We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a fairytale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Daffodale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monticello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Daffodale House
Save
You added The Daffodale House to your Saves list
620 West Washington St, Monticello, FL 32344   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Monticello B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Like a fairytale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

From the moment we stepped into the Daffodale House we went back in time. This B&B is like a small museum with unique items collected through the years. You can choose one of the themed rooms to spend a "haunted" night (we slept in the safari room). Scott and Cathy are wonderful hosts. They offered us a diner as soon as we were settled and Scott began to tell beautiful ghost stories about the house.
If you want an unique experience never to forget visit this lovely B&B and meet Cathy and Scott.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia Coast, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Warm welcome. Literally asked if we had eaten and wanted dinner the moment we stepped in the house. A stay full of Great stories and new experiences! Very nice bed and bath, there is a variety of themed rooms to choose. Highly suggested if you are looking for something fun to do !

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Daffodale House is something everyone should experience. The house is a treasure filled with unique items from top to bottom. We stayed for 2 nights in the "Safari" room which is decorated in theme as are the other rooms in the house. Scott & Cathy are gracious hosts who make you feel comfortable and at home. Cathy is a wonderful cook and hostess, and Scott is an entertaining tour guide who knows interesting stories about the history of the house. We joined him on the Ghost Tour which is something that should not be missed! We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Our family went to the Daffodale house twice now. Once for a haunted tour and once for breakfast with Santa. Our 5 year old loved breakfast with Santa. Santa spent a lot of time with him and gave him a book. Breakfast was delicious and laid back. It was a wonderfully relaxing experience in a very busy time of year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

On December 7, 2012 my grandson and I went to the Daffodale House for breakfast and to see Santa. Needless to say we will be going back. The house is amazing with 8 chimneys and Santa and his helpers, Scotty and Cathy Ebberbach, were fantastic. Santa spent a lot of time with my grandson, Hunter. After we left Hunter told me - this is the REAL Santa granny. Cathy prepared an excellent breakfast complete with juice, coffee and a basket of donut holes to enjoy when we were through with our eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, strawberries and grapes. I LOVED the tea room and Hunter enjoyed it also. After breakfast Santa joined Hunter for OREO Double Stuffed cookies (Santa's favorite) and milk. Hunter told me later that he was a lucky boy to have cookies and milk with Santa. One of Santa's helpers captured our memories on camera and will be sending them to us. We are both excited about that! I joined the mailing list and will be sure to take ALL of the grandkids next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Cathy & Scotty Ebberbach- Inn Keepers - Cathy is an excellent cook and Scotty does the entertaining. I stayed here on Friday the 13th when I suddenly began having car trouble on my Flea Across Florida journey. Cathy and Scotty bent over backwards to help me out and make me comfortable. Cathy prepared an excellent dinner of shrimp salad, baked chicken, potato-bacon torte (unbelievable!) and mascarpone tart and mandarin Orange cake for dessert as I couldn't decide. The ghost tour was very entertaining - had an unusual but not frightening experience later! House is located on a beautiful property filled with camellias. You can go just to visit, eat or stay the night. Highly recommend any and all. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms are located upstairs - elevator not in service (for ghostly reasons!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

There were many personal touches, and the Bed and Breakfast has a great ambiance, beautiful grounds, excellent food, and every room is themed and filled with nostalgia...
Enjoyed the Ghost tour and lantern lit stroll through the grounds
The stay included a wonderful full breakfast and enchanting conversations with the owners
The Daffodale House was perfectly located in the center of Monticello walking distance to all shops and only 18 miles from Thomasville GA and approx. 18 miles to Tallahassee Florida

Room Tip: the safari room has a warm feeling to it, the décor is delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Daffodale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daffodale House

Address: 620 West Washington St, Monticello, FL 32344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Monticello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daffodale House Estate is now offering tea parties, and luncheons & now open for Wednesday night Spaghetti and Sunday Brunch. Currently offering Ghost Tours, please click on the link about the Ghost tours for more info. Come and experience what may be the highest Indian mound in the entire country ( change to.... Come and experience one of the highest Indian mounds in the entire countryA turn of the 20th century Victorian home in historic Monticello Florida. The Daffodale House Estate is now reserving dates for outdoor wedding and receptions in our beautiful three acre camelia garden. Our hardwood porches also offer a charming gathering place for your guest.A perfect location for a tented party surrounded by traditional southern charm, and elegance. From catering to music, and everything in between, we can arrange all your details for you ... Or you can do so yourself if you prefer.The Daffodale House Estate is now offering an indoor restaurant, bed and breakfast, tea parties, and luncheons. Currently offering Ghost Tours, If you're looking for a movie, T.V. Or event location the Daffodale house estate is production friendly. Its owner Scotty Ebberbach is the movie commissioner for Monticello and can coordinate all production needs."In the heart of the historic district" "Come over and savor the past" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Daffodale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.