We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit pricey, but worth it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pisces Rising

Pisces Rising
239 W 4th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5560
352-385-2669
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 91 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Deltona, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little bit pricey, but worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My SO and I ate at Pisces Rising last weekend, and the food was outstanding! I was worried when I saw the prices (some sticker shock), but everything was so delicious we even sprang for dessert. I had the Carribean crab cakes, and they were delicious. My SO had a steak that he loved, and his potatoes were yummy. The calamari was perfect, and our cooked-tableside bananas Foster was wonderful.
Only one thing about this mean bummed me out - and that was that I left my box of leftovers on the table and didn't realize it until we were halfway home. :(

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    131
    65
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leesburg, fl
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I visited here on Mother's Day and didn't have the best meal. The fish special on the menu they ran out of....the dish I got was just OK. Food is pricey. Have been here several other times and just feel its not worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Mary's, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine waterfront dining with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful food choices and great service. Wine, appetizers, entrees, and deserts were sumptuous. Banana's Foster was the very best ever!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Spot in Mt. Dora”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

There is a lot of street construction going on around this restaurant, but it is worth the extra effort to get there and enjoy the atmosphere. Unfortunately, a storm blew in when we arrived and we couldn't experience the view as advertised. However, the inside of the restaurant was inviting as was the wine list. For the most part, we all enjoyed our meal with only the gumbo proving a bit disappointing. The shrimp seemed to be the favorite entree amongst our foursome. Overall, the prices were a little on the high side compared to other similar restaurants. The band had to take cover during the rain, but was playing as we left and sounded great. This appears to be one of the more popular places in town for music and a bar scene.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Start with an exciting menu, fresh seafood and add excellent service and top it all off with a lovely lake view. Went there with 9 friends and everyone was pleased with their meal with one exception, the calamari was not up to par. We all were extremely impressed by our young female waitress. She was very knowledgeable about every item on the menu and very pleasant. I wished I had gotten her name to give her a shout out here.

At the moment, the streets around this restaurant are all torn up but this is temporary. It is worth any inconvenience. Place gets crowded during snowbird season, so if you are a year round resident of Florida, check it out during summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pisces Rising also viewed

Mount Dora, Central Florida
Mount Dora, Central Florida
 

Been to Pisces Rising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pisces Rising, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.