We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grandview Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Dora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grandview Bed and Breakfast
442 East 3rd Ave., Mount Dora, FL 32757   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Mount Dora B&B and Inns
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We love to visit Mt Dora for a quick weekend getaway and the Grandview is our favorite B&B. Patty and Gordie took care of our every need. We love cycling and they allowed us to keep our nice bikes in their garage and even helped with maps of the local cycling routes. The pool is a super relaxing alternative to exploring the town. Breakfast each morning was fresh and tasty. Patty handled our dinner reservations at the Goblin Market which was fantastic. The Grandview is the complete package -- we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
165
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sarasota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently vacationed in Mt. Dora at the Grandview B & B, which is owned by Patty and Gordie, an engaging couple who are perfect as innkeepers! Our room was comfortable and the breakfasts were tasty and substantial. We could easily walk 'downtown'. The wine and cheese happy hour at five each day became a great venue to meet other guests and share information about places and events we had experienced and activities yet to come. We heartily recommend the Grandview and will be back! Bob and Donna

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having stayed at B&B's for over 45+ years, I can say that our visit to the Grandview Bed and Breakfast was one of the most enjoyable!
Gordie, although working outside when we arrived, greeted us and immediately showed us our room and went over the town map showing us places of interest, restaurants and helpful information for first time visitors to Mount Dora.
Our room was clean, beautifully decorated in a french theme and provided adequate storage for our personal items in the bedroom and bath.
An enjoyable happy hour occurs every evening at 5pm, on the porch or inside if it's too hot or rainy. A plate of cheese, hummus, veggies and crackers along with a glass of wine was enjoyed by all the guest and our host too. It proved to be a really fun hour!
Breakfast was fabulous. Coffee on the porch and then fruit, juices, eggs, muffins, sausage, etc filled one for the day's adventures.
Patti and Gordie are a delight. The are not intrusive but attentive to any needs for reservations, informations and suggestions for restaurants or other activities.They truly enjoyed their work!
We enjoyed a lovely 4 days here are are so hopeful we will return for another visit.Thanks for a great time! Kathy and Rich

Room Tip: we saw all the rooms in the main house and would choose any of them for another visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend at the Grandview Bed and Breakfast and can not wait to go back. This was the first time my husband and I have stayed in a B & B and I was nervous about it. But as soon as we arrived and met our hosts, Patti and Gordie we knew this was going to be a relaxing and enjoyable weekend. The home is beautiful and spotless. We stayed in the country French room and it was beautiful. We enjoyed the wine and cheese gatherings each evening and got to know our hosts and the other guests. The breakfasts each morning were delicious and we got a lot of food. My husband especially enjoyed the banana, walnut pancakes. Gordie is a great cook and enjoys trying new recipes and they were all good.
We felt very comfortable in the home and we will be returning for another visit later this year. The Grandview has definitely set the bar high for any other B & B we may visit. Patti and Gordie were also very helpful in recommending shopping and restaurants in the area and were spot on in their recommendations.
I highly recommend the Grandview Bed and Breakfast!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

First bed and breakfast experience and a great one. Wife and I celebrated her birthday and I echo my friend from the previous posts. We will certainly return. room , service, food , guests and hosts were all first class.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The grounds are lovely and the home is quaint and rather charming.
Hosts were pleasant.
Some improvements needed to qualify this B and B as a 5 star experience.
Stayed in the Windmill Cottage for a long weekend.
It was clean and spacious enough but the bed was truly hard and uncomfortable.
We're not talking firm, but rather extremely rock hard as in inferior , cheap mattress in need of desperate upgrading.
If you plan on staying in the cottage, be prepared for the worst night sleep. The bed is queen size but seemed more like a double bed, and not roomy enough for our tastes. There is mention of the size of the bed on their website either that we can recall.
The AC unit was noisy and is placed in both window and wall unit located at the foot of the bed which blows directly on you as you sleep.
Lastly, there were no shampoos or lotions in the bathroom
Nor were there robes, hairdryer, and all the touches that make a property truly
worthy of the highest rating.
Morning breakfast was ample but the coffee was like mud, very dark and
undrinkable. It seems the owners enjoy Cuban coffee, however, that is something not to be served for breakfast but more so in an espresso cup after dinner.
The innkeepers offer a complimentary wine and cheese plate for guests to become acquainted. We had to pass on it as we had dinner plans that conflicted with the meet and greet. We did meet another couple in town who were also staying at this property and they said the innkeepers focused on one or two couples rather than socializing with all their guests during the wine hour.
Upon check in, we noticed some cookies on a plate in the kitchen but none were offered to us so we didn't feel comfortable helping ourselves to them.
Overall three stars.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

All, my wife and I just celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary at Grandview Bed & Breakfast... On top of the host and hostess (Patty & Gordy), being amazing, the other 4 couples that shared the weekend with us, turned out to be very nice people as well! The 5pm wine and cheese was extraordinary, and the morning breakfasts were delicious... we had special dietary requests and Gordy was sure to make the breakfasts as we needed them... The breakfast was served on nice china, and the seating was such that you can sit privately or join with the group - The other guests and my wife and I, enjoyed sharing these times together, and discussed events and dinning in Mt. Dora. The house itself was very clean, and decorated with all the right touches, that made us feel like we were at a fine establishment - which we were! Our room was also neat, with a fancy bed, wooden closet, etc. All and all, we had a great time, and plan to go back real soon.

Room Tip: Choose room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grandview Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed and Breakfast

Address: 442 East 3rd Ave., Mount Dora, FL 32757
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Mount Dora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the historic William Watt House, circa 1906, complete with a saltwater pool and original windmill on site. The owner of many acres of citrus, Watt invented corrugated cardboard as a packaging medium for his oranges. Watt's residence was surrounded by the orange groves.The house sits on over an acre-plus of land within two blocks of downtown Mount Dora, on the corner of Third and Grandview. Quaint shops, fantastic restaurants and antique shops are nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grandview Hotel Mount Dora
Grandview b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandview Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grandview Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list