We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat your heart out, Tallahassee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1872 John Denham House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monticello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1872 John Denham House
Save
You added 1872 John Denham House to your Saves list
555 West Palmer Mill Road, Monticello, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Monticello B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Ont., Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Eat your heart out, Tallahassee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The state capital undoubtedly has many fine lodgings, but I doubt that any of them can match the charm, quiet, food, or value of this B&B a half-hour to the east. Innkeeper Patricia Inmon has restored the 1874 cotton merchant's mansion authentically and tastefully. This establishment is not stiff and elegant; it is grand and homey at once. Rooms are clean, spacious, well-appointed, furnished with antiques, but blessedly uncluttered, and not so girly a man feels out of place. Well-chosen Florida colors. Very Southern gardens; azaleas were blooming when we visited in early March. The breakfast (waffles, eggs, sausage, and mixed citrus straight from the grove) was world-class. Just a short walk from downtown Monticello, where there are two or three decent, if unpretentious restaurants, and numerous historic buildings, in particular a spectacular old operahouse where one can still see plays performed. This place is a few miles north of Interstate 10, well worth the drive.

Room Tip: User-friendly website, check it out to find which room you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Wow! Thank you for writing the wonderful review. We are thrilled and really look forward to making sure everyone has the same great experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
31
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was the first time we'd travelled in this part of Florida and this lovely b&b did not disappoint. We had the ground floor four poster bedroom. The small touches that Pat the host adds just make the experience that much more lovely - bathrobes, wine and cake on arrival, hot cooked breakfast with fruit, an assortment of reading material, toiletries in the bathroom and those great seats on the porch to kick back and take in the evening. Everything was in walking distance. The only advice is if visiting this lovely town is to keep in mind that restaurants are limited within walking distance and not open all days of the week so plan ahead in case you need to drive. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you plan to travel with a mountain of luggage, ask about the ground floor room unless you are fit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks, it was our highest pleasure having you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Due to a travel delay we arrived late at the John Denham House, en route from Florida to Memphis before returning to England. We were greeted warmly by Pat and from that moment on treated to the best hospitality we could have wished for. A glass of wine with home-made pecan and fruit cake was most welcome and appreciated.Our room was gigantic and the bed so comfortable it was not easy to get out of for a home-made breakfast of baked apple and cream followed by ham and cheese omelette and fresh bread and jelly. Absolutely delicious. A great find and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sure that any room will be fine as the location is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are so happy! Thank you, Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, AL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Five of us stayed at the John Denham House during the weekend of Thomasville, Georgia's Victorian Christmas Celebration. We had the two rooms that connected on the first floor and it was just perfect. Pat gave us some good shopping tips for downtown Monticello and we got some great buys! We felt right at home at the JDH and plan on going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We loved having you stay. It was great for us as well. Good times!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My stay at John Denham House was my home away from home. I was on long extended stay for a work assignment in Monticello. Pat and Carol were gracious and kind. I felt like I was part of the family. They listened to my stories and told me stories of their own. The home is truly a historic home and I appreciated the home for its charm and history. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. During my stay I never heard any of the other guest in their rooms. The bed was comfortable and had plenty of pillows :). I would recommend this B&B to all my friends and family traveling through the town of Monticello! Pat and Carol are more than happy to offer suggestions of activities or great food establishments in and around Monticello..Just ask :)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique. If you are looking for a claw foot tub you need to reserve the Camillia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
You definitely a joy to have here and we think of you often! Thanks for writing the review. Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We chose John Denham House for a B & B break on a prolonged trip through the USA. We wanted to stay somewhere other than a hotel for the days of Christmas. We arrived at the home on Christmas Eve earlier than expected but were able to access our rooms and settle with help from Carol. Pat Inmon was so kind to include us in a Christmas Eve gathering with family and friends. She also sorted out reservations for Christmas lunch the next day in Tallahassee. Bedrooms were spacious and were appointed well with a period feel. Beds were very comfortable and linen clean.

Wi-fi access was an issue in the bedrooms but worked well in the downstairs lounge.

Breakfast items were plentiful and varied from day to day and it was great to have a chat with Pat during the breakfast time.

We returned for another night on our way to New Orleans in January and had the same thoughtful and friendly service from Pat.

On our first visit we reported an issue with the toilet seat in one of the rooms and on our return visit this had been fixed.

Room Tip: My wife and I stayed in the Magnolia Room and our adult daughter was in the Camellia Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We will never forget you and your family. It will be a Christmas that will stay in our memories. I only wish all the best for you. Thanks so much. Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was always told not to complain if you can't make constructive advise. The homes bones were amazing but lacked attention. Peeling paint in the Honeymoon Suite, shutters loose and need of repair, the bathroom was in need of a little T.L.C. Ok a lot of T.L.C. The old clawfoot tub was charming however the clothspins holding the shower curtain was a bit tacky. I agree with the other review on communal toiletries. I also passed. I grew up in an old home so I am aware of the plumbling challenges however plan on flushing the toilet at least 20 times if you go number one, we were on flush 27 after number two and then we just gave up.
The sheets were amazing quality but the dust ruffle was saftety pinned to a tattered and ripped boxspring. To be as gentle as I can the dust ruffle had seen better days it was stained and and dirty. Time for a new one. The bedframe was too small for the kingsize bed so when we set our suitcase on the end of the bed it catapolted my purse across the room which was at the head of the bed. You might need to take a dramamine if you get motion sickness. The breakfast was simple but good and very generous. The employee that served breakfast was gracious and gave wonderful service.
In a nutshell, update the plumbing spend a few bucks on some linens and a bedframe and spuce up a bit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriciaI, Owner at 1872 John Denham House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
This very popular suite has been booked almost constantly since summer. We will be performing full maintenance this month. Supplies and parts had already been ordered. We have been unable to paint due to subjecting guests to paint smell - will have openings this week to perforrm this task.
Duly noted: 1. The new bed frame is not working for a California King like the salesman said.
2. The plumber who fixed the toilet last week will be called back in....
This is a historic property and is supposed to feel like a step back in time but the actual fixtures and bedding were put in new. Thanks for the review. Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1872 John Denham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1872 John Denham House

Address: 555 West Palmer Mill Road, Monticello, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Monticello
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUST 5 MILES FROM INTERSTATE 10!! 17 MILES NORTHEAST OF TALLAHASSEE. CHILDREN AND PETS ARE WELCOME. FULL SERVED BREAKFAST.National Historic Register thirteen room mansion located 20 miles east of Tallahassee in a picturesque old southern town . Rated one of Florida's Fabulous B & B's, Florida Magazine, 2008; Listed "Best in the South" Inn Traveler magazine. Extra large antique filled rooms with candles in the fireplaces - all private baths, designer sheets, down comforters, robes and slippers. Mid-week traveler specials available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1872 John Denham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.