We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Goblin Market

The Goblin Market
330 Dora Drawdy Lane, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5524
352-735-0059
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

While we there, we stayed at Mount Dora Historic Inn, we ate here. The ambiance is intimate and awesome.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    119
    37
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OVER-PRICED AND UNPROFESSIONAL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We dined here with a group consisting of 3 married couples, all retired senior-citizens. Had eater here in the past, and the experiences were good. It was during the holidays, so we were all happy and jovial........and two different tables asked to be moved. We were not wildly drunk nor obnoxious, but we weren't talking in little whispers, just loud enough to be heard. That was the first strike, when the waiter asked us to keep it down. Then our food was served at intervals, rather than all together. But the cois de gras was when we asked for separate checks, and they were presented to us on TORN scraps of paper, hand-written, with no breakdown of the charges...just a total. For a restaurant held in such high esteem by so many and one which charges what it does for food and drink.........all of this was UNACCEPATABLE. We will not return, and we come to Mt. Dora often, but we've found a new favorite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ambiance, Great Food, Musty Smell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Having a perfectly made Manhattan is a treat and the bartender did it right! We sat in the bar waiting for our table (we were early) and it was a really nice, homey bar-lined area with bookshelves. The dining room downstairs is also comfortable. Dinner was crabcakes, Caesar and swordfish and crème brulee-- all delish. But the dining room did have a musty, moldy smell that a dehumidifier would probably fix. Entrees are in the high 20s and 30s, so don't come on a budget. However, we did see people bringing in their own wine......

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of The Great Restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This place has everything you want in an awesome restaurant experience. Great location in Mt Dora, down an alley, loads and loads of character, beautifully decorated to feel like a library and THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT!
My husband had the perfectly prepared duck breast.and I had the Asiago chicken roulade, absolutely delicious. I also had the Whiskey French onion soup which was superb.

The service was impeccable. Upstairs there is a very private little dining room, and a great little bar.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, excellent service, and comfortable environment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

I live in Ocala however 12 - 15 years ago I worked in the Mt Dora area and was introduced to the Goblin Market! What a Treasure! I no lb get work in Mt Dora but make it a point to go back every 1 - 2 months for a lunch at Goblin Market. I look forward to this treat to me from me and want to personally thank the Owners and Staff for their excellent customer service that makes my experience even more enjoyable!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goblin Market also viewed

Mount Dora, Central Florida
 
Mount Dora, Central Florida
 

Been to The Goblin Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Goblin Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.