We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Tree Grille

Palm Tree Grille
351 N Donnelly St, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5524
+1 352-735-1936
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 91 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Palm Tree Grille is located on a scenic corner in the middle of town. Perfect for people watching.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice Place for dinner, great wine selection, good atmosphere! Service was wonderful and you had a nice view of everyone walking around downtown!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festivals1mtdora, General Manager at Palm Tree Grille, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Love to see these nice reviews . We take a great deal of pride in the wine list, quality of food and service. Delivering great quality at the best prices is what we are known for and we love to share the savings with customers like you. Last week one customer told us we saved him an average of 35% on his wine purchases and he could not be happier. Think of us as your local wine shop for anything you need at the absolute best prices. All the best to you! Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    63
    25
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch on a Saturday over labor day weekend. Was busy but not crazy busy, service was a little unorganized-they seem overwhelmed. Pretty good wine selection even though we didn't partake. Menu for lunch is salads, sandwiches, soups. Really enjoyed my cream of andouille sausage soup and the salad was crisp and cold. Dinner menu was largely pasta based-looked pretty found and would happy to come back to try. Great location for people watching!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festivals1mtdora, General Manager at Palm Tree Grille, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Glad to see you enjoyed the Cream of Andouille Sausage soup! that has been a huge hit with everyone and Chef Ian makes it fresh every day! That and many others I should say! Be sure to ask about our "Frequent Dining" perks, it's a new program we are rolling out for everyone. I am sure you will love the perks! Best Regards, Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My family and I came here one day while visiting Mt. Dora because it's like the only restaurant with good Italian food. The wine selection is phenomenal and the food was fresh! Try the mozzarella caprice if you're a cheese lover! :))

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festivals1mtdora, General Manager at Palm Tree Grille, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Our family comes from Italy (Naples, Positano & Cortina D'Ampezzo regions) so Italian food is something we know well. It is made fresh daily and we use only the finest ingredients. Unlike the corporate chain restaurants where food is delivered frozen like an ancient block of ice so it can it can be microwaved and ready to eat, we take the extra time to make it fresh and make it the way they do in Italia. It is healthier when made fresh. Our wines that complement our food are priced like a Total Wine store so our prices are unbeatable. You can even buy wines from us just like a retail store to go. It means a great deal to us when we have customers that recognize the quality and I thank you for dining with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best Regards, Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My fiance and I arrived late and were surprised at the warm welcome given us by Jarrett. We enjoyed the atmosphere and talking with the owner. Good value / good food. We will return!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festivals1mtdora, General Manager at Palm Tree Grille, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We love to hear back from customers on the level of quality service that we provide. Jarrett is a very talented young man and works at the Palm Tree grille when he is off from college. His knowledge of the business comes from being around the industry from when he was just a child. We look forward to serving you again soon! Best Regards, Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Noisy, slow and ordinary. Quaint just isn't enough.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I've eaten at the Palm Tree at least five times over the last year. I live in Mount Dora and always try to support local business. The food is acceptable but not excellent. The service is very slow. The noise level is very high and you have to strain to hear conversation at the table, especially is there are more than two of you. If you get seated back by the kitchen doors it's really unpleasant. I want to be but I am not impressed. I've taken visiting family here three times and gone twice with my spouse. No one ever raved about it. I get a courteous thank you but no wow. It's simply OK. I'm done giving them a chance.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Festivals1mtdora, General Manager at Palm Tree Grille, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
I am not sure what your trying to say here. Our reviews from the both the industry and local residents have been both complimentary and sincere. Our food is prepared fresh, our prices are great and the ambiance gets rave reviews.Our wine sales have grown by 70% due to prices that can't be beat and overall business is up 35% from last year. The fact that many of the local chefs and bar mangers eat and drink here on their day off is testament to the fact that we are a quality operation. Feel free to stop by the restaurant and Let me know if I can be of service to make your meal the best it can be. Best Regards, Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Tree Grille also viewed

Mount Dora, Central Florida
Mount Dora, Central Florida
 
Mount Dora, Central Florida
 

Been to Palm Tree Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Tree Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.