable and the breakfasts were tasty and substantial. We could easily walk 'downtown'. The wine and cheese happy hour at five each day became a great venue to meet other guests and share information about places and events we had experienced and activities yet to come. We heartily recommend the Grandview and will be back! Bob and Donna

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having stayed at B&B's for over 45+ years, I can say that our visit to the Grandview Bed and Breakfast was one of the most enjoyable!
Gordie, although working outside when we arrived, greeted us and immediately showed us our room and went over the town map showing us places of interest, restaurants and helpful information for first time visitors to Mount Dora.
Our room was clean, beautifully decorated in a french theme and provided adequate storage for our personal items in the bedroom and bath.
An enjoyable happy hour occurs every evening at 5pm, on the porch or inside if it's too hot or rainy. A plate of cheese, hummus, veggies and crackers along with a glass of wine was enjoyed by all the guest and our host too. It proved to be a really fun hour!
Breakfast was fabulous. Coffee on the porch and then fruit, juices, eggs, muffins, sausage, etc filled one for the day's adventures.
Patti and Gordie are a delight. The are not intrusive but attentive to any needs for reservations, informations and suggestions for restaurants or other activities.They truly enjoyed their work!
We enjoyed a lovely 4 days here are are so hopeful we will return for another visit.Thanks for a great time! Kathy and Rich

Room Tip: we saw all the rooms in the main house and would choose any of them for another visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dora
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#3 of 5 in Mount Dora
3.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Mount Dora
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
Hampton Inn Mount Dora
#1 of 5 in Mount Dora
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lake County Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Adora Inn
Adora Inn
#4 of 14 in Mount Dora
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 442 East 3rd Ave., Mount Dora, FL 32757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the historic William Watt House, circa 1906, complete with a saltwater pool and original windmill on site. The owner of many acres of citrus, Watt invented corrugated cardboard as a packaging medium for his oranges. Watt's residence was surrounded by the orange groves.The house sits on over an acre-plus of land within two blocks of downtown Mount Dora, on the corner of Third and Grandview. Quaint shops, fantastic restaurants and antique shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Mount Dora
Grandview b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.