We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana

Copacabana
320 Dora Drawdy Way, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5593
352-385-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 75 Restaurants in Mount Dora
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Mt Dora
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I went there after an event with 30 ppl for such a large group we had our drinks out very fast and the food for such a small kitchen came out as fast as they could prepare it... We all had a good time and the staff attended to us very well..

I had the media noche and shrimp cocktail. The bread was good ... Can't complain one bit nice music and attentive staff..

Great job Copa !

We will return

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    78
    21
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great for something different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Both the interior and outside seating of this Cuban restaurant off an alley in downtown Mt. Dora are appealing. The service was very attentive--with some flair from "Rico Suave" (if that indeed was his name), our waiter. Food is plentiful, rich and delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden delight in Mount Dora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

As we wondered the quaint streets of Mt. Dora, down a side alley we discovered an awesome place to have a very authentic Cuban lunchtime treat. The Copacabana is the real deal if you love Cuban food. Even with a large party indoors we were promptly seated outside and quickly received one of the best Cuban meals we have ever had, which includes places in Key West.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Cuban Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

It is hard to find good, authentic Cuban food and we were quite surprised to find it in Mt. Dora. We had known about this restaurant but were hesitant to try it until one of our local friends heartily recommended it.

This is a casual restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating and two bars. The decor is tasteful with nice artwork and framed Cuban posters.

Upon arrival, we were promptly seated and brought our drinks and pan tostado (toasted and buttered Cuban bread). We ordered plaintain chips with garlic oil as an appetizer which was good. Our party ordered chicken fricassee, black beans and rice with tostones (fried green plaintains) and breaded chicken steak a la milanesa (topped with ham and melted cheese), black beans, rice and fried sweet plaintains. Both were excellent.

We wanted to order the flan (caramel custard) but were disappointed to find that they were out of most desserts; we assume because it was a Saturday and they were busy. We opted for a cortadito (Cuban coffee with a shot of hot milk) which, again, was really good.

Service was courteous and prompt; the owner himself served us and repeatedly came by to make sure everything was to our satisfaction.

We will definitely go back the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Flavorful place to go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our second time to the restaurant. Revisited with a group of friends everyone ordered a different plate and everyone was satisfied with their order. Food portions were large and satisfying. They would've had a perfect score if the server didn't take so long refilling drinks And if we didn't have to chase him down for our checks. The only other problem we encountered was that it was cold outside on the patio and we asked heater to be turned on. They told us the propane heater was out of fuel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copacabana also viewed

Mount Dora, Central Florida
Mount Dora, Central Florida
 

Been to Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.